We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Puerto Limon hotels

Hotel Playa Westfalia

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2km al sur del Aeropuerto Internacional de Limon | Carretera a Cahuita, Puerto Limon 70101, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Playa Westfalia to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Westfalia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
93%
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Puerto Limon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012
TravelingBrianandKim West Bloomfield, Michigan
  • Overview
  • Reviews (80)
  • Photos (98)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (9)
  • More
true
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    18
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
35
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Hotel Playa Westfalia
See the most recent reviews
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel our first two nights in Costa Rica. The view from the hotel restaurant was beautiful, and the ocean was a nice calm way to be greeted to the country. The restaurant's food was very good, but from here this hotel went downhill. In a country with this climate it is to be expected to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

Hello; First I am sorry you did not enjoy yourself at our hotel. I have contacted my manager and she has told me that she does not know why your AC and water heater would not be working as she has not had any complaints either before or after you. She will be checking into that and wishes you had... More

Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed one night at the westfalia resort. 7 miles south of porta limone. We traveled around the east coast for a day. and decided to stay another night, because of the hotel and the people there. Diana Mapi the manager was very nice and helpful. Kudos to her and her help.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

I am sorry for such a late reply. For some reason, I was not notified of some of my reviews, yours being one of them. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you can come again in the future! More

Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Hotel Westfalia was the perfect place for us to stay before we went to Tortuguero. We had the room on the ground floor right next to the pool. The room was spacious and very clean. We had internet access. The pool area was very nice. The restaurant area is more like a soda, but was fine for what we needed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

I am sorry for such a late reply. For some reason, I was not notified of some of my reviews, yours being one of them. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you can come again in the future! More

Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I gave this a 4 stars because we got a room with two double beds, a kitchenette, and a sitting/lounge room and a huge bathroom, all for a decent price. The pool was cleaned daily and was nice to go in. The staff do not really speak english, although we found one that could and communicated through her the whole... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

Hi Matthew; Sorry for the late reply, but I thought I had responded and just noticed that I actually responded to someone with the same concerns that stayed just the week before you. Here is a cpy of that reply: March 22, 2012 I am sorry for the lack of English speaking staff during your visit. Two of our management... More

Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Staff was friendly but couldn't almost any English. At the time we where there the weather was bad, always rain and a lot of mosquitos but of course this has nothing to do with the hotel, more with the environment. I wouldn't go back at that side of the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

I am sorry for the lack of English speaking staff during your visit. Two of our management staff left recently and it is hard to find people to replce them quickly. My manager Diana,Maya has recently begun English lessons for all the staff in hopes of making them all much better at communicating in the future. I wish I could... More

Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Diana, the manager, is wonderful. Organized everything for our trip. had dinner ready for us upon our arrival. Organized a shuttle from san jose airport to her resort and also a cab the following morning to the moin boat launch to go to Tortuguero. Can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

I am sorry for such a late reply. For some reason, I was not notified of some of my reviews, yours being one of them. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you can come again in the future! More

Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I don't agree with the last review at all ! Yes Cahuita and Puerto Viejo, 50km away, are much nicer towns than Limon, but the Playa Westfalia Hotel is the nicest one around !! Limon is a Industrial port tonw. We went there a few times to walk around, it's not charming but people are very nice... We stayed there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

For some reason, I was not notified of some of my reviews, yours being one of them. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you can come again in the future! More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The staff is nice, but that's it. Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, you can't walk around to see or visit anything. Breakfast is not included, and the food is bad and expensive. Rooms have shady lights that glow weirdly and gives a terrible atmosphere in the room. Bathroom is huge, which is nice but totally disproportionate in comparison... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

Hi JeCat; Why did it take you 8 months to review the hotel? It looks like maybe you didn't really check the area before traveling as we do not make it a secret about where we are located. The Caribbean side is more laid back & island style, unlike the Pacific side which is very Americanized. As the owner, I... More

Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as a pit stop before puerto viejo. Its super easy to find as there is a bus that can take there from the limon bus station. You just need to ask the bus driver to stop there. The service there was fantastic and the views were world class. Our accommodation, itself, was fantastic and for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

I am sorry for such a late reply. For some reason, I was not notified of some of my reviews, yours being one of them. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you can come again in the future! More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This was the first stop on our trip. It had been a long day of travelling into Costa Rica and this was a perfect end to our day. A beautiful property with very clean, modern and safe rooms. The restaurant serves a good mix of traditional Costa Rican meals and options, very tasty and needed after our trip that day.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

I am sorry for such a late reply. For some reason, I was not notified of some of my reviews, yours being one of them. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you can come again in the future! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Playa Westfalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Playa Westfalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Westfalia

Address: 2km al sur del Aeropuerto Internacional de Limon | Carretera a Cahuita, Puerto Limon 70101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Limon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Westfalia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Playa Westfalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Westfalia Hotel
Hotel Playa Westfalia Costa Rica/Limon - Puerto Limon

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Puerto Limon with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Playa Westfalia is located on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica. The location allows you easy access to a wide variety of attractions as well as historical sites. At the hotel, you will be greeted by a professional and courteous staff that speaks both Spanish and English. We have a full service open-air beachfront restaurant with both international and local cuisine as well as a full service bar. The pool, located near the restaurant, has a beautiful waterfall as well as a 6 person spa. While enjoying the pool area, you will also have a perfect view of the beach and ocean as well as dozens of palm trees all located just outside the pool and restaurant area. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Hotel Playa Westfalia and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Playa Westfalia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer