We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    293
    162
    50
    43
See reviews for
143
289
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (711)
  • Mar-May only
    (234)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (165)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (214)
All months
San Leandro, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was okay... We did like that the rooms feel private you can park right in front of your room we also had an awesome view of the volcano in our backyard. However, the walls are super thin you can hear everything! The other downside is that we had bat in our room and we had bugs all over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we liked the way the cabins were separated from each other, thus less noise was carried from the neighboring cabins. The rooms were relatively large, but the walls of the cabin were one or two boards of planks and you could see through the slots between the planks specially in closet. This was one of the three hotels where we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Salmer, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience here on tripadvisor. It is good to see that you had a good stay and that our rooms fulfilled your expectations. In all of our rooms, we offer complimentary coffee and the breakfast that is included has a wide selection of options for our clients to choose from;... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We LOVED our 2-bedroom bungalow at the Paraiso. It was perfect since we were traveling with another family. The rooms are large with a common sitting area in between. It has a large fridge, microwave and sink, very convenient if you're traveling with kids. It also has a large front porch that looks directly at the volcano! What a view!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are glad you found the room assigned of your liking. We offer the best mix in view and facilities, and also giving the best service to our guests. We thank you for the recommendations and observations. We will check on those details, since listening to our guests is the best way to improve. More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for two nights for our honeymoon in late March, and really enjoyed our stay. LOCATION: Located a short drive away from La Fortuna town. Has a great view of the volcano. ROOMS: The hotel is essentially three rows of bungalows. We were lucky to have one in the top row, so we had our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rex, Thank you for such detailed review of our services and facilities. We are glad that you had a great stay and that enjoyed of our services and facilities. Regarding the view, even from the lower bungalows the view of the volcano is marvelous. If the clouds are behaving, you will have the best of views. The tours we... More 

Jamesburg, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent 2 nights here with my daughter and we loved it! The view from our cabin was absolutely stunning! Full view of the volcano and lots of wildlife. The cabins are just that cabins. If you're afraid of bugs and geckos, look for another place. There's very little light outside so bring a flashlight or use one on your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Danielle Thank you for rating us here on tripadvisor. We are happy to see that you enjoyed of our facilities and services and also that you could enjoy of the magnificent view of the Arenal Volcano. We are sorry that your experience at our restaurant wasn’t a success, but please know that we will check on this issue. We... More 

Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night only - that was enough. The only saving grace was the abundance of wildlife, birds and the beautiful grounds. The semi-detached bungalows were very poorly constructed - you could EVERYTHING in the adjoining room. The shower room was so small, for anybody over average build it would be very difficult to even get into.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest We are sorry you had some problems during your stay. All of our staff will always try to help you in any way they can, to make your stay better. We offer free transportation on site, our guests only need to call the front desk and ask for this service. Our standard rooms do not have a safe,... More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a couple of nights at this lovely Resort and Spa, and were delighted with everything. Our accommodation, adjacent "houses", was comfortable and had every amenity. Breakfast buffet was excellent, and we had one very good dinner in the restaurant. Made full use of the pool, and the various thermal ones. One member of our group went zip-lining, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Margaret Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us here on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and that all our facilities and services were of your liking. Like we like to say, there is no better way to describe a hotel than with the words of our clients. We thank you again for your... More 

Heredia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent resort...reasonable prices, unique "chalet rooms" in a tropical community type setting, fabulous gardens and tropical vegetation, Quiet and graceful ambience. If you want to recharge your batteries this is the place. Many thermal baths each one beautiful and unique. Great pool and unique wet bar right in the middle of a thermal pool. The food was very good and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Marie Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay and that our facilities and services were of your liking. Whenever your travel plans bring you to the area of La Fortuna, let us know. We will be delighted to serve you. Best regards. More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family stayed here last week, and we also stayed here 7 years ago (along with friends and family) for our wedding. I think for the price, this is a great option. The rooms are clean and good sized. A/C, fridge, and a view of the volcano (if she's cooperating :) ) The tv is small and outdated, but I'm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest We are glad that you and your family had a good stay at our hotel. The heated pools, just like the hot springs, are naturally heated and the color of the water is due to minerals that the water has from its natural ambience. Our restaurant offers a wide selection of dishes and the breakfast, just like you... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here for the weekend. Bed mattresses are old and my back is killing me although the room is very clean and the A/C will freeze you which was great. The food is good but the waiters at lunch need an attitude adjustment. Breakfast buffet was abundant and delicious. The pool was slightly dirty. The bartender at the pool bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Christian Thank you for sharing your opinion of our hotel here on Tripadvisor. We are sorry there were some problems during your stay, but we are glad that putting those problems aside, you had a good stay and could enjoy of our facilities. We take all of our guests’ suggestions seriously and work on them to be able to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

576 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (518)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (116)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (83)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from room (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (175)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question