We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Faro Beach Hostel

| Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park,300 Mts from Restaurante Marlen, Manuel Antonio National Park XQP, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
El Faro Beach Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014
xonnie Mississauga, Canada
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    16
    21
    14
See reviews for
1
31
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
There are newer reviews for El Faro Beach Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

I was conflicted how to review this place. Lets start with the positives. The location is unbeatable as its a few steps away from the national park itself. Also a 2 min walk to the public beach, bus stop, and the restaurants in the area. They have a restaurant on site which serves good food and smoothies. You get a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We are a 30-something couple traveling for three weeks in Costa Rica on a budget during rainy season. This hostel has a great location close to the beach and park entrance in Manuel Antonio. Clean bathrooms, showers and kitchen. The staff work very hard to keep it so, but they seem to resent the guests and aren't very friendly. Bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I first payed for a dorm, but once i got there i regretted the decision. The bunk beds, floor, and "lockers" were full of dust. It It was like a big storage room with beds; super sketchy. Then, decided to pay extra for the shared bathroom room. It was still pretty bad, but better than the dorms. I mean, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Itu, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Pros: Location and Price Cons: Rooms (uncomfortable and hot) The Hostel has a great location, 50m from the National Park entrance and 400m from the public beach. Price is really good, reflects the luxury. If you are looking for comfort and enjoying installations, it`s not recommended. However, I didn't spend much time inside, there's much to in the city. Beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in June 2014 and was a plesant stay close to national park entrance and short stroll to the beach, it was cheap for costa rica, lots of packbackers and the restruant out the front had epic breakfast deals plus 20% off for all hostel guests!! Bonus

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good value for price! Close to the park and the beach. Very nice atmosphere in the communal areas of the hostel. The swimming pool was very clean and with plenty of sun beds around. Bathrooms were pretty ok. Sizeable shared kitchen with the basics, although people's food in the fridge was stolen all the time and somehow I doubt about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I decided to "book" this place because the other recommended hostels were already booked for private rooms; I say "book" because by the time I arrived we had no reservation in the suite I called twice to confirm. They only had a private room with shared bathrooms, as a courtesy the front desk lady gave me a $5 discount... my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was our least favorite hostel of our trip. We don't require much and thought that we could skip the AC and just have a fan, but since the room was on the second floor it was like a sauna. It was impossible to stay in the room while the sun was up. Maybe if we were on the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I like simple, cheap hostels, but even we had a horrible experience at this hostel. I received email confirmation from someone about my booking, and when we arrived they had "no space for us on the second night". The receptionists are sweet but very unprofessional, and unable to problem solve. The beds are VERY uncomfortable, and more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Gillian, First off, thanks so much for staying with us. Second, I want to apologize with you about the service you received from the front desk (where by the way, we´ve made some staff changes already)... We have to apologize for the misunderstanding presented during your check in due to an human mistake we were overbooked for the next... More 

Palmares, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed two nights in the dormitory for women, and we loved it! Of course it is an hostel so our expectations were not high. They had a lot of bathrooms and showers that they cleaned all the time so that made us feel so much more comfertable! The atmosphere were great with an open and well equilped kitchen and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your comments about the hostel. It means a lot to us that you noticed how kind our staff is, our facilities, our closeness to the main beach ( walking distance) and of course to Manuel Antonio National Park, the cleanliness (housekeeping service), the free communal kitchen... There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities