We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

3.5 of 5 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    266
    146
    47
    41
See reviews for
132
257
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (649)
  • Mar-May only
    (190)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (165)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (196)
All months
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with 6 of my friends (7 people total). It was spacious enough for all of us to hang out at the end of the night before going to sleep- though I would suggest maybe an extra stool or 2 for the common area. No problems with the room except for a few beetle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Layn, We really appreciate your lovely comments, they are very important to our growing. It is an honor to know you enjoyed your vacations in our property, we are going to take your suggestions in our improvements about wifi. We hope all of you will come back to our resort in the near future, it will be a pleasure... More 

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January. Check in was very easy - excellent customer service and you're given a map of the hotel, towel cards etc. We stayed in a superior room which was clean and spacious but the beds weren't overly comfortable. The rooms have a large fridge which we made good use of and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sara, Thanks for all your comments, they are very important to us. It is nice to know you enjoyed and liked our services, we are going to take your experiences in our improvement plan, about the color of the hot springs it is like "yellow" because is a 100% natural water from the volcano, with all the minerals and... More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I recently honeymooned in Costa Rica at the end of December 2014. We were both making plans during our 2 week stay in Costa Rica and he accidentally reserved a room for 2 nights at this hotel when we planned to go in the opposite direction towards Santa Theresa. Within ONE hour of making the reservation, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sheena, Thanks for your comments, they are very important for us. We want to explain you that as part of our policies and conditions that we have in our different media channels, we tried to offer you some options to you get the service buyed by our website, besides you did not accept our proposals. In this case as... More 

West Hills, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the grounds of this hotel are quite beautiful and the cedar wood ceilings are nice, this is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Their service is not friendly nor responsive. The shower floor is quite slippery and would be easy to fall. We arrived with a small amount of water near the toilet and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jeannie, Thanks for your comments, they are very important for us. We want to apologize with you about the inconvenience presented in your stay in our property, we are going to take in touch in our improvement plan. Always we work to offer the best of us, and we are working in it. Best regards of all Arenal Paraiso. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would rate my experience a zero if I could. The room air conditioner leaked all over the floor, and despite several requests, no one repaired the problem. Sheets were dirty and had hairs on the pillows. Pillows were stained. No wifi in the room. The only positive experience was the staff at the front desk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We appreciate all your comments, they are very important for us. We apologize about your experiences, we are going to take in touch all you mention in our improvements plan. Best regards of all of us in Arenal Paraiso Hotel! More 

Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed at this hotel with my family, and was generally disappointing with the quality of room and service. We did enjoy the grounds, which were quite nice, however, there were many negative experiences. These include not having towels in our bathroom upon checking, not having warm water in the shower (was fixed upon multiple requests), phone in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jon, Thanks for share with us you experiences and opinions, we really appreciate them, they are very important to us. It was an honor to have received you in our property, we apologize about the incidents that you have in your stay in our property. We going to take in touch in our improvements. We send you an special... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed over Thanksgiving of 2014, 2 nights only. I'd say it is a good value option in the area. Pluses are the super friendly staff, the great rates, the hot springs, and the overall relaxed vibe. Room was nice, basic but clean, a little dated but acceptable. During our visit, the entire area lost power for a few hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Darian, Thank you very much for letting us your comments and experiences, these are very important to us. We will take into consideration what mentioned plans for implementation of improvements was an honor had received in our hotel. We hope you visit us in the future and to offer the best of our services. A hug from everyone in... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After 5 Days at the Beach in Tamarindo, we decided to switch it up a bit and take it to the Volcano. So glad we did.....however, for our next trip we will start with the Volcano / Rainforest and THEN end up at the Beach before we head back home. We stayed in the Superior Rooms, decent...could be listed as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sheryland, Thanks for share with us you experiences and opinions, we really appreciate them. It was an honor to have received you in our property, and we feel very happy to know that you enjoyed your vacations with tours, activities and treatments at the spa. We hope you come back in a near future to offer all our best.... More 

Thornhill, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for two nights December 22 and 23. We did not like it at all!!!! 1.The pools looked gross- they were a weird colour ( they claim it's the minerals) but we went to two other hot springs and they did not look like this. 2. The sheets on the bed felt like sand paper.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear customer: Thank you for your comments, they are very important to us. We will take into consideration what mentioned plans for implementation of improvements, and request the appropriate apologies and would like to discuss your notes: 1. The color of the pools is really natural, 100% water volcano; Nearby there are waters that are heated, but not natural volcano,... More 

Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came from Rio Celeste and wanted to relax before going back to San Jose... The hotel is beautiful, I really liked our room (superior for 4 people) and it had a really nice front porch, where we saw the volcano when we woke up. It includes breakfast, there are many options like fruits, dif kinds of bread and sides... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear customer: Thank you for your comments, they are very important to us. We will take into consideration what mentioned plans for implementation of improvements, and we request the appropriate apologies. Hope you visit us in the near future, and recommend us to family and friends A warm welcome from everyone in the hotel!!! Note: this answer has been translated... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos

496 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (454)
Viewed
View from room (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (73)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay