We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    557
    204
    85
    58
See reviews for
428
1,054
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2092)
  • Mar-May only
    (580)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (514)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (379)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (619)
All months
There are newer reviews for Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
See the most recent reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

The huge natural spa area was actually used for recording "Garden of Eden" - and for a reason - this is close to heaven and a very special place. Hotel room was nice, but not as fantastic as the spa area. The "best" restaurant in the complex was however a big disappointment - everything average or bad - and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments; that is the way we can improve ourselves. We are luckily blessed with this Mother Nature gift of lovely land surrounded by natural hot sprigs, it truly looks like heaven! We are very sorry for the inconvenience that you had in your meal order. Hope to have you back in the future. More 

Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

This is a fabulous hotel with first class facilities and service, and we enjoyed it. Unlike other reviewers, we experienced very good service at the Tucan restaurant (though we did wish they served some platos tipicales). We were surprised to receive an appetizer and a sorbet course with the meal (!) and the courses came quick enough even for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for spending your vacation time in Costa Rica at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. Since we are part of a protected forest area with nature conservation as one of our main purposes, we are unable to cut trees that block the views from our room buildings. Moreover, regarding the views of the Arenal Volcano there is not much... More 

New Market, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Tabacon was amazing! We booked a standard room and were upgraded to the honeymoon suite upon arrival. What a nice start to our week long Costa Rican adventure! They even had a cake waiting in the room to celebrate our anniversary! The hot springs are amazing as well. The nicest ones in Arenal, hands down! I would definitely recommend Tabacon.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Once again happy anniversary and the best wishes for your new life together, Now you know where to celebrate your future anniversaries, for sure we will make your next stay as romantic and enjoyable as possible. Thank you for choosing Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to celebrate this happy occasion! More 

Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Very nice hotel, the price wasn't bad considering it includes access to the hot springs. The staff was very helpful and nice. The food was great as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

We are grateful for receiving such a pleasant comment from you. Thanks for your time and sharing with us part of your experience at Tabacon Gran Spa Thermal Resort. Hope to have you as a guest in the future. More 

Marble Falls, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Three days before we were to go to the Tabacon Resort Hotel, we were told our granddaughter was put in the hospital on an emergency basis. We called the hotel and told them of the situation and that it was necessary to cancel our 5 day reservation or at least delay it a few days until we found out how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Tabacon Grand Thermal Resort in March. We chose it specifically for the hot springs and because it is a five-star destination resort. It was totally worth it. Since it is not part of worldwide chain like the JW Marriott—which costs about the same—it has its own charm. We thought the entire experience: the accommodations,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

It is nice to hear that you spent for spending with us such a great time. Nothing else can please us more than hearing about our customers’ feedback and great experiences Hope to have you as a guest in a close future! More 

Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We just got married and we chose Costa Rica for our honeymoon. The honeymoon was a wedding gift and we went first-class all the way. We visited several regions of Costa Rica, and we stayed at the Marriott Los Suenos, the Intercontinental in San Jose and at Tabacon Grand Resort. It was five-star trip all the way. Out of all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Congratulations on your marriage! Thank you for choosing our country and Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort for this special celebration. We sincerely wish you the best for every minute of your lifes together. Hope to have you as a guest in your next anniversaries. More 

Largo, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Tabacon welcomes you with open arms and a welcome drink at check in. The gentlemen who greeted us remembered our names the entire stay. I had a hurt knee and could not walk to the springs and they were happy to call us a ride ( which is available to all guests for free) even more than once a day!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you had a magnificent time during your stay. Comments like yours encourage us to always keep on giving our best in order to make our customers experience a dream come true. It will be wonderful to have you back in the future! More 

San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Staying at Tabacon is definitely worth it, but ONLY for the minimum of 2 days. Pro's: 1. The hotel grounds are beautiful. 2. The rooms are extremely nice and comfortable. 3. The hot springs are spectacular. Con's: My biggest complaint is that I felt the hotel staff was cold and not very helpful. My guess is they don't pay their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort is always concern about our customers’ safety that is why we suggest choosing the transportation and tour options provided at the Hotel. Thank you for your comment, with this type of feedback about our staff we can definitely improve. Hope to have as a guest in the future! More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We travel a lot and have stayed in a wide range of hotels from basic to grand. Tabacon was a nice hotel but lacked any "wow" factor. The restaurant setting is lovely, but they should change their menu to good quality local fare instead of trying to be an upscale restaurant. The prices just don't match the food quality and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your time and comments. We deeply appreciate your suggestions. Hope to have the you in the future More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,810 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1272)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (293)
Viewed
Room/suite (199)
Viewed
Family/play areas (21)
Viewed
View from room (61)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (108)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (486)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (437)
Viewed
Amenities (196)
Viewed
Honeymoon Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Other (54)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
Senator Suite (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question