We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Hakuna Matata

Main Street, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica (Formerly Hostel Shangri La)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Hakuna Matata
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hostel Hakuna Matata
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a nice hostel run by very friendly, helpful people. It has fairly clean rooms and bathrooms, and has a decent kitchen. Also good location. I would not stay here again however, only because it constantly smelled like dog crap in the common area. I like dogs as much as anyone and I'm not very fussy, but no one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We had a double room with a private bathroom. There is a lovely chilled out feeling about this hostel, the room is very clean, the shower is hot and the fan keeps the room cool in the night. The swimming pool is small but immaculately clean and the hammocks around the hostel are great for chilling in! The only thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

The hostel was overall quite good, clean rooms and bathrooms and a nice pool. Good price for what you get. The only problems were that the rooms did not lock and only had very small lockers. The kitchen was quite dirty and was under stocked, which really turned me off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Stayed 2 nights in a double without bathroom for 30 dollars. Room and bathroom are clean. There is free coffee and wifi (instable). The whole place needs a bit of maintenance. Especially the kitchen could use some good cleaning and could do with some new pots, pans, plates etc. For so many guests there are only 2 pits to cook... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Nice, basic rooms. The bathrooms are clean although the showers are only hot if only one of the thee showers is being used. The people who run it are very sweet and helpful should you need it. They are constantly working to improve the hostel bit by bit. There's table football, a small book collection, free coffee all day and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

The hostel is still under construction. But the bathrooms and rooms are clean. We stayed in a private shared bath. The room is spacious and basic. It could use a few things, like a garbage can or table but otherwise it was fine The kitchen is ok. As is the pool. It is also right next door to the bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I had read a couple of negative feedbacks before visiting this hostel and I admit I was a bit "scared" of what I would find. I think it is important to disprove them though. The hostel is indeed in the middle of total renewal, as explained by the owners. The swimming pool was unfortunately yet to be finished, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Appears this is under new ownership, as the current staff are not those listed in the reviews below. This hostel advertises "an outdoor pool and a restaurant", "a garden, and a bar". None of these are true. There is an empty pool surrounded by dug up earth, right next to the risk. The garden is bare earth with a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dario99999, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience, but as yourself noticed we were doing a bit of renewal work. This will be all over in the upcoming weeks. Next time make sure to ask the staff if you have problems to understand how to use the facilities like the hot showers, we will be happy to help. Have a good day. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Visited in June 2013. Have read some negative reviews so thought I'd stick up for the owner! Georgio is a really friendly, genuine guy and chilled. He even arranged a fishing trip for me and a friend to go out with his neighbour one morning with the local fishermen, which was the highlight of our 5 week trip cycling around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
giorgio75_10, Direttore at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your review... unfortunally or fortunally depends on the points of view, Shangri la hostel does not exist anymore, i sold it around 3 months ago... Giorgio now is in Indonesia, in a wonderful place much more safe and georgeous whit my dog scooby doo of course always next to me... The last year the hostel was invaded... More 

Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed there 3 nights and we really enjoyed a lot! The new owners are awesome and we felt part of the family. We had the honor to eat pasta with the other guest who where cooked by the italian Owner. A really welcoming place close to everything

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question