We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Puerto Limon hotels

Hotel Playa Westfalia

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2km al sur del Aeropuerto Internacional de Limon | Carretera a Cahuita, Puerto Limon 70101, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Hotel Playa Westfalia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Playa Westfalia to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Limon
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012
422EricB Grande Prairie, Canada
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
38
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Playa Westfalia
See the most recent reviews
Grande Prairie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at the Westfalia for two nights and had a great time! Diana was most helpful and accommodated me wherever possible. The hotel is in an excellent location and right on the beach, a great spot to stop if you want to explore the East coast of Costa Rica. Great food and great value! Rooms were also very clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We are very lucky to have such a charming and competant manager like Diana to run our little hotel. Hope you can return sometime! Michael & Marilyn More 

Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed Hotel Playa Westfalia with my boyfriend as we traveled to Puerto Viejo. We actually stayed here an extra night because we found it so delightful. My favorite thing about this place was watching the waves crash onto the beach every morning as we ate delicious breakfast in the open-air restaurant. They served us the best coffee and great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and the time you took to write it. We are so happy you enjoyed yourself and hope that you visit us again. I am especially luky to have a great mnager (Diana) and such great employees that always try to help the guests and make a positive impression. Again, Thank You! Michael & Marilyn More 

West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel our first two nights in Costa Rica. The view from the hotel restaurant was beautiful, and the ocean was a nice calm way to be greeted to the country. The restaurant's food was very good, but from here this hotel went downhill. In a country with this climate it is to be expected to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

Hello; First I am sorry you did not enjoy yourself at our hotel. I have contacted my manager and she has told me that she does not know why your AC and water heater would not be working as she has not had any complaints either before or after you. She will be checking into that and wishes you had... More 

Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed one night at the westfalia resort. 7 miles south of porta limone. We traveled around the east coast for a day. and decided to stay another night, because of the hotel and the people there. Diana Mapi the manager was very nice and helpful. Kudos to her and her help.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

I am sorry for such a late reply. For some reason, I was not notified of some of my reviews, yours being one of them. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you can come again in the future! More 

Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Hotel Westfalia was the perfect place for us to stay before we went to Tortuguero. We had the room on the ground floor right next to the pool. The room was spacious and very clean. We had internet access. The pool area was very nice. The restaurant area is more like a soda, but was fine for what we needed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

I am sorry for such a late reply. For some reason, I was not notified of some of my reviews, yours being one of them. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you can come again in the future! More 

Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I gave this a 4 stars because we got a room with two double beds, a kitchenette, and a sitting/lounge room and a huge bathroom, all for a decent price. The pool was cleaned daily and was nice to go in. The staff do not really speak english, although we found one that could and communicated through her the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

Hi Matthew; Sorry for the late reply, but I thought I had responded and just noticed that I actually responded to someone with the same concerns that stayed just the week before you. Here is a cpy of that reply: March 22, 2012 I am sorry for the lack of English speaking staff during your visit. Two of our management... More 

Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Staff was friendly but couldn't almost any English. At the time we where there the weather was bad, always rain and a lot of mosquitos but of course this has nothing to do with the hotel, more with the environment. I wouldn't go back at that side of the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

I am sorry for the lack of English speaking staff during your visit. Two of our management staff left recently and it is hard to find people to replce them quickly. My manager Diana,Maya has recently begun English lessons for all the staff in hopes of making them all much better at communicating in the future. I wish I could... More 

Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Diana, the manager, is wonderful. Organized everything for our trip. had dinner ready for us upon our arrival. Organized a shuttle from san jose airport to her resort and also a cab the following morning to the moin boat launch to go to Tortuguero. Can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

I am sorry for such a late reply. For some reason, I was not notified of some of my reviews, yours being one of them. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you can come again in the future! More 

Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I don't agree with the last review at all ! Yes Cahuita and Puerto Viejo, 50km away, are much nicer towns than Limon, but the Playa Westfalia Hotel is the nicest one around !! Limon is a Industrial port tonw. We went there a few times to walk around, it's not charming but people are very nice... We stayed there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

For some reason, I was not notified of some of my reviews, yours being one of them. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you can come again in the future! More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The staff is nice, but that's it. Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, you can't walk around to see or visit anything. Breakfast is not included, and the food is bad and expensive. Rooms have shady lights that glow weirdly and gives a terrible atmosphere in the room. Bathroom is huge, which is nice but totally disproportionate in comparison... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Hotel Playa Westfalia, responded to this review

Hi JeCat; Why did it take you 8 months to review the hotel? It looks like maybe you didn't really check the area before traveling as we do not make it a secret about where we are located. The Caribbean side is more laid back & island style, unlike the Pacific side which is very Americanized. As the owner, I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Playa Westfalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Westfalia

Address: 2km al sur del Aeropuerto Internacional de Limon | Carretera a Cahuita, Puerto Limon 70101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Limon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Westfalia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Playa Westfalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Westfalia Hotel
Hotel Playa Westfalia Costa Rica/Limon - Puerto Limon

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay