We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Posada Jaco

Travelers' Choice award winner
Calle PJ, Jaco, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada Jaco
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Posada Jaco
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014 via mobile

,We stayed only one night thank goodness.The bed was uncomfortable,bedding terrible,blinds broken,kitchen had ants,lacked plates,pots and cutlery.The sewer backed up into the sink- gross!The couch was shredded,bathroom stunk,toilet seat falling off,shower rusty.Our room near the pool was noisy from other guests.Probably partying surfers wouldn't notice or care but we do.On the upside the owner is a friendly guy but needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

This person Did not stay at Posada Jaco Hotel. They stayed at Maumar hotel. This hotel is very popular with Costa Ricans not surfers. It seems you did not like Jaco and took it out on the hotel. More 

Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

I was here with my husband and 2 children (ages 3 and 4). The location was great in that it was in downtown, walking distance to everything. It was clean enough and the staff (hi Gary!) speaks perfect english and was a wonderful host. And it was very affordably priced. But for me, that's about where it ends. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robbo2804, Manager at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. First up I would like to say that the hotel you stayed in was NOT the Posada Jaco but the Maumar hotel which is located next door to the posada Jaco. In response to your comments; 1. It is the wet season and if you leave the doors or windows open you will get Mosquitos.... More 

Lakefield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect for beach restaurants and entertainment. The hotel is clean and staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. There is excellent value for the price. The owner speaks perfect English which was a plus for me. The pool was always clean and well maintained.

Was this review helpful? Yes
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We really enjoyed your company with us and let you know you are welcome back any time. Moe said to say hello to you as well. More 

Daytona Beach
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We booked 10 days here sight unseen, having been to Jaco many other times and being familiar with the area. It backs up to the the river that bisects Jaco, and is a short block walk to the beach on a paved road. Our first pleasant surprise was the owner, Margaret, an Aussie who is very gracious and helpful. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope you can visit again in the future More 

San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

A year ago we visited the first time..great price, room large and clean, refri, TV, Wi-Fi all great! Had a suite 2nd floor. Return this Oct on a holiday weekend and took the last room on the 1st floor next to the pool. OMG. Boisterous guests in the pool drinking til late...and starting again at 7AM. Normally tranquil...but don't take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

Was great to see you come back and visit us again. So sorry about the other guests making a noise late at night and we have taken steps to ensure this does not happen again in the future. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future Regards Rob More 

Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I happened to be in Jaco when Costa Rica played in the World Cup and that was a fun time to be there. I watched games at the local restaurants and had a merry time watching the ticos celebrate there win. After they won a game, the streets filled up with cars and an impromtu parade broke out.... About the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I to enjoyed our chats together and am so pleased you had a great time whilst staying with us. You are welcome back anytime. Regards Rob More 

Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We paid about $70 a night so we were a little worried about spending it at first, but if you have some money then it's worth it. There's a bedroom, bathroom, and kitchen/living area with a couch, cooking area, tv and a little table to eat at. Breakfast isn't included but you can make you own on the skillet or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on our hotel. We try to make everyone's visit with us enjoyable and are really pleased you were not disappointed with your stay with us. We hope if you are ever back in Jaco to come back and visit us. Regards Rob More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for over a week during our recent trip. It was truly a home away from home. Margaret and Rob (and Mau, the friendliest yellow lab) are wonderful hosts. The apartment had everything we needed (fully equipped kitchen, clean bathroom, closet space, tv, a/c, etc.), so when we got tired of eating out all the time, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Posada Jaco for 9 days in May 2014, just at the start of the wet season. It was really an ideal spot for many reasons. One: it is centrally located in the town and is a few minutes' walk to most restaurants, shops, and surfing companies. Two: it is about 2000 meters from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

Your comments are greatly appreciated and reinforce the policies we have to make sure guests enjoy there stay with us. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Regards Rob More 

La Virgen, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed here on May 20th, 2014 after finding the listing on tripadvisor. I called to confirm availability and price and arrived the next day. The room was spacious with beds for 6 people and included AC, Fridge and TV. Located right in the center of Jaco and 1 minute walk to the beach. The bathroom was snug and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We try to keep all rooms as clean as possible and have taken notice of your comment regarding bathroom and will endeavor to make sure this is not a problem in the future. Regards Rob More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question