We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel The Place

Certificate of Excellence
200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel The Place
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel The Place
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    29
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
58
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Place
See the most recent reviews
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our family of five had a wonderful surf vacation at Hotel The Place. It is clean, cozy and welcoming. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. It is not fancy, but is like staying at your friend's family compound on the lake. So relaxing. Great AC (if you want it), beds and fresh towels. Breakfast was excellent, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Spent 3 wonderful days with my 2 kids. they have the most amazing pool and comfortable lounge chairs... I didn't even move from there during my stay, no need to go elsewhere, the attention is perfect. the house where we stay has the most cute decoration I haven[t seen in a LONG TIME.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you're looking for a luxurious resort style hotel, it's not this one. The rooms here are small, there is no television, and amenities are sparse. However, if you are looking for a place to disconnect from modern convenience and enjoy natural beauty, hospitality and truly understand Pura Vida, stay at Hotel The Place. Everyone we encountered during our stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Punta Uva, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just spend 3 beautiful days at the place and it was fabulous. I read some bad reviews and I really do not understand where it is coming from. We had the Ocean Breeze bungalow, it was spotless, spacious even for the 4 of us. Top quality mattresses, fluffy towels and good services, the breakfast was amazing and the staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Because of the really nice pool and pool area I would say 3-stars...but for this price (around 140dollars/night) you really would expect more...so 2 stars.. 1 star is for the friendly staff, nice welcome 1 star for the pool, large and nicely designed However I would never come back en not recommend it. The bungalows are large, but old. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
theplace, Owner at Hotel The Place, responded to this review

Dear Client We are sorry to hear that you did only enjoy part of your stay at our hotel. We will definetely check on the room cleaning and the ant problem. Some times this can happend depending the time of the year. All our bungalows have been updated and painted just before the start of the season 2013/14 but we... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Place for two nights and we're highly disappointed with our experience. Not only was the staff inflexible when it came to small things like extra towels, but also the rooms were dingy and we didn't even have a bathroom door. The website is misleading in terms of presentation of the hotel and I would suggest looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
theplace, General Manager at Hotel The Place, responded to this review

Dear customer We are sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. We would like to take the opportunity to clarify some points. We are committed to be an environment friendly business and are conscious of the waste of energy. In all rooms you will find the information about our towel policy. You have a... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed there for couple of nights, and the hotel is great, location is excellent, has a free parking, pool, and included a very nice breakfast. The pool area is really nice after a long day surfing, relax at the bar listen great reggae tunes and enjoy the trip!!!! Staff is helpful and friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
theplace, Owner at Hotel The Place, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your nice comment. It is a pleasure to have clients like you staying with us and a reward for our staff Thank you! More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My partner and I booked a standard room, and were extremely disappointed as the pictures on the hotels website did not even come close to resembling the room that we stayed in. The room is a decent size, but the room is old, dingy and lacking charm. The room did not have a television, and the internet was hit or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
theplace, Manager at Hotel The Place, responded to this review

Dear customer We are sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy your stay. We would like to take the opportunity to clarify some points. We are committed to be an environment friendly business and are conscious of the waste of energy. In all rooms you will find the information about our towel policy. You have a fresh set of... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The location, the friendly helpful staff, the food, Yvonne our host, the beds, the pool, the mojitos everything was really, really great. We were very happy with our stay and hope to return some day. Ryan

Was this review helpful? Yes
edmonton
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a great spot! Nice and quiet and just a touch away from the hub bub of Main Street. Easy walking distance to restaurants and beach. I stayed in one of the little villas overlooking the pool with which easily accommodated three adults and my daughter stayed in one of the basic rooms. Both were very nice and comfortable with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay