We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Mono Loco

Calle Cardinal, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
El Mono Loco
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in room number 2 and it was ideal for myself! The room and bathroom were clean. Daily there were fresh towels and soap along with my bed made. The price was comparable to a hostel but with privacy. Super close to the grocery store and right across from the beach. There's a path to the beach right across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very nice and friendly owners. Great energy and vibe! Very clean and organized. Stayed with my mother and we loved it! Never had problems with hot water or A/C. Spacious and cool rooms. Nice front yard and a pool. Best place to have fun and relax!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

I suppose to spend 8 nights there, but I came, I saw and I run away... Condition of my room was very bad, bathroom beyond any words. Look at photos. Maybe garden and patio was fine, but room was a disaster. But nice crew, simply maybe bad moment, bad room, bad time. No problems with money refund.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We regret that you were not happy with our property and hope that you found a suitable place after you received your refund. I feel your photos are an accurate representation of the room you were offered. As the owner, I have personally attempted... More 

Jindabyne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

This place offers great value for money - It's about the same price as a hostel but offers much more - clean basic rooms, air conditioning, close to beach and shops, private car park, friendly staff, nice pool, private bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and sharing all of our positve attributes. Your opinion helps others to choose a hotel that best suits their needs. Happy we were good a good match for you! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Most quiet and relaxing, this place is close to everything; beach, grocery, restaurants. The personal is so friendly, the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts are the best of Costa Rica ......for a canadian!!!!!!! And the price ......awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Check in on us on Facebook to remind yourself of your warm, wonderful visit. More 

San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very nice hostel in Tamarindo. Just 200 meters from the beach on the way to playa Langosta, close to supermarkets and main attractions. The rooms was clean and confortable, with air-con. The place is quiet and not too busy. The breakfast was delicious, Sylvia cooks very good meals. For sure a great deal for the price. Muchas gracias Mauricio and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a fantastic vacation at El Mono Loco in Costa Rica! The rooms were clean, the people running the hotel were friendly, and the food was delicious! There are comfortable hammocks and rocking chairs to lounge in if you just want to hang out by the pool or the beach is just across the street. The town is easily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

We likewise enjoyed your visit and thank you for your lovely review. Your group was a lot of fun for us. You definitely mention all the qualities that make our hotel so special. Please visit us again soon. Remember we welcome groups and families and will do our best to make your stay memorable. Check out our Facebook page to... More 

Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This husband and wife duo were amazing! We were expecting to arrive at the hotel around 4:00pm, however, with flight delays we did not end up arriving until 10pm. They were more than understanding and were there to meet our needs even at that late hour. The first room we arrived at had a lot of ants. We brought this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

With it's proximity to beach and downtown, without being overrun with traffic, This hotel is perfect. Quiet, private and comfortable. The owners were super helpful. Nothing extravagant, but I don't particularly care for, nor need extravagant. For the price it was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

we had only planned two nights (jan 6-12) but ended up staying 6 nights. the hotel is charming, great location, a terrific family runs the hotel and we had a yummy breakfast everyday which was not included, but our rate was so reasonable. there are fancier places to stay but we felt so comfortable and the beach is so close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities