We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Calle Bohio 50 Mts West | (towards the beach), Jaco 4123, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    85
    49
    29
    18
    16
See reviews for
16
57
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a last minute whim. Love the home like feeling at this establishment. Rooms are neat and simple. Lots of character with a Tico flavor. Owner is American and loves what he does. One block from the beach and EVERYTHING is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My son and I each had rooms here. The rooms were shabby and very dated. The best thing about them was the AC. There was no hot water and very low water pressure in the shower. The rooms safes are the old type with keys not combos. Some friends of ours were staying there and there was a rainstorm and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay elsewhere is my advise to anyone who is thinking about booking a room at this place. Hookers and roaches and located in the slums of jaco beach. Do yourself a favor and keep looking for rooms at other hotels there are MUCH better ones in jaco.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You get what you pay for doesn't even apply here! Cause 60$ will get you a motel 6 atleast. Horrible service, mildew ridden room, swamp cooler that doesn't work and worst of all there claim to fame there "food"gave me food poisoning for 3 days. If you're staying here for the price then your going to pay in the long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PoseidonOwner, Owner at Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante, responded to this review

Please take this off immediately. I have all the documention to show you this person had a reservation through Expedia and was a NO SHOW. He never even stepped foot on our property. He is made we charged him for the NO Show, but we held the room since he never contacted us until after his reservation dates.Please read emails... More 

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time to Jaco (and Costa Rica). Stayed here for 6 nights. Tim and his staff are nice people. The room was clean and comfortable, however the bathroom needs some updating ( especially the shower). The food was pretty good at the restaurant on site. You are about one block to the beach. You can rent chairs once down at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for 3 nights during my time in Jaco. Great location to "the strip" as well as the beach. Room was clean and comfortable and staff was very will to help with tours and transportation. It was nice to walk to/from the beach in the mornings for walks and at night to see the sun set. It's also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

This is the place that made me DL Trip Advisor. When I arrived the surrounding area didn't look that pleasing but the hotel lobby is nice. Simple, functional and clean. There is a nice little bar area and tiles are in good shape. Once you walk into the room your not overwhelmed with its awesomeness but after you get a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

A nice boutique hotel in the centre of Jaco. The hotel is steps from the beach and close to the centre of town but remaining quiet at night. Nice small pool that stays in the sun until around 2/3 pm Nice complimentary continental breakfast I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant tho the lunch specials seemed very reasonable Decent Indian/Israeli... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

very good location just 30 meters from the beach and around all of the best restaurants in Jaco. it is a very small town anyway every place is a walking distance. restaurant is very good yet breakfast is average rooms are clean but very small. Tim is a very nice chap and is very helpful, thou i dunno why he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

I've been staying at The Hotel Poseidon now for almost 10 years and I figure it's about time I write a review. The rooms are clean and comfortable with good AC and very reasonably priced. The food which you can either have downstairs in the restaurant or upstairs in the Sky Lounge is what I think, the best in Jaco.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay