We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Travelers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hotel website
5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Offers & Announcements
Save on Activity tickets
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

1,510 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    905
    485
    94
    19
    7
See reviews for
436
695
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1510)
  • Mar-May only
    (434)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (400)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (270)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (406)
All months
Norwich, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Too bad Trip Advisor doesn't give 4.5 stars. My wife and I are divided on this place where we stayed for two nights (March 18-19, 2015). The agency that arranged our trip booked us into Arenal Springs. This was by far the largest place that we stayed. My wife disliked the "gated community" atmosphere complete with guards at the entrance.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First time in Costa Rica for us and we loved every minute of our stay here. The private bungalows are amazing and surrounded by beautiful flora and fruits. The only complaint would be that the beds were a bit hard and uncomfortable for us. The amenities and staff were great. Will come back for sure!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a nice stay here. Arriving at the hotel, the security is very good and you are welcomed with a refreshing cocktail. I was then escorted to my room in the golf buggy which was good to get around in. I was happy to be in one of the nearest rooms to the reception as otherwise, as we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Whilst here very unfortunately my wife caught a virus and became very unwell. Romairo from customer service was a fantastic help getting a doctor the the hotel and the treatment she received was excellent saving our holiday and meaning she recovered very quickly. Romario went the extra mile to make sure in the following days we had all we needed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Hello solee. thank you very much for sharing your comments and thank you for choosing us as your hotel on your vacation, we are very happy to read that are already much better for your health and at the end you had a wonderful experience here at our hotel and we hope to see you soon back, Romario sends you... More 

SF, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pros: The level of service is very high. The staff is very friendly and professional. The grounds are gorgeous. The thermal pools are beautiful and open until 10pm. Cons: The breakfast could have had more options. We did have two dinners at the hotel because we were too tired to leave the hotel and they were surprisingly delicious. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Hello solee. thank you very much for sharing your comments and thank you for choosing us as your hotel on your vacation, we are very happy to read that you had a wonderful experience here at our hotel and hope to see you back soon. thank you very much and blessings. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is like home the staff is wonderful the hotel is beuti full the food is excellent the spa is so wonderful 😊 the staff very professional the attitude all the time is amazing help for any cuestion thank you for hospitality am will bak 😊

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Hello Carlos Z thank you very much for taking your valuable time and share with us your beautiful comments and thank you for visiting our hotel, we are very happy to read you had a nice holiday and that you enjoyed a lot here, also we are glad that you are thinking of returning so we hope to see you... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel truly gave you the arenal volcano experience. The grounds were beautiful with a view of the arenal volcano. The rooms were very clean and eco-friendly. The beds were comfortable and you didn't need to set an alarm. You would wake up early along with nature and the frogs and birds and monkeys. The rooms come with free breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Hello Lori_D_Esq thank you very much for taking your valuable time and share with us your beautiful comments and thank you for visiting our hotel, we are very happy to read you had a nice holiday and that you enjoyed so much here, we also hope to see you soon back here in our hotel, to serve in the best... More 

Bridge City, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We loved this hotel. It was a beautiful place to stay with all of the greenery and flowering plants. The hotel staff was super helpful with all of our questions and helped arrange some extra excursions we wanted to go on. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and we enjoyed the hot springs whirlpool after a full day of activities. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Hello David N thank you very much for sharing with us your beautiful comments and thank you for visiting our hotel, we are very happy to read you had a nice holiday and you think to recommend our hotel to your friends because you enjoyed it a lot here, also we hope to see you soon back here at our... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for the first half of our trip and we loved everything about. The breakfast was delicious and every single person at the resort was so helpful. The location is perfect. you can take a cab to town and local restaurants for about $10.00.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Hello Ninette G thank you very much for sharing with us your beautiful comments and thank you for visiting our hotel, we are very pleased to read that you had a nice holiday and that you enjoyed a lot here, also we hope to see you soon back here at our hotel, to serve for the best possible way. So... More 

Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
161 hotel reviews
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check-in was efficient, free parking with our rental car in front of our cabin. Nice spacious cabin. Full of ants though. Good beds, nice fridge, bad TV reception. Love eco-friendliness, but for the bathroom smell (semi-open-air, very hot in there and toilet paper is thrown in trash instead of toilet; all this created a terrible smell) Hot springs are awesome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Hello Eric1313. thank you very much for visiting our hotel and for your lovely comments, we are happy to read that you had a nice holiday and that you enjoyed our hotel, we will take very seriously your suggestions to improve in every detail that you mentioned, we hope to see you very soon back to serve you in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,500 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1173)
Viewed
Room/suite (257)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (264)
Viewed
Bathroom (63)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (121)
Viewed
View from room (127)
Viewed
Dining (73)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (259)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (280)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Hot Springs (46)
Viewed
Junior Suite (37)
Viewed
Master Suite with Double Queen (31)
Viewed
Master Suite with King (46)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay