We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Add Photo Write a Review

555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    153
    217
    91
    41
    53
See reviews for
196
169
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (555)
  • Mar-May only
    (170)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (160)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Club Punta Leona
See the most recent reviews
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

This is the type of place that haunts me in my sleep. I'm fairly new to traveling and didn't know what I was getting myself into. After a 3 night stay tucked away on a beautiful organic farm in the rainforests of Arenal, I was shuttled to Punta Leona. I felt like I was in Florida.. Old fat Americans, tacky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we appreciate the time you took to write your opinion about our hotel and we regret that this has not been good. Our hotel has no point of comparison with Florida and although each destination has its own attractive, Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a place located in the rain forest, with a type wildlife not found... More 

Tampa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We recently stayed one night at the Hotel & Club Punta Leona and were disappointed with the whole experience. We thought it would be a good place to stay on our last night near Jaco before flying out of San Jose the following day. It's just over an hour drive to the airport. Our first indication that it wasn't what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear guest, as you mention in your review, Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a large property where guests can find two beaches, trails where guided hikes take place, butterfly garden, 3 restaurants, tennis courts, swimming pool area and different types of accommodation from standard rooms to equipped condominiums. We offer our Internal Shuttle service so our guests can go... More 

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

I Visited this place for 2 nights and 3 days all inclusive and I tought that all inclusive ment all inclusive , it turns out that the only beer you can drink is Imperial and only from a paper cup . The food was ok ,the Pizza is very good along with the Breakfast buffet . I recommend you rent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially that you liked our beautiful beaches and the safety within our facilities. In reference to the all-inclusive plan, we are not an all inclusive resort, we offer different meal plans, and one of them is the all inclusive but is not the same than the... More 

costa rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I was with our team in one day team building activity, the installation are pretty good all is confortable. . There are Supermaket, Catholic Church, baths rooms . The food is very good I suggest to go Playa Blanca its so beautiful. Its a place very familiar very safe and to close San Jose

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We stayed here for three nights towards the end of an organised birding tour. On paper this had looked like the best hotel we would stay at but I was very disappointed. We were accommodated in the area called "Panama" where rooms are in modules of 4 bungalow style chalets. The rooms are a good size but the bathrooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We spent a wonderful relaxing week at this resort. Very secluded, good food, on the beach, a long way from Jaco. We went for dinner on a cliff restaurant to eat at sundown and we were the only ones in the restaurant. Very romantic. Felt like we were on the Bachelor show. Had an excellent meal while we watched the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Our room was in a duplex building. Comfortable, clean with attractive plantings outside. Food in central dinning facility was quite good. It appears that they are expanding and might get crowded with a major expansion with multi-room buildings. Private drive from main road is long but well paved. They have a beach and pool. Somewhat isolated location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

Stayed on this property with GCT. Our area was Honduras which was right across the road from the pool and buffet restaurant. The room was small in size but very comfortable. Thank heaven it was air conditioned because nothing else is. It was hot and humid but one has to remember where you are. What else would you expect! Obviously... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Stayed there for the second time and I like it a lot. The only thing I would change is the buffet dinner, I have a 7 year old and there was not much of a choice but hot dogs. Other than that, lots to do- if your going to visit- rent a golf cart and go to Playa Blanca. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at Punta Leona. Our room was clean and comfortably air-conditioned, and we agreed with their decision not to waste their resources on air-conditioning the bathroom. Meals are served buffet style, with plenty of healthy options, as well as a chef station for breakfast and dinner. The various pools offer options for sunbathing, sitting in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (530)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (119)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (112)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (177)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (605)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Arrecifes Pool (16)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (27)
Viewed
Leonamar Infinity Pool (12)
Viewed
One Bedroom Leonamar Apartment (91)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (51)
Viewed
Selvamar Pool (21)
Viewed
Selvamar Standard Room (38)
Viewed
Selvamar Superior Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Arrecifes Apartment (75)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Chalet Apartment (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#4 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
3.3 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay