We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Tamarindo accommodations

Tamarindo Backpackers

West of Supermarket 2001, turn left at Kahiki then 2nd road on the right at the end of the cul-de-sac, | Tamarindo, Guanacaste 50303, Costa Rica, Tamarindo 68241000, Costa Rica
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tamarindo Backpackers to your Saves list
Tamarindo Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (93)
  • Photos (75)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    11
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
17
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I really had a great time at Tamarindo Backpackers Anne and Chris, the owners, are simply great and it goes the same with all the staff. They definately try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The hostel is super clean and well located. The atmosphere is really friendly and you feel like youre in paradise. The monkeys on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have never stayed in a hostel in all the years of my traveling. While I was looking for accommodations for my trip to Tamarindo this year, I came across Tamarindo backpackers and based on the reviews I decided to book a private room with them. It was by far the best decision I have made in my many years... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I had such a great time I thought I would break the habit and leave some feedback. I met some awesome people there and Chris and Anne the hosts were a blast! Stayed in a private room at the top - super clean and nice. Of all the hostels in South/ central america that i stayed at tamarindo def had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Staff is very personable and attentive to your needs, and have all the resources right there for you to find everything in Tamarindo you may want to do from surfing, scuba diving, snorkeling, places to eat, night life, basically anything you want they have the resources right there. My fiance and I went turtle spotting, snorkeling, boat rides, hiking, days... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

i was in the hostel four 12 days.. i did meet a few new friends ;) costa rika wass a really good experience to me, when i come back i will stay in backpackers hostel! its clean its safe and you can meet really good company i had the opurtunity to meet the owners they are super cool ;) Tamarindo... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My friends and I stayed in 3 different hotels throughout Costa Rica and this was by far the worst hostel we stayed in. The kitchen was disgusting and had pots and pans with leftover food left on the stoves and in the sink. There was a leak in the kitchen sink and water was all over the floor. The drain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
annietamarindo, Owner at Tamarindo Backpackers, responded to this review

Adrienne thank you for staying with us and I'm sorry you did not have the experience you were hoping for. I am a little bummed by your review because we did absolutely everything possible to improve your stay. I was in email contact with you constantly. We fixed the plumbing problem the day we became aware of it, which is... More

Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed here with my fiancée for 4 days while traveling. We were both extremely well looked after and didn't have any issues with the cleanliness of the hostel. The location was perfect with only a few minutes walk to the beach. The staff at Tamarindo Backpackers really did make our traveling experience and we will be back as soon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Tamarindo Backpackers in March. We had a wonderful experience! The hostel is beautifully decorated in bright, tropical colors. It's common area is open, airy, and lush, nestled next to the nature reserve. We could see the monkeys! There is plenty of room to hang out. Either indoors, in the living room or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at Tamarindo Backpackers for 2 weeks at the end of May with my wife. I am really surprised to read the negative reviews below because we had the best time at Tamarindo Backpackers and both my wife and I thought that the hostel and the staff were amazing. I guess everyone has a bad day. I would like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Tamarindo Backpackers is a good looking hostel (from the outside) situated in a cul de sac few minutes away from one of the main beaches. Unfortunately my friend and I had a rather unpleasant experience when we stayed a few days ago. We picked a room with air conditioning which worked great, but the room had no windows, a non... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tamarindo Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tamarindo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Backpackers

Address: West of Supermarket 2001, turn left at Kahiki then 2nd road on the right at the end of the cul-de-sac, | Tamarindo, Guanacaste 50303, Costa Rica, Tamarindo 68241000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Tamarindo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
2:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tamarindo Backpackers is a boutique beach hostel. Anne and Chris the new owners are working very hard to improve the hostel on a daily basis. Tamarindo Backpackers is a small, friendly place to stay just minutes from the beach. Get to know fellow travelers in the communal kitchen or chilling by the pool. Its a super friendly and fun atmosphere. We are the Lonely Planet Guide recommended hostel in Tamarindo for several years running! Here's what Lonely Planet has to say about us: “Our favorite hostel in Tamarindo, this intimate, all-star backpacker spot, in a gorgeous yellow hacienda is big enough to make new friends . . . small enough to feel more like home. The common kitchen area has a large, full-stocked shared Kitchen, cable TV and FREE coffee. Dorm and private rooms are clean and comfy. Outside, you will find lovely tropical gardens, small pool and hammocks, all surrounded by woods where you’ll hear howler monkeys every morning”.- By Lonely Planet 2011. The author’s choice from ALL hostels in Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

See which rooms travelers prefer