We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coco Loco Lodge

Hotel website
Av 67/Calle211 | Puerto Viejo -Talamanca, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Coco Loco Lodge
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    72
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
40
127
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Wageningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a party of four, occupying two rooms. Rooms have 2 to 4 beds, in cabins in a green, spacious setting, quiet and yet within walking distance from the main streets of Puerto Viejo. Very friendly staff. Tours can be arranged.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kapaa, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the pleasure of staying at the Coco Loco, in Sept., of last year, for 2 nights. Our bungalow was delightful and each morning we shared a lovely breakfast and conversation with the owner of the hotel. The hotel is located off the main street, so we found it to be quiet and comfortable to lounge around, yet close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015 via mobile

We were a party of four plus a one year old baby. The only inconvinient we had was that the kitchen facilities we were giving with our bungalow, were mistakenly given as well to the other bungalow, the guy in the reception was a little bit slowing solving the problem but we manage to get an arrangement with the other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

My husband and I traveled to Coco Loco Lodge in Puerto Viejo for 8 nights in February and it was the best experience on the Caribbean coast! We had a one bedroom little home with full kitchen steps away from the main lodge. It was clean, comfortable, very affordable and close enough to town to walk to all the good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

While the stay here wasn't a bad experience especifically, it is ridiculous that the parking lot only has like 6 spots and 4 of them are under palm trees. There's a normal laminated sheet of paper hanging from one of the trees that says park at your own risk "coconuts falling". If you're not looking for the paper you would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ownercocoloco, Owner at Coco Loco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry for your experience .Unfortunately most contracts of rental cars always advice that parking is on your own risk in the country and nature damages happen sometimes .For us it is the first time that a car got damaged in that way ,and we are taking them off as best and often we can.... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Management is horrible, Poor costumer service, lies over the phone. do not give your credit card info to Manolo front desk person or you will see some unauthorized charges. I call to cancel my reservation due to the storms and floods in the area in the month of January 2015 and I understood there where going to be a fee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ownercocoloco, Owner at Coco Loco Lodge, responded to this review

Finally you found the page where you can leave your anger, Congratulation! First of all, really clear, once again: you made a reservation in peak season 3-5 January and accepted the cancelation policy ( full charge in case of no show !) and you did not show up on your arrival date . We never received your call, but we... More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We didn't get a chance to stay in a treehouse in Costa Rica but this was the next best thing! It was clean, pleasant, and felt like it was in the middle of nowhere. It's slightly tucked away but Puerto Viejo de Talamanca is so small, you can just walk everywhere (we had rented a car for the week though).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

My husband and I stayed in these adorable little bungalows for a belated honeymoon! I love that it's a few blocks from everything-the town, a bank, lots of lovely restaurants, shopping, the beach! It was inexpensive, clean, and spacious. The owners were lovely. They did serve breakfast; unfortunately, we only stayed 3 nights, and we ended up eating in town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We stayed 3 nights in this beautiful place in Puerto Viejo. The bungalows were amazing - everything nice, clean, tidy. The location of Coco Loco Lodge is perfect. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. You only have to walk some minutes to reach town centre (5-10 minutes, depending how fast you walk). If I'll ever come back to Costa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there with my boyfriend and parents in the end of October and we had a wonderful time! We rented half of the house with a spacious bathroom and a well equipped kitchen. The house was clean and new and had a large deck with dining table, sofa and armchairs and a cosy hammock. The garden looks amazing, beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question