We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    207
    89
    40
    53
See reviews for
189
163
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (535)
  • Mar-May only
    (168)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (160)
All months
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented an apartment in the large Punta Leona property and were sorely disappointed. Playa Blanca is the only draw and it's possible to find individual rentals to access this beach. We'll choose that option next time we decide to travel for this area. Punta Leona used to be a lovely place (as many people recall from decades back), but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to share the review of the hotel. Please accept my apologies if the service was not what you expected and that affected your experience with us. We are taken steps to ensure that situations like the one you had when you called to resolve an issue will not be repeated.... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed my stay at this resort. Our rooms were more like private little huts and were very clean.The food was pretty good and you can sometimes see these monkey things with big noses running around. This property is HUGE, you will have to take a shuttle to get to the beach from your room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about you recent stay. I appreciate all the positive comments about Hotel & Club Punta Leona and we are glad that you enjoyed the food and your accomodation. We do have a large property that offer serveral ameneties and a lot of things to do. We look forward... More 

MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was situated so all you could see was jungle from the deck. The walk to the restaurants was along pathways covered with flowering bushes. Tropical birds were everywhere. There is a lot of walking but you can also use a bus that will pick you up every 30 mins and take you anywhere on the property. One dark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for all your positive comments about your recent stay with us. It was certainly our pleasure to host such a great trip for you. I am excited to hear that you enjoy the nature and the beach and that you had such a great time during the tours. We will take notice of your comments regarding... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort is loved by all the locals i talked to but it's not my kind of place. Although they built the resort within the nature it is very spread out. It is confusing and if your group books separately as ours did you can end up staying 500m from each other. There are shuttles but that does not help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback and we apologize if the hotel did not meet your expectations. Our hotel is a great place not just for families but for any customer that enjoy nature. We do have a big property and there are a lot of accomodation options, shuttle service and we also offer the option of reting golf carts... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First off the resort has 2 beaches the nicest being the Playa Blanca Beach. The resort is geared more for families and if you don't speak Spanish be prepared to get angry looks and poor customer service. I have traveled to many different places and this by far was the worst customer service I have EVER received! The only place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest,thank you for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We strive to give an excellent service and please our customers. We will share your review with our team memebers in order to avoid situations like this in the future. My sincerest apologies for the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading some not really good reviews(people were complaining about rooms) I decided to book it anyway, because I am a photographer, and I love nature, and I wanted to see scarlett maccaws and take video about them. So, I decided I would tolerate the room. To my surprise, the room was adequate ,clean, very nice property, well taken care... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your well deserved vacation. We also thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your experience with us, your comments motivate us to keep doing our job every day with greater enthusiasm. We're glad that you are a nature lover and that you found in Hotel Punta... More 

Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a huge resort that covers a large area. Consequently, it is not the place for people with mobility issues. Even though shuttles were provided, it was still a long way to get to the beach. That said, it was more than adequate for our purposes while on a birding/photography tour. Scarlet macaws flying overhead, nesting macaws and toucans,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for letting us know your experience at our hotel. We are glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a large property and even with the inside shutle service, there still some walking involve when going to Playa Blanca Beach. Our hotel is the ideal place for nature lovers, families... More 

Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Besides the super small beds , no room service and the resort layout being too spread out, this resort is not geared towards english speaking people. This is the hotel for locals and people from other central American countries. 95% of the staff is zero english speaking. Even the front desk barely spoke english. Several times we were yelled at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for letting us know your experience with us. We regret that it was not what you expected and we are surprised because our staff at the front desk is capable of speaking English. We receive tourists from around the world, not just locals, we have many customers especially from France, Germany and the United States. It is... More 

Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This might be great for some but it's not my kind of place. They did a great job environmentally by keeping the large trees and the rooms are nestled in small buildings spread around the property. Some have porches with chairs, others do not so ask about your room if you want a porch. You do have to wear a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback. We regret that the place was not what you expected but we are happy to know that you enjoyed the beach and the nature around us. Indeed our property is quite extensive but for customers who do not want to wait for the Shuttle Service, we offer the possibility to rent golf carts... More 

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Stayed at this property with Collette Tours. A/C, TV, wifi in rooms, in room safe. Rooms nice but very small. No A/C in bathroom and windows did not close all the way, so it felt like a sauna. Bed & pillows good. Need to wear a wristband as it is all inclusive. Propety is very spread out and a golf... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for describing your experience with us. We regret any inconvenience but we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, the food and the natural beauty of Punta Leona. We hope you visit us again in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (478)
Viewed
Family/play areas (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (104)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (102)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (158)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (605)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Arrecifes Pool (16)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (27)
Viewed
Leonamar Infinity Pool (12)
Viewed
One Bedroom Leonamar Apartment (91)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (51)
Viewed
Selvamar Pool (21)
Viewed
Selvamar Standard Room (38)
Viewed
Selvamar Superior Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Arrecifes Apartment (75)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Chalet Apartment (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay