We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

2,205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,261
    581
    215
    88
    60
See reviews for
455
1,103
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2205)
  • Mar-May only
    (651)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (556)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (379)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (619)
All months
There are newer reviews for Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
See the most recent reviews
Portland, Maine, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

My wife and I decided to go on a romantic get-away and we chose Costa Rica for our five day vacation. We spent three nights at Tabacon and these were the highlight of our trip. We truly enjoyed the beautiful setting, at the foot of the Arenal Volcano. What made Tabacon special was the outstanding service. It was personalized and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

To constantly train our staff members is essential for us because we think that this is the way to assure a perfect and outstanding service. It is very nice to hear that you had a wonderful time staying with us and hopefully we can welcome you again in the near future. More 

Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Just got back from 4 nights at Tabacon. The positives are the beauty of the grounds, the views of Arenal Volcano, the polite staff, and of course the Thermal Spa. But I think you can find those same positives at many other less expensive hotels in the area. Firstly if you want a good night sleep you will not get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your valuable time to write down your comment about your stay with us. It is nice that you enjoyed your treatment in our Grand Spa which is ranked under the Top 10 in Mexico and Central America. More 

US
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The hot springs to Tabacon are wonderful and staying at the hotel certainly makes it convenient. However checking in proved to be tedious. The staff were not particularly helpful, the rooms though large had very poorly lit bathrooms and though we had requested a room with a view our view was totally obstructed. Luckily, the spa itself was picture perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much to post your comment. We are not able to confirm volcano view, because, the Arenal Volcano shows up, when it wants and because we are in a natural reserve, we are not able to cut trees that impede the view naturally. More 

Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed at the Tabacon resort for 2 nights in February 2011. It was easy to find and close enough to La Fortuna to drive into town to eat. We arrived before check in (which is 4). They said that our room would be ready around 1:30. They let us store our luggage and grab our soaking suits. We took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - even more because you have a comparison to other hot springs. Thank you very much for your comments related to our restaurant. For sure I am going to follow these ones up and I will use your feedback for a chance improving in this point. Looking forward... More 

The Villages, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

The hotel itself is just fine once you find your way to the location. Overall I have experienced similar room quality at any resort from Marriott, Hilton, etc. The rooms are very expensive and certainly do not provide the value of the cost. The on premise restaurants are also very expensive - $35 per person for a Mexican buffet /... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the time you took to make your comments, one of the ways an establishment could improve. Hope to have you as a guest in the near future. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We decided to end our five day Costa Rica stay with two nights at Tabacon and after two days of hiking Monteverde it couldn't have been more welcome. This is beautiful property and facility. Guests have unlimited access to the thermal springs (only guests are allowed from 8am-10am.) Dinner at Los Tucanes was a wonderful experience. We were looking forward... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

It is very nice to hear that you had a great dining experience at our restaurant Los Tucanes. The menu is offering a wide choice of dishes al made out of high quality ingredients. Just to mention our Cena Gala Dinner: In a private bungalow, your private server and chef will create an evening of culinary magic with a menu... More 

Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The reviews to date sum up all the major points, so I will try to not be repetitive. We spent three nights at Tabacon. 1) Get a car. Yes, the hotel food is overpriced. We went into town for two meals a day and bought a lot of water, fruit, & beer. The mini-fridge in your room has enough room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the advice about the directions we have on our web site. We are going to verify our description to make it more reliable. In reference of the community fund is totally voluntary as you comment. The idea is that the guest donated 50 % (US$3.00 per night) and the Company gives the other 50 %,... More 

Surrey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Friends who live further south in Costa Rica had stayed here before and booked a weekend break so that we could enjoy the hot springs and surrounding area. From the moment of arrival it felt special and we were not disappointed. Lovely room, friendly service and fantastic facilities. Yes it's expensive but the price includes entrance to the springs so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Our staff is specialized in pampering our clients and we like to continue improving in this matter. I´m glad that you experienced what our brand stands for. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

My girlfriend booked 3 nights at Tabacon for the first leg of our 8 day vacation in Costa Rica. Upon arrival we were immediately greeted with prompt service by the bellman and valet who handled our baggage and rental car while we proceeded to check-in. During the check-in process we were each treated to complimentary mimosas. We originally booked a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

It is very nice to hear that you had a great stay with us. Thank you very much that you have taken time to write such a detailed review of your stay. I hope you fully enjoyed your complete trip to Costa Rica and had lots of memorable moments to take home with you. More 

Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Although pricey we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Tabacon. We loved the flexibility of using the mineral hot springs for our entire stay. Morning soaks before of day of sightseeing and then an evening soak before or after dinner. Our garden room opened onto a private garden oasis where we shared a delicious costa rican breakfast while bird watching.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort is a perfect spot for any kind of celebration and we are specialized in this matter. We offer seven different buildings who have their own view with different experiences and taste. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,843 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1345)
Viewed
View from room (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (315)
Viewed
Room/suite (208)
Viewed
Bathroom (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (115)
Viewed
Family/play areas (21)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (511)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (437)
Viewed
Amenities (196)
Viewed
Honeymoon Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Other (54)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
Senator Suite (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay