We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Tortuguero Canals, Tortuguero 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Mawamba Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Mawamba Lodge to your Saves list
80%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
FrancoMunoz Costa Rica
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    215
    72
    21
    18
See reviews for
116
252
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (517)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (147)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (113)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been for 3 days in all included package; people is friendly, kind and helpfull to undersand the Biodiverity of Tortuguero. Its worth price/value , great to come with Kids. They pick you up in San Jose, so no rush to drive. Food is super! Love to come again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Time, Space
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this place for two nights on our tour of Costa Rica. Although the lodge was awarded 3 stars, it barely deserves 1: no fridge, no AC, no decent shower, no hairdryer, no large rooms for families, cabins too close to the next couple of cabins, so that you can hear everything other people say, etc. The worst... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingsville, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This "hotel" might as well be a charity project for the homeless. Room comfort was minimal: No AC, no TV, no WiFi in the room. The room door had a huge gap that would easily allow insects to enter the room when the door was closed. A tarantula, scorpion or snake could probably get in. We had to cover it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Mawamba Lodge, responded to this review

Dear LinkinParkonStage, Good day from Costa Rica and thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience. I am so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the trip. It seems to me that the information you received before traveling was not accurate. We get travelers from all over the world and they book... More

Oakland, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice place, though not 5 star. You are out in the rainforest. There is no AC; just fans. WIFI is available in the public areas around reception, and the lounge by the pool. You get to Tortuguero either by boat or plane. We were picked up by a bus at our hotel in San Jose. We drove to Guapilies... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our tour of Costa Rica. The staff were amazing. The rooms are right on the beach. Basic and back to nature. I loved it! The birds here are at arms length. I want to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here as part of a 12 day tour around Costa Rica. We were picked up from our hotel in San Jose and taken to the dock at Pavona with a stop for breakfast which was very pleasant. Be careful of the dock at Pavona it is quite steep and very slippery/muddy when wet (it is rainforest so quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The whole experience from being collected in San Jose to returning to Quapiles was great. Our guide, Humberto, had excellent knowledge and kept us entertained throughout. There was a great mix of people on the tour and we all got on well at dinner and enjoyed the tours together. I would recommend participating in all the tours on offer -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Hello, I have been trying to write this review for around a year. My family and me agreed that we didn't like this hotel for the following reasons: 1. There was no hot water. 2. The room was very small. (we were able to here each other very easily from room to room) 3. We were split into two rooms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I traveled independently in Costa Rica for 7 days with prepaid vouches and planned stays. I was picked up in San Jose by the Mawamba Lodge van and transported to a very tranquil, beautiful setting. This was 3 days "all inclusive" with meals, tours and lodging. Our guide most of the time was Piero, who was excellent. He explained so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waynesville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We visited Mawamba for two nights last week during a very rainy spell. We had a FANTASTIC time! The grounds were lovely and the rains only came in bursts - usually at night. We had very nice meals and met very nice people from all over the world at our table. Our guide, Stephen Weston, was excellent! From the very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Mawamba Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mawamba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawamba Lodge

Address: Tortuguero Canals, Tortuguero 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawamba Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mawamba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawamba Lodge Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero
Mawamba Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

459 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (437)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (85)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (13)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (225)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Mawamba Lodge

Enlarge Map