We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jungle Beach Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
200 meters from Playa Espadilla | Ctra General Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Pura Selva)
Special Price
10% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle Beach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Jungle Beach Hotel
Share an Experience

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    58
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
79
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Walking distance from the beach. To the nice and chilled town Manuel Antonio. Very helpfull an nice employers at the hotel. Okay breakfast and very good coffee. Monkeys hanging in the trees outside your room. All together a very good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The monkeys are great! The wifi worked great! But my room was a bit dirty (old soap and soap wrapper in the bath.) The breakfast wasn't really worth having. The guys at the front desk are AWESOME. Very helpful! If I had had a clean bathroom, and a little hot water, I would rate it higher. But if just want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elena N, Gerente at Jungle Beach Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario que siempre es util para mejorar. Sentimos mucho este incidente. Muchas gracias por su visita. Puravida-Costa... More 

Brookfield, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While our destination was the national park, we found this hotel very convenient to all activites. Walkable to the beach, though we chose to drive down. Water and waves were perfect for swimming. Good restaurant nearby is El Wagon; pizza was excellent. Also near El Avion, a restaurant and bar made from an old airplane used in the Iran Contra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elena N, Gerente at Jungle Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your visit, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. PuraVida Costa Rica More 

State College, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Manuel Antonio was our final stop on our 8-day trip to Costa Rica. We booked the Jungle Beach Hotel through AnywhereCostaRica.com. We were in room #3 on the top floor of the building attached to the breakfast area. The room was large, clean, bright, and comfortable. The beach was just a short 3 minute walk away and downtown Manuel Antonio... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elena N, Gerente at Jungle Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review,we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Hope to see you soon. PuraVida Costa Rica More 

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Jungle Beach Hotel. The beach was very close. The people in the office were very helpful giving information on local activities. The breakfast was good and included monkeys trying to steal food. They have adequate parking and 24 hour surveillance of the property. Overall it was great, and tranquil . My only complaint was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elena N, Gerente at Jungle Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your visit. Im so glad you enjoy your stay. There are other rooms with less noise. Hope to see you again. Pura Vida Costa Rica More 

Seaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights and it was lovely. The room was bright, clean and very comfortable, and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and we were regularly entertained by capuchin monkeys! It is ideally located, within easy walking distance to the National Park. Would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elena N, Gerente at Jungle Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your visit. Please come back soon. PuraVida Costa Rica More 

Gallivare, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

5-10 min walking distance to the beach and other restaurants. Poor breakfast. Dirty room when we checked in whit a refrigerator that were dirty inside whit spots of sodas, wine and juices. Helpful staff. Howler monkeys that sometimes will wake you up in the morning. Would use this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elena N, Gerente at Jungle Beach Hotel, responded to this review

we are so sorry for this incident. we are working hard to improve our daily cleaning and maintenance. Thank you so much for your review and your visit. we hope that you come back soon. PuraVida Costa Rica More 

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

On our first trip to Costa Rica several months ago we discovered the Jungle Beach Hotel. The rooms were clean, gorgeously painted with tropical scenes, and the price was right. We had a few disappointments but decided to try again. And it was so much better this time - a charming young woman met us in reception, and she gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elena N, Gerente at Jungle Beach Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Cuanto nos alegra que hayan disfrutado de nuestro hotel. Ese es nuestro deseo. Estamos para servirles. Les esperamos nuevamente. Un... More 

Largs
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

The staff were very welcoming, especially the new cheerful American recruit at front desk. We had arrived very early and whilst we knew the room would not be ready they did ensure we were able to check in a few hours earlier than normal. In the meantime we were given towels and headed to the beach which was as nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elena N, Gerente at Jungle Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our beach and nature . Hope to see you again. Regards PuraVida Costa Rica More 

Clarkston, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We returned this year after about 5 previous visits. We were not as happy with our room this year. We always skip the breakfast. There are a couple of nice restaurants in town which is walking distance.The beach is close, weather perfect, close to Manuel Antonio park. Our favorite part is the paintings on the walls and all monkeys.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elena N, Gerente at Jungle Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks again for your visit. Hope you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards PuraVida Costa Rica More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question