We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Giada

Certificate of Excellence
Main street, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel Giada
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    83
    101
    33
    9
    2
See reviews for
36
110
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To our surprise the public bus dropped us off right in front of the hotel. We were in Room 18 and the clean pool and gardens were steps away from our sliding glass door. So convenient for our daily dips in the pool. Loved the king size bed --just like home. The air conditioning was a perfect temperature and kept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights on July 31 in room 11. We sat down at a table in the Giada restaurant on the second evening. We put our belongings on the table and checked out the menu. We decided to leave and go somewhere else- due to my daughter being a picky eater. Accidentally, we left our room key... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
giorgio c, Owner at Hotel Giada, responded to this review

Your comments in Trip Advisor is a very strong and incorrect comment. The room key and the purse was return to the hotel which means you in fact you did not lose them here in the hotel (your purse is at the front desk if you wish to stop by the front desk to pick it up), when a client... More 

Dallas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights. The rooms are a little small, and there is not much closet space. Unfortunately, we had a lot of luggage because we had been at a wedding at another Costa Rica resort, so space was at a premium. Rooms were clean, and the WiFi was strong. The GM was very nice and a funny guy. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin Village, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, the food cannot get any better, it is absolutely incredibly good. . The hotel is perfect for those who, A - Look for an affordable price, B – Want good quality, a 3 star hotel super clean and friendly service , C - Good location, at only 150 yards from the ocean and D – the best Italian, seafood,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We moved here for our last 2 nights in Samara. We were in room 18. the smell in the room was so horrible! And our a/c barely worked. We would have asked to move but we wanted to be next to our teens (room 17). My first shower was cold because I couldn't find the hot water...which is there but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are really sorry for the bad smell caused by a pipe of the A/C that was damaged on the same day that you entered the room. Unfortunately, we did not have 2 rooms together to relocate you, to let you stay with your children. Our obligation is to relocate people from the room that has problems, not... More 

Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights while our travel group was in the Samara Beach area. The hotel is just a few minute walk straight to the beach. The staff was friendly and grounds well kept. We even saw a few howler monkeys. The rooms were Ok, nothing fabulous. But they were comfortable enough for a couple of nights. For the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Giada and in our beautiful beach town! Too bad you did not try our restaurant, maybe if you ever come back to Samara! It will be a pleasure to host you again. Best regards, More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

The best food we had during the entire vacation time. We loved Samara. Great dining options. Hotel is also close to the beach. Great prices. It is the first time we visited Samara and were pleasantly surprised by it. It is much more relaxed and still natural compared to North Guanacaste. Prices are far better too, and the beaches in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review

Hi Klaus, We are really happy to know that you enjoyed our beautiful town of Samara. We hope you will come back to Hotel Giada if you ever come back to Samara. Always welcome! Best regards, More 

Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

This was the third place we stayed in Costa Rica. The other two were beautiful while Hotel Giada disappointed. Our room was very small, hot, humid, and smelled (I think we were by the cleaning closet full of chemicals?). The toilet leaked, which I told the front desk upon check in. Someone came and wiped up the water but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
giorgio c, Owner at Hotel Giada, responded to this review

I really feel that our hotel did not met your expectations. Unfortunately, even with my presence almost all day at the hotel, I did not hear about your dissatisfaction with the room, maybe we could have move you to another room. Regarding to the chemicals odors, our hotel is one of the few certified carbon-neutral which demands a reduced and... More 

New Carlisle, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Great hotel, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, immaculate pool & pool areas, very close to beach and downtown. We did have ants in our rooms initially - I don't think there is any way to completely eliminate them in Costa Rica. They did spray for them & there were less the next few days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review

Hi Beth, Thank you very much for your great review! It was a pleasure hosting you,and sorry again for the ants, but it is , indeed. really hard to eliminate them completely! Hope to see you again at Samara Beach! More 

Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

The pool around back was nice, as was the patio off the room. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. The rates were also reasonable. The location was close to several good bars/restaurants, as well as near the ocean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review

Hi Bill, Thank you very much for your comment. It was a pleasure hosting you, we hope to see you again if you ever come back to Playa Samara. Best regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#6 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#12 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Inn
Hotel Samara Inn
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay