We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Mono Loco

Calle Cardinal | 450m South of Pacific Park, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with El Mono Loco to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
El Mono Loco
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located just outside of the most crowded part of Tamarindo. There is just a minutes walk to the beach. The rooms are really spacious, nice and clean. The owner of the place is super nice and helpful with everything (eg. extending our stay, trip recommendations and bookings etc.) It is highly recommended to know spanish since the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pair_of_surfers
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

We loved having both of you as our guests. So glad you enjoyed your stay, cutest couple ever!!!!! Hope you have a safe journey back home....stay warm...brrrrr. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

I almost want to keep this place a secret because it's just the most beautiful, quiet, tranquil place in the whole of Tamarindo. Away from the hustle and bustle of the town, and surrounded by greenery, El Mono Loco is tamarindo's best kept secret. Come here if you're after a calm, relaxed, and magical stay. A 5 min walk from... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jen N
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

We were so sad to see you go, but now you have your go to place when you return. So glad you enjoyed our place; it is our amazing guests which make it so special. Enjoy the rest of your travels and keep in touch on FB. Namaste! More 

Kfar Saba, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 via mobile

This little hotel is excellent Clean rooms Hot running water Air conditioning Small pool Friendly staff Good location on the south side of the beach 1 minute walk from the beach 5 minutes from the center of town Ely and Asher And not expensive!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank adherko
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

It cost $35 a nite for two people which is not bad it all , not dog friendly and is a shame Monkeys monkeys everywhere The place is only 100 yards from the beach and closer to town ! Nice couple running the hotel Tomorrow we hit north on the way to Nicaragua for more adventures .

Helpful?
Thank Engelberth V
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

This by far the best hotel in town. Carla en Marlin are trying to connect with the customers and tell them were to go in in town. The friendly and nice way they are running this hotel 'El Mono Loco' is great. The rooms are perfect and daily cleaned. This is a best hotel for the best price. Because it's... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sybrand P
Cala Millor, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

I stayed with my girlfriend for a week in Mono Loco and all I can say it was just ok. The rooms were not cleaned at all and food was nothing to write home about. On the other side, staff was very attentive and always smiling. The area where the hotel is located is pretty good and we enjoyed the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gridruejo
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It is in our best interest to know when things are not satisfactory. It is our procedure to clean rooms every morning before lunch. If a client does not wish to be disturbed or declines cleaning, then we honor their request. It is good to know that... More 

Varadero, Cuba
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

The hotel in general needs improvement in several aspects but worse is to find rooms that have been properly cleaned. I was with my wife has allergies and what happened is very bad about it that I can not give a good comment ... In general workers seem polite and helpful and I hope they can fix this problem

Helpful?
Thank tomas w
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for the time to review our property. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay. Our managers do make every effort to address any concerns. While they clean rooms daily, the unpaved roads of Tamarindo along with extreme dry conditions make dust a challenge. I will pass on your concerns to our staff. More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

I stayed in room number 2 and it was ideal for myself! The room and bathroom were clean. Daily there were fresh towels and soap along with my bed made. The price was comparable to a hostel but with privacy. Super close to the grocery store and right across from the beach. There's a path to the beach right across... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mainlander_13
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

So glad your stay was enjoyable. Our apologies for the ants. With the extreme dry conditions of Tamarindo, ants are searching out water sources. We appreciate you letting us know and will be more vigilant to this concern. More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Very nice and friendly owners. Great energy and vibe! Very clean and organized. Stayed with my mother and we loved it! Never had problems with hot water or A/C. Spacious and cool rooms. Nice front yard and a pool. Best place to have fun and relax!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tyaskye444
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at El Mono Loco. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

I suppose to spend 8 nights there, but I came, I saw and I run away... Condition of my room was very bad, bathroom beyond any words. Look at photos. Maybe garden and patio was fine, but room was a disaster. But nice crew, simply maybe bad moment, bad room, bad time. No problems with money refund.

Helpful?
Thank Fi D
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We regret that you were not happy with our property and hope that you found a suitable place after you received your refund. I feel your photos are an accurate representation of the room you were offered. As the owner, I have personally attempted... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.5 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay