We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Mono Loco

Calle Cardinal, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
El Mono Loco
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    11
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Kfar Saba, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This little hotel is excellent Clean rooms Hot running water Air conditioning Small pool Friendly staff Good location on the south side of the beach 1 minute walk from the beach 5 minutes from the center of town Ely and Asher And not expensive!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It cost $35 a nite for two people which is not bad it all , not dog friendly and is a shame Monkeys monkeys everywhere The place is only 100 yards from the beach and closer to town ! Nice couple running the hotel Tomorrow we hit north on the way to Nicaragua for more adventures .

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This by far the best hotel in town. Carla en Marlin are trying to connect with the customers and tell them were to go in in town. The friendly and nice way they are running this hotel 'El Mono Loco' is great. The rooms are perfect and daily cleaned. This is a best hotel for the best price. Because it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cala Millor, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed with my girlfriend for a week in Mono Loco and all I can say it was just ok. The rooms were not cleaned at all and food was nothing to write home about. On the other side, staff was very attentive and always smiling. The area where the hotel is located is pretty good and we enjoyed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It is in our best interest to know when things are not satisfactory. It is our procedure to clean rooms every morning before lunch. If a client does not wish to be disturbed or declines cleaning, then we honor their request. It is good to know that... More 

Varadero, Cuba
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel in general needs improvement in several aspects but worse is to find rooms that have been properly cleaned. I was with my wife has allergies and what happened is very bad about it that I can not give a good comment ... In general workers seem polite and helpful and I hope they can fix this problem

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for the time to review our property. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay. Our managers do make every effort to address any concerns. While they clean rooms daily, the unpaved roads of Tamarindo along with extreme dry conditions make dust a challenge. I will pass on your concerns to our staff. More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

I stayed in room number 2 and it was ideal for myself! The room and bathroom were clean. Daily there were fresh towels and soap along with my bed made. The price was comparable to a hostel but with privacy. Super close to the grocery store and right across from the beach. There's a path to the beach right across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

So glad your stay was enjoyable. Our apologies for the ants. With the extreme dry conditions of Tamarindo, ants are searching out water sources. We appreciate you letting us know and will be more vigilant to this concern. More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Very nice and friendly owners. Great energy and vibe! Very clean and organized. Stayed with my mother and we loved it! Never had problems with hot water or A/C. Spacious and cool rooms. Nice front yard and a pool. Best place to have fun and relax!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at El Mono Loco. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

I suppose to spend 8 nights there, but I came, I saw and I run away... Condition of my room was very bad, bathroom beyond any words. Look at photos. Maybe garden and patio was fine, but room was a disaster. But nice crew, simply maybe bad moment, bad room, bad time. No problems with money refund.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We regret that you were not happy with our property and hope that you found a suitable place after you received your refund. I feel your photos are an accurate representation of the room you were offered. As the owner, I have personally attempted... More 

Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

This place offers great value for money - It's about the same price as a hostel but offers much more - clean basic rooms, air conditioning, close to beach and shops, private car park, friendly staff, nice pool, private bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and sharing all of our positve attributes. Your opinion helps others to choose a hotel that best suits their needs. Happy we were good a good match for you! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Most quiet and relaxing, this place is close to everything; beach, grocery, restaurants. The personal is so friendly, the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts are the best of Costa Rica ......for a canadian!!!!!!! And the price ......awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Check in on us on Facebook to remind yourself of your warm, wonderful visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities