We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Add Photo Write a Review

546 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    148
    213
    91
    41
    53
See reviews for
191
166
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (546)
  • Mar-May only
    (170)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (121)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (160)
All months
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I came here with my wife for a weekend getaway. None of us knew the place and we thought that we'll be getting to a nice hotel. Much to our surprise, the rooms are incredibly far away from the beach and they are certainly smaller than what you might figure from the photos. On our first night we went to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Punta Leaona offers so much to do on the grounds that a family or couple could have a blast without ever leaving. However, there is much to do and see within the area. The kids especially enjoyed disco night. A daily schedule is offered of sporting activities. The grounds are beautiful with trails for hiking. It is much like a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our family vacation at Punta Leona and it was one of the best vacations that we have ever had. The Playa Blanca was absolutely beautiful, surrounded with forest Scarlet Macaws were flying all around and the staff are all kind and friendly and made us feel as if we were at home. Our rooms were very clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice, relaxing location tuck away from the hustle and bustle! Room is ok, but food is lack of variety! Wildlife is a bonus! May was their low season and it showed! Pools are not up to standard, lack of activities! We took the all inclusive and it was not all that good! Very limited liquor/wine!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and the relaxing atmosphere that you can find here. We will let our management know about your comments in regards to the food and activities since our goal is to improve every day. We hope you gave us... More 

Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

I loved it here! We went on a nature tour and saw a bunch of interesting animals and plants. The tour guide Alex was extremely knowledgable and very helpful. Do remember to bring bug repellent. I forgot one day and discovered mosquitos love me. Most things were within walking distance and I saw so many different types of lizards, birds,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we love to hear all the positive feedback and all the recommendations for future customers. We are very fortunate to have Alex as our Tour guide, he loves his job and has a lot of knowledge about nature. We are glad that you like our food and were happy about our customer service. Thank you for taking the... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Punta Leona is an amazing hotel for those that want to truely experience Costa Rica for what it really is. Here you are surrounded by nature that will never cease to amaze you. The employees here will go out of their way to make sure that your stay is as enjoyable and comfortable as possible and to include you in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your outstanding review! It keeps us motivated to be better every day and we are glad to know that our customers enjoy our property and the services that we offer. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a place full with nature and our Playa Blanca beach is one of the most beautiful Beaches in Costa... More 

Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We rented an apartment in the large Punta Leona property and were sorely disappointed. Playa Blanca is the only draw and it's possible to find individual rentals to access this beach. We'll choose that option next time we decide to travel for this area. Punta Leona used to be a lovely place (as many people recall from decades back), but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to share the review of the hotel. Please accept my apologies if the service was not what you expected and that affected your experience with us. We are taken steps to ensure that situations like the one you had when you called to resolve an issue will not be repeated.... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at this resort. Our rooms were more like private little huts and were very clean.The food was pretty good and you can sometimes see these monkey things with big noses running around. This property is HUGE, you will have to take a shuttle to get to the beach from your room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about you recent stay. I appreciate all the positive comments about Hotel & Club Punta Leona and we are glad that you enjoyed the food and your accomodation. We do have a large property that offer serveral ameneties and a lot of things to do. We look forward... More 

MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Our room was situated so all you could see was jungle from the deck. The walk to the restaurants was along pathways covered with flowering bushes. Tropical birds were everywhere. There is a lot of walking but you can also use a bus that will pick you up every 30 mins and take you anywhere on the property. One dark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for all your positive comments about your recent stay with us. It was certainly our pleasure to host such a great trip for you. I am excited to hear that you enjoy the nature and the beach and that you had such a great time during the tours. We will take notice of your comments regarding... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

This resort is loved by all the locals i talked to but it's not my kind of place. Although they built the resort within the nature it is very spread out. It is confusing and if your group books separately as ours did you can end up staying 500m from each other. There are shuttles but that does not help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback and we apologize if the hotel did not meet your expectations. Our hotel is a great place not just for families but for any customer that enjoy nature. We do have a big property and there are a lot of accomodation options, shuttle service and we also offer the option of reting golf carts... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (485)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (106)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (104)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (159)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (605)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Arrecifes Pool (16)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (27)
Viewed
Leonamar Infinity Pool (12)
Viewed
One Bedroom Leonamar Apartment (91)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (51)
Viewed
Selvamar Pool (21)
Viewed
Selvamar Standard Room (38)
Viewed
Selvamar Superior Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Arrecifes Apartment (75)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Chalet Apartment (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay