We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
You added Coco Loco Lodge to your Saves list
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Coco Loco Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    69
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
38
122
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (235)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Management is horrible, Poor costumer service, lies over the phone. do not give your credit card info to Manolo front desk person or you will see some unauthorized charges. I call to cancel my reservation due to the storms and floods in the area in the month of January 2015 and I understood there where going to be a fee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ownercocoloco, Owner at Coco Loco Lodge, responded to this review

Finally you found the page where you can leave your anger, Congratulation! First of all, really clear, once again: you made a reservation in peak season 3-5 January and accepted the cancelation policy ( full charge in case of no show !) and you did not show up on your arrival date . We never received your call, but we... More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We didn't get a chance to stay in a treehouse in Costa Rica but this was the next best thing! It was clean, pleasant, and felt like it was in the middle of nowhere. It's slightly tucked away but Puerto Viejo de Talamanca is so small, you can just walk everywhere (we had rented a car for the week though).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed in these adorable little bungalows for a belated honeymoon! I love that it's a few blocks from everything-the town, a bank, lots of lovely restaurants, shopping, the beach! It was inexpensive, clean, and spacious. The owners were lovely. They did serve breakfast; unfortunately, we only stayed 3 nights, and we ended up eating in town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights in this beautiful place in Puerto Viejo. The bungalows were amazing - everything nice, clean, tidy. The location of Coco Loco Lodge is perfect. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. You only have to walk some minutes to reach town centre (5-10 minutes, depending how fast you walk). If I'll ever come back to Costa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I stayed there with my boyfriend and parents in the end of October and we had a wonderful time! We rented half of the house with a spacious bathroom and a well equipped kitchen. The house was clean and new and had a large deck with dining table, sofa and armchairs and a cosy hammock. The garden looks amazing, beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Quite a bargain during the off-season, I paid $30/night for a single room. The hotel is set just back from town on a beautiful piece of land. The bungalows are cute and the hammocks on the porch are a great place to rest after a day on the beach. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. I opted out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We love this place! The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms were clean and well kept and provided everything we could have asked for and more. We will definitely be going back, hopefully soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Whilst staying in CR we were recommended this place. I had trouble coding prices on their website so we turned up without a booking. The lady (who owns it) gave us a room and options. I personally found her quite blunt, Unfriendly and reserved and unapproachable. The next day the man (maybe get husband) made up for that as he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Nice Property BUT don't leave CC on file (use cash deposit) and take pictures of room before leaving! On the last leg of our trip we stayed here for two nights. I have to say the bungalows are adorable and grounds are maintained really well. However, I got the feeling we would be nickeled and dimed at every turn when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ownercocoloco, Owner at Coco Loco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and appreciation on your statement of our place and bungalows. I am glad you liked it! You came through an agency and you booked a bungalow with one double and 2 single beds .You were asking about A/C and I told you to change in a room with A/C with one queen bed, but I... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have been to Costa Rica a number of times and found Coco Loco to be the best option "in town" for the price. The AC is extra and is a nice touch, but not necessary). Overall the rooms are pretty, clean, safe, and private. En-suite bathrooms are nice as well. My favorite part about Coco Loco is the location...a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Coco Loco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Loco Lodge

Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Coco Loco Hotel Puerto Viejo
Coco Loco Puerto Viejo
Coco Loco Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay