We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Manuel Antonio National Park B&Bs / inns

National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park | 300 Mts del Restaurante Marlen hacia el Parque Nacional de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 11111, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio to your Saves list
National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
60%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014
Sofiafiaia Palmares, Costa Rica
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    6
    13
    11
See reviews for
1
21
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I decided to "book" this place because the other recommended hostels were already booked for private rooms; I say "book" because by the time I arrived we had no reservation in the suite I called twice to confirm. They only had a private room with shared bathrooms, as a courtesy the front desk lady gave me a $5 discount... my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was our least favorite hostel of our trip. We don't require much and thought that we could skip the AC and just have a fan, but since the room was on the second floor it was like a sauna. It was impossible to stay in the room while the sun was up. Maybe if we were on the first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I like simple, cheap hostels, but even we had a horrible experience at this hostel. I received email confirmation from someone about my booking, and when we arrived they had "no space for us on the second night". The receptionists are sweet but very unprofessional, and unable to problem solve. The beds are VERY uncomfortable, and more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Gillian, First off, thanks so much for staying with us. Second, I want to apologize with you about the service you received from the front desk (where by the way, we´ve made some staff changes already)... We have to apologize for the misunderstanding presented during your check in due to an human mistake we were overbooked for the next... More

Palmares, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the dormitory for women, and we loved it! Of course it is an hostel so our expectations were not high. They had a lot of bathrooms and showers that they cleaned all the time so that made us feel so much more comfertable! The atmosphere were great with an open and well equilped kitchen and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your comments about the hostel. It means a lot to us that you noticed how kind our staff is, our facilities, our closeness to the main beach ( walking distance) and of course to Manuel Antonio National Park, the cleanliness (housekeeping service), the free communal kitchen... There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like... More

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hostel had the dirtiest beds we have ever seen. The sheets were covered with stains. Because it was after 10 pm, we had to get the guard to come and have a look. He brought us new bedsheets, which had holes in them and were too small (for one person only). The mattress itself was disgusting. After complaining again,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

We apologize that we were not able to satisfy your demands! We are now taking actions to buy new sheets. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacations at this incredible and wonderful country!! We want to tell all our Tripadvisor readers that if there is a way we can make your stay better, we kindly ask that... More

Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place has one thing going for it and that is it: location. It is only 50 meters from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. Other than that, yikes! My wife and I have stayed in many hostels all around the world. This had to be one of the dirtiest I have ever seen. As stated by other customers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

The management and staff here at National Park Backpackers are extremely sorry that this guest was not happy with his stay at our Hostel. It is forums like Tripadvisor that assist us to see our way clear to improve our overall service to our valued guests. Overall, we will make any necessary changes and/or corrections based upon the observations indicated... More

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in a hostel and I have to say it was good. I felt as if I had access to everything.. beach, park, restaurants, excursions, shopping and even my return ticket to San Jose. They literally can arrange it all. The facilities included some very nice amenities pool, movies, kitchen, air conditioning. The staff was warm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

Dear LNJordan, Thank you very much for your kind review! The fact that you enjoyed yourselves immensely gives credit to our staff which makes this all possible. Thank you for choosing us and please come back soon! More

Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great location, literally right next to the national park and a really scenic 3 minute stroll from the main strip helps reduce noise at night. Friendly, kind and helpful staff. Great grounds, big kitchen and nice pool. This hostel plays a movie on the big screen ( which is the neighbouring house ) which you can watch from the pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Gerente at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

Mr Russell, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our property and that all of your interactions with our staff were pleasant and memorable, our guests should always feel that they are our main concern. We are now taking actions to buy new pillows and fix the mold problem. Looking forward to seeing you again! More

Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Paid but went to find another place and paid there, as well. They actually do not really seems to care about this hostel, as they build a new one up the hill and neglect this older one. Sheets were either dirty or with stains, very old. The "rooms" are actually narrow, long and dark corridor-like spaces. Just don't.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Gerente at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Amir, We use all comments both positive and negative as constructive criticism, but your title for this review is extremely disturbing to us as we strive to be clean always. All the best!! More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A great facility located right outside the entrance of the Manuel Antonio National Park (itself a bit of a over-rated yawner) with great amenities. They feature a swimming pool which was being used for midnight drinking parties by guests and you can watch the projected DVD movies from either the lounge area or from the pool. The $10 dorms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Gerente at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, Thank you for your feedback and for your personal opinion regarding your experience at our Hostel. We appreciate your very kind words on our great location, our private pool and nightly movie. About your main complaint, I have to say that we have already taken actions by buying two powerful air purifiers and new pillows. I hope that... More

Been to National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Also Known As:
National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park
Address: Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park | 300 Mts del Restaurante Marlen hacia el Parque Nacional de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 11111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Park Backpackers is conveniently located within steps from the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park and only a short walk to Playa Espadilla (the main beach). We have an outdoor swimming pool and several common areas which provide a great place to relax and have fun with fellow guests from all over the world. We offer both private rooms and dorms with hot showers and a fully-equipped guest kitchen. Manuel Antonio is a mecca for the adventure seeker whether it is sportfishing, ziplining, whitewater rafting, sea kayaking, horseback riding, ATV tours… our friendly staff can arrange it all. It is also a haven for nature enthusiasts with all the flora and fauna and wildlife in the park.On-site we have our restaurant, the “Funky Monkey”, which serves both local and international flavors from 6am to 10pm daily… including beer, for a great price. Also, we have a nightly poolside movie feature (and yes, we will take requests on what to show). We are the only hostel in the area with our amenities AND a great location. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or if there are any special arrangements you should need. We are here for you and to ensure your time spent in Manuel Antonio is the best it can possibly be. Other amenities:• WiFi • Swimming pool• No curfew• Lockers• Nighttime security guard• Free parking• Tour information• Snacks and beverages for sale• Fully-equipped kitchen area• For hire laundry service• Pura vida!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.