We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels

Totem Hotel Beach Resort

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1,5 km south Puerto Viejo Beach Front | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Totem Hotel Beach Resort to your Saves list
Totem Hotel Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
79%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014
MarilynnF Divide
  • Overview
  • Reviews (291)
  • Photos (248)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (32)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    89
    41
    14
    9
See reviews for
44
131
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Divide
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our room at the Totem was spacious and very comfortable. We had a private pool right outside our patio door and the beach was just a few steps away. The grounds are beautiful and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was fresh with a lot of variety. I was very pleased with my stay and wished I stayed a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Muskego, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Cariblue that just rescently combined with Totem Hotel. We ate at the Totem Beach Bar and just loved it. We were told that Cariblue is eventually going to eliminate the menu at Totem Beach Bar. BIG mistake and I hope the owners are listening. The menu has so many different things to pick... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I would not recommend this hotel for several reasons: the staff was incredibly unfriendly, the breakfast was often cold and fly-ridden, and the rooms were dirty. The hot tub was also inoperable and the ping-pong table was unusable at night due to a lack of lighting. The one positive thing about this hotel was it's proximity to the beach, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

So, the Totem hotel is being bought by Cariblue hotel and they are combining the two. Luckily they are right next to each other. We stayed in a family suite which was nice for what is was. We had ac, nice beds, plenty of room. My only complaint would be that it would have been nice to have had some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
30 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

It was bought by Cariblue hotel and is changing its name. The new two story doubles have absolutely no sound insulation. None what so ever... I could hear people in all three other units when they whispered! We had loud rowdy neighbours so was uncomfortable at some points. The beds are hard and the pillows flat. Great location across from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarielaTotem, Gerente at Totem Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review

Our standard rooms, the basics ones we have, were built based on concrete walls of about 25 cm of it each wall. They were built this way to protect the privacy of our customers, and to prevent the noise that could disturb others and their stay with us. We always double check that the tranquility of our guests is not... More

Marco Island, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a room in Totem and learned that they are merging with Cariblue. This is fantastic, because the pool at Cariblue is awesome, while the one at Totem is tiny, shallow and ugly. It is also located next to the street. Our room was clean and lovely, the shower and bathroom were clean and worked. We had twin beds,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
McKinleyville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I didn't stay here, but I did take surf lessons for a week a half, which was organized by my hostel in Manzanillo. Adrian runs the surf lessons and board rental- very professional and organized! Communicated very well, making sure to call me and let me know each day whether or not the waves would allow for lessons on playa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
boise
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Went on a family vacation in early Oct and stayed at Totem. About a 10 minute walk to "town" in Puerto Viejo. The room was excellent, comfy and the staff was friendly. They spoke broken English, we spoke broken Spanish so it all worked out :) Nice pool, and accommodations. They included a free breakfast every morning which was great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Land O Lakes, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

In it's day it had to be Charming, But Where did all the Love Go?? The place is Old, Worn Out, Has a tremendous degree of Deferred Maintence. The Jacuzzi is Cold Water, The Pool needs a Good Pressure Cleaning on the Status's and Rocks, the fence which use to decorator is broken and in Sad Shape. The wooden worn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was clearly a very nice hotel when it was new. The years have not been kind to the property, as is the case with most properties in Costa Rica. Tropical weather is harsh and things deteriorate very fast. Maintenance must be constant, on much shorter cycles than in other climates, or things start to fall apart. The Totem Hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MarielaTotem, Gerente at Totem Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for choosing us and for all your recommendations. Best regards. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Totem Hotel Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Totem Hotel Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Hotel Beach Resort

Address: 1,5 km south Puerto Viejo Beach Front | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Totem Hotel Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Totem Hotel Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Totem Hotel Beach Puerto Viejo
Totem Hotel Beach Resort Costa Rica/Limon

248 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (197)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Other (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Totem Hotel Resort embrace the spirit of simplicity and quality, timeless elements of tropical architecture are employed in creating accommodations of impeccable elegance and style. The hotel is a perfect place to relax, enjoy the beach and experience typical Italian cuisine.Totem is designed as an homage to the sand, sun, waters, and all things beautiful of the beach that is only a few feet away from the resort. This place was surrounded by jungle and yet just steps from a REALLY nice, uncrowded beach: Playa Cocles. Very relaxed atmosphere, nice hotel grounds. A big plus is the wonderful, family owed restaurant with an array of Northern Italy foods as well as tasty Costa Rican dishes located right on the property. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer