We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Magic Mountain

La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
Add Photo

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    226
    209
    58
    13
    7
See reviews for
121
235
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (513)
  • Mar-May only
    (182)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (142)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (110)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Magic Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
81 hotel reviews
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arenal was not erupting when we visited, but you still like to see it. Our guide warned us that many people did not see it. All of the rooms have views of the volcano. Our second floor room had an unobstructed view. When we woke up shortly after sunrise the first morning of our stay, Arenal was fully visible and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review

Greetings from Magic Mountain Hotel. We appreciate your comments and we are proud of you have had a wonderful stay... Best Regards! More 

nh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Magic Mountain Hotel and package was nothing short of superb. For $630 USA for a couple we had all food and drinks included, a tour of the rainforest and hanging bridges as well as a hike to an amazing waterfall and active volcano. Topping it off with the most luxurious hot springs!! The guide was amazing and we learned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments, It is very important for us. We are happy you enjoyed the stay at Magic Mountain. Hope see you soon again. Best regards! More 

Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I was here with my son in 2007; this time the whole family came.. We got in late afternoon and needed two rooms which we had. I needed a roll away as my adult sons will not share a bed. It was little more than army cot which was disappointing.. There was a large tour group there while we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments, This is too important for us, this is the way how we can see what we are doing good or not. We hope the next time that you visit us, we can give you a better service Best regards! More 

Ennis, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We only had one night to spend here but our stay was very memorable. The room was clean and fairly luxurious. We had a spectacular view of the volcano from our balcony. So perfect it was almost surreal. The swimming pool was lovely and the pool bar was very warm. The jacuzzis too were awesome. The staff were amazingly friendly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review

Greetings from Magic Mountain, We are pleased to have met your expectations, We hope you can visit us again soon and hopefully next time give the same or better a service. warmest regards! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Service was great, rooms very good, bed was very comfortable! Breakfast buffet needs improvement! I recommend staying here. Great value. Location is excellent close to la fortuna 2 mins car 10 mins walking and great views of arenal volcano. Hotel has security at night. I observed this when i came back from new years celebration.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review

Hello, thanks so much for your comments, this is too important for us, and we are going to take care about the buffet; Thanks for your recommendation. We are pleased that you have had an excelent stay. Best regards! More 

Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. The rooms are great, we had booked excursions with the hotel in advance, it all went well. The reception desk is somewhat funny, the SPA good but empty and the bar and restaurant dismal. Take a cab to La Fortuna instead for a meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for write us. We are working hard for give you a better stay the next time. We are improving our personal to make the reception a warmest place also we are going to see what is wrong with the restaurant and so next time you can enjoy our food. Best regards! More 

Montana
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Excellent place to stay in this area. We were here on a Caravan tour. Rooms were very nice, with balconies and a pool. (Also a sport bar that I did not visit.) The main feature is a view of the volcano, but while we were there (two nights) it was too cloudy to see it. Better luck if the weather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review

Best regards from Magic Mountain Hotel, We hope you had a wonderful stay with us and that we were able to meet all of your expectations. We are happy to see your comments, It help us to see if we are doing a good job, thanks again. More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I went to Costa Rica in December 2012 with my best friend and we were offered this hotel as part of a package by LatinDestinations. Pros: The hotel is nice and looks very new. AC was great. Very good water pressure. We had a beautiful view of the Arenal volcano from our balcony and even caught a morning with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review

Dear customer, thanks for spend your valuable time at Magic Mountain. Our customers are the most important. Each of your suggestion and comments are taken seriously, we works very hard to improve all you say. Our staff working is being trained to give a better service. We deeply regret not having met your expectations, but we leave the doors open... More 

San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Really nice hotel with beautiful,limited grounds.Pleasant helpful staff---we were given an upgrade without even requesting one.Breakfast was included and wonderful views of Arenal Volcano are yours for the taking. All this for about $100 a room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review

Best regards; we are proud of you enjoyed the stay at Magic Mountain Hotel. We are working to give you a better service, hope you can visit us again. Thanks so much for your comments It is very important to us. More 

Miami, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We was there few days ago. The first impression it´s good, but that change later of the time. We pay hundred something for night, but in our room we don´t have hair dryer, neither refrigerator and the keys...oh my god! The keys never work!! The receptionist (some of the worse thing) it was evident she did not like when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

541 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (277)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
View from room (52)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (55)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (243)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (6)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (39)
Viewed
Standard Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay