We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arenal Volcano Inn

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 6793-1000, Costa Rica
Special Price
15% off room rate
Arenal Volcano Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Roger2101 Vienna, Virginia
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    161
    33
    5
    0
See reviews for
102
226
24
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (498)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (124)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (112)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (120)
All months
Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with a group touring by bus. Were very comfortable in our relaxed ground level room. They accommodated needs for group dining. Enjoyed the pool areas & the very relaxed breakfast. Evening was very nice as we across the road and took photos of the active volcano. A welcome change from the big city high rise hotels. Perfect for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Avimanager, Manager at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor user We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property when you were away from home. It is our pleasure to have the oportunity to host groups and make their experience a memorable one. Hope to have you back in La Fortuna when you’re back in town. Thank you very much for your kind comments. More 

Cancun, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very nice place to stay if you want to visit Tabacon and you have to watch the budget. The grounds are nice, but that is not the attraction... the attraction is that this is a very nice place to spend the night and it is close to Tabacon which is the attraction around here, and it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beek en Donk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We choose this hotel to stay for our 40th wedding-anniversary. It was a great hotel we had a very nice (honeymoon) suit. Perfect view on the volcano. The on-site restaurant was oké, not very special, but fine. The surrounding area, gardens and swimming-pool were kept very well. A little disappointing was the jacuzzi in our suite. I think it's hard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Arenal Volcano Inn while in CR on a couples trip..great place to relax and enjoy views! The onsite restaurant has some of the best grass-fed beef you will ever eat! The views while relaxing in the pool are amazing too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Avimanager, General Manager at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor User, Thanks a lot for your positive review. We are very glad to hear you had a relaxing stay with us and you could enjoy the wonderful views around our property. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. More 

Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We only stayed one night because we were on our way through to somewhere else. The delux room was nice. It had a nice view, although because of rain, we couldn't see the volcano. The grounds are beautiful. The restaurant was good. We had pizza and the breakfast was nice. We thought the staff was very nice and helpful. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We were very impressed with this hotel. The room was very large with high ceilings. The grounds were beautiful. All rooms have views of the volcano. Nice pool and hot tub. Good service and friendly staff. Do not order shrimp pizza, 5 small shrimp on a large pizza.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

We stayed here three nights. The rooms are spacious with newer TVs but still feel like they could use some updating. The bathrooms definitely felt outdated. The rooms were very clean and kept up well. The land that this hotels sits on is beautiful, every morning we woke up and could see the volcano from our rooms. The staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We stayed 2 nights at the Arenal Volcano Inn--the first night in a standard room--which was super small and had no view. We paid to upgrade for the second night and had a much better room with a view. The pool and hot tub were nice. We also had good meals at the on-site restaurant, Que Rico.

Was this review helpful? Yes
montreal
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

If you are lucky, this hotel could have a great view. Beside's that it's a very clean garden and the room are just the right size. The people at reception were very friendly and helpful. We stay there only one night and we appreciate the service and the full breakfast. The restaurant serve a good cuisine. the pool is just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Beautiful spot! Lovely garden's, very clean rooms and pools! Wonderful services especially at the front desk, very attentive staff. Just enough out of town to be a bit isolated but not too much that a quick cab cannot get you back. Cute little trail on the grounds as well. Nice to have security at night as well. Restaurent is good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

576 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (306)
Viewed
View from room (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (72)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (232)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (41)
Viewed
Hot Tub (7)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (22)
Viewed
Standard Room (45)
Viewed
Suite (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question