We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Manuel Antonio National Park B&Bs / inns

National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park | 300 Mts del Restaurante Marlen hacia el Parque Nacional de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 11111, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio to your Saves list
59%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014
EvertonEhrhardt Itu, SP
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    9
    16
    11
See reviews for
1
25
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I first payed for a dorm, but once i got there i regretted the decision. The bunk beds, floor, and "lockers" were full of dust. It It was like a big storage room with beds; super sketchy. Then, decided to pay extra for the shared bathroom room. It was still pretty bad, but better than the dorms. I mean, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Itu, SP
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Pros: Location and Price Cons: Rooms (uncomfortable and hot) The Hostel has a great location, 50m from the National Park entrance and 400m from the public beach. Price is really good, reflects the luxury. If you are looking for comfort and enjoying installations, it`s not recommended. However, I didn't spend much time inside, there's much to in the city. Beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in June 2014 and was a plesant stay close to national park entrance and short stroll to the beach, it was cheap for costa rica, lots of packbackers and the restruant out the front had epic breakfast deals plus 20% off for all hostel guests!! Bonus

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good value for price! Close to the park and the beach. Very nice atmosphere in the communal areas of the hostel. The swimming pool was very clean and with plenty of sun beds around. Bathrooms were pretty ok. Sizeable shared kitchen with the basics, although people's food in the fridge was stolen all the time and somehow I doubt about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I decided to "book" this place because the other recommended hostels were already booked for private rooms; I say "book" because by the time I arrived we had no reservation in the suite I called twice to confirm. They only had a private room with shared bathrooms, as a courtesy the front desk lady gave me a $5 discount... my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was our least favorite hostel of our trip. We don't require much and thought that we could skip the AC and just have a fan, but since the room was on the second floor it was like a sauna. It was impossible to stay in the room while the sun was up. Maybe if we were on the first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I like simple, cheap hostels, but even we had a horrible experience at this hostel. I received email confirmation from someone about my booking, and when we arrived they had "no space for us on the second night". The receptionists are sweet but very unprofessional, and unable to problem solve. The beds are VERY uncomfortable, and more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Gillian, First off, thanks so much for staying with us. Second, I want to apologize with you about the service you received from the front desk (where by the way, we´ve made some staff changes already)... We have to apologize for the misunderstanding presented during your check in due to an human mistake we were overbooked for the next... More

Palmares, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the dormitory for women, and we loved it! Of course it is an hostel so our expectations were not high. They had a lot of bathrooms and showers that they cleaned all the time so that made us feel so much more comfertable! The atmosphere were great with an open and well equilped kitchen and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your comments about the hostel. It means a lot to us that you noticed how kind our staff is, our facilities, our closeness to the main beach ( walking distance) and of course to Manuel Antonio National Park, the cleanliness (housekeeping service), the free communal kitchen... There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like... More

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hostel had the dirtiest beds we have ever seen. The sheets were covered with stains. Because it was after 10 pm, we had to get the guard to come and have a look. He brought us new bedsheets, which had holes in them and were too small (for one person only). The mattress itself was disgusting. After complaining again,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

We apologize that we were not able to satisfy your demands! We are now taking actions to buy new sheets. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacations at this incredible and wonderful country!! We want to tell all our Tripadvisor readers that if there is a way we can make your stay better, we kindly ask that... More

Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place has one thing going for it and that is it: location. It is only 50 meters from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. Other than that, yikes! My wife and I have stayed in many hostels all around the world. This had to be one of the dirtiest I have ever seen. As stated by other customers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

The management and staff here at National Park Backpackers are extremely sorry that this guest was not happy with his stay at our Hostel. It is forums like Tripadvisor that assist us to see our way clear to improve our overall service to our valued guests. Overall, we will make any necessary changes and/or corrections based upon the observations indicated... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Address: Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park | 300 Mts del Restaurante Marlen hacia el Parque Nacional de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 11111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay