We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

1 km South from The School of Z-13 | Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    30
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

You never know when you arrive to destination if it's going to be nice or if you'll be disappointed, even after reading positive reviews. La Catarata Ecolodge exceeded our expectation: the garden is beautiful manicured, the swimming pool is very nice -a bit too cold for me but the kids loved it-, the bedroom is simple but comfy, bathroom could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

After a long drive and arriving just after some heavy showers, it was a real pleasure to arrive at such a beautiful location. The garden with all its different plants and flowers really is a treat to the eyes. The rooms are basic, but clean and have a pretty comfortable bed. The open communal area with a, sort of, self-service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for tow nights while exploring the arenal volcano area, the hotel is well located, near La Fortuna and close to the catarata La Fortuna. Breakfast was simple but tasty, staff were really friendly and helpfull. The room was pretty basic but nice and clean. Swimming pool is well located. The gardens are nice and you can see lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at another eco lodge 5 minute walk from Catarata as ours didn't have a bar or serve drinks. We wished we had chosen to stay here as there is a lovely sitting and dining area overlooking the beautifully maintained gardens. There seemed to be a lot of birds of all sorts visiting the gardens whereas we didn't see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review

Hey guys!!!! Thanks so much by make this review!!! we always like to bring a great service, no matter if your are or not in our Lodge!!! we are so happy that you were happy, and hope you come back some day!!! best wishes for you!!! and thanks for keep recommending us to all!!! More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I read that Eco Lodge is just another Name for b&b (or excuse for low quality). This is a very simple b@b, but with a very nice garden, and with a pool. You don't have a view. Not recommended without car. Rooms are ok but very basic. Breakfast is good, staff nice. You just Need to know what to expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review

Hello dear George!!! Thanks for your review!!! As you know we offer good prices to people, as we are an Eco Lodge, we work in sustainability together with the environment!!! we have very standard rooms, without TV and AC to give a more natural stay!!! The volcano is always in from of you, but the forest is always growing up... More 

Costa Rica
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while taking birding tours around the zone. The staff was always nice and willing to help, even when we requested a couple of additional towels since we were leaving at 4:30am one of the days. My wife took breakfast once and it was good as well. We didn't get the chance to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review

Thanks For your review!!! will be always trying to bring a great service, Thanks and we hope you come back and enjoy the pool and more!!! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

So this place is nothing special... The staff is friendly and the cabins are legit, and we appreciated the gardens and pool... But it was lacking on the little things- internet doesn't work on rooms and there's no ac or tv in rooms... This being stleast we didn't feel as though it was a rip off... Just it could have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por su critica, lamentamos que su estadía no haya sido de lo mejor, queremos destacar y corregir, que nuestro... More 

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Catarata Eco-Lodge is located a ways outside the tourist town of La Fortuna (an $8 cab ride) and since we didn't have a car, I was a little concerned, but really wanted NOT to be in the town. I also knew we would be within walking distance of several of the attractions I was interested in--the Cerro Chato hike, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review

Hey dear!!!! amazing thanks for your review!!! we always like to give you and to all the best what we can do!!! have a great day!! thanks so much!! More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were looking for a quiet place which was not so close to main road. This perfectly fitted! It was quiet, clean and with hammocks in front of the door to cool out and watch some humming birds. The breakfast was included and really good. We also got a lot of help from the reception, especially from Jessica. From the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review

Thanks For your review!!! Jessica will be happy by this, and to all clients!! Our wish is that you enjoy at max here!!! thanks!!! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I took a group of college students here on a study abroad trip when visiting the Arenal Volcano and waterfall. This is our second year staying at this location, and it is one of my favorites, mostly because it offers just what we need. The food is great, and most students reported that it is their favorite food of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review

Thanks for this review!!! our food is made with LOVE that's our secret!!! so all customers if you want to know if she say the truth!!! :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay