We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Hakuna Matata

Main Street, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica (Formerly Hostel Shangri La)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Hakuna Matata
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Hostel Hakuna Matata
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (8)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had read a couple of negative feedbacks before visiting this hostel and I admit I was a bit "scared" of what I would find. I think it is important to disprove them though. The hostel is indeed in the middle of total renewal, as explained by the owners. The swimming pool was unfortunately yet to be finished, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Appears this is under new ownership, as the current staff are not those listed in the reviews below. This hostel advertises "an outdoor pool and a restaurant", "a garden, and a bar". None of these are true. There is an empty pool surrounded by dug up earth, right next to the risk. The garden is bare earth with a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dario99999, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience, but as yourself noticed we were doing a bit of renewal work. This will be all over in the upcoming weeks. Next time make sure to ask the staff if you have problems to understand how to use the facilities like the hot showers, we will be happy to help. Have a good day. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Visited in June 2013. Have read some negative reviews so thought I'd stick up for the owner! Georgio is a really friendly, genuine guy and chilled. He even arranged a fishing trip for me and a friend to go out with his neighbour one morning with the local fishermen, which was the highlight of our 5 week trip cycling around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
giorgio75_10, Direttore at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your review... unfortunally or fortunally depends on the points of view, Shangri la hostel does not exist anymore, i sold it around 3 months ago... Giorgio now is in Indonesia, in a wonderful place much more safe and georgeous whit my dog scooby doo of course always next to me... The last year the hostel was invaded... More 

Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights and we really enjoyed a lot! The new owners are awesome and we felt part of the family. We had the honor to eat pasta with the other guest who where cooked by the italian Owner. A really welcoming place close to everything

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostel Hakuna Matata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Hakuna Matata

Address: Main Street, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica (Formerly Hostel Shangri La)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Hakuna Matata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Hakuna Matata Costa Rica/Cahuita

29 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay