We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
You added Hotel Guarana to your Saves list
Puerto Viejo Center, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Hotel Guarana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    64
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
19
94
44
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have spent several nights on various occasions during the past years in this lovely hotel. The owners and the staff are very kind people. The decoration is nice (good Italian taste), rooms are comfortable and I could make use of the communal kitchen to make breakfast tea and coffee occasionally. I return here every year and also recommended the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights when we visited Puerto Viejo, it was a great stay. Location is ideal. Very quiet and you can get a good night's sleep! Kitchen is great, you get to cook your own meals. The supermarket is close by, right around the corner. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Definitely would recommend and would stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed with a friend for the weekend, it was our first time in this hotel and we were really happy. The room was clean, well decorated and the price was according to what we got. The 2 girls at the recepcion (I don't remember their names) were so helpfull, they gave us some tips about the weather and even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for a couple of nights and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very clean, the communal area was great and they even had a kitchen that could be used by guests and also free drinking water. The location of the cabanas is perfect and the staff were lovely and very helpful. I also left something at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We stay a couple of days while visiting beaches Manzanillo, Cocles, Puerto Viejo and Cahuite, the rooms were clean and cozy, but the need some improvements for example the wifi didnt reach our room, the neigbour were lousy but they complained about us? Another point was that the hotel staff must learned something about customer service because their treatment was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This hotel is situated in a quiet position in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca. Staff friendly, owners very nice and helpful with informations and suggestions. Rooms cosy and clean. Supermarket around the corner. Thank you very much for everything!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of November. Everything about this hotel was pretty good, the rooms were clean, not to far away from everything and you had your own little patio. But the terrible customer service out weighs all of the positives of this place! During the whole week we stayed here we were ignored by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
guarana854, Owner at Hotel Guarana, responded to this review

Horrible is not enough to describe your behavior, not even as a guest, because who posted this review,was never our guest. You were found extremely drunk in your friends room, the real guests, with your girlfriend, totally drunken too. It was 1.40-1.50 am. I had to implore twice to get some , not even silence, reasonable volume, the third time... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. It was really affordable, staff were friendly and rooms had all you need. The communal kitchen was really great. Awesome location in Puerto Viejo with everything nearby, supermarkets etc. Being wet season, the mosquitos were pretty bad but the room had mosquito nets on the beds, which was a great relief.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014 via mobile

When the original hotel accidentally forgot to tell me that they converted the private rooms to hostel rooms I was frantic. There I was in another country with no where to stay. So thankfully I looked online and found this place. I walked over and it was love at first sight. Beautiful front gates, lobby, garden area. I begged them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We stayed at Guarana for 3 nights and loved it. I had the best sleep so far out of our 3 months in Central America. The rooms are really breezy with the open air design and the fans kept us nice and cool at night. The kitchen was fully stocked and accessible to everyone. I thought because it was more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guarana

Address: Puerto Viejo Center, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Guarana Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Guarana Costa Rica/Limon

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hotel Guarana

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby