We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Choza Inn

Side northwest of the Park 300 meters West, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park ., Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
La Choza Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    38
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
3
25
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I really enjoyed this quiet hostel located just off the main strip. It was quiet and the people working there were very nice. I booked a few trips through them and had a great experience. I did the Arenal hike and the Cerro Chato hike with a dip in the waterfall. I recommend both hikes, but Cerro Chato is steep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Znojmo, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some struggles to find this place because people confuse the hostel with a restaurant which has same name. The staff is helpful, it is a secure place and dorm rooms have a bathroom with warm water (not always!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn, responded to this review

thank you very much for the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. I am glad to let you know warm water issues in the bath rooms dorms have been fixed, we have also correct other minor issues we hope to see you back again More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

The room was clean and comfortable, but the staff was rude and didn't want to help us when we had a problem, saying to us "it's not my problem", all we asked for is to have our breakfast (that we paid for) in takeaway because we had to leave early in the morning

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn, responded to this review

hello we are sorry you did have all this issues, breakfast is from 7 to 9 however if you require an early breakfast we can do it 6:30 not earlier than that, we apologize for any misunderstanding with you and our staff More 

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

We stayed here for three nights. We had a private room with bathroom. The beds were probably the best part of the room, they were incredibly comfortable! The room was clean and good. They also have laundry service, continental breakfast included and helpfull staff. We enjoyed our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn, responded to this review

we are glad you have such a good time while staying with us, we want also let you know we have changed some of the mattress and we have also correct some issued we had in the past with the hot water thank you for your visit More 

Zutphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

The hostel is okey, about average for Costa Rica, not too expensive with good dorms and a communiral kitchen/eating place where you can hang out and watch some TV. The breakfast though was definentely not avarage. This was without a doubt the most delicious, biggest and best breakfast I've ever had during my trip in Costa Rica. Unlimited scrambled eggs,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel S, Manager at La Choza Inn, responded to this review

thank you for your review, we are glad to know our enjoy your time with us, we are well know for the breakfast we have, I dont want to brag about it, but they say is the best in town, as we offer buffet breakfast to our guest More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

The staff was pleasant and they had a great breakfast from any hostel I stayed at. The location was tucked away and it was so peaceful. And they provided towels at no charge. My friend and I really appreciated the fact that they put us in another dorm rather than stuffing as many guest into one dorm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Great value for 9$. I was a bit worried because of the many bad reviews. I don't really understand. This place was cheap and OK. Not perfect, but more than OK. I liked that the dorm only had 6 beds. The ensuite bathroom was nice and the water hot. Breakfast was buffet style, lots of eggs and fruits. No one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Every place you stay is all about expectations... and remembering what price you paid. My friend and I paid like 10$ and stayed in a 6 person dorm room. The only negative things I remember a few months after our trip now were that the mattresses were very thin and you could feel the boards of the bed. Also, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

10$ for a dorm and a decent breakfast. Don't expect much the beds are not very comfy, we were 2 in a dorm of 5 so we were ok. Don't book anything via the hotel it will be cheaper elsewhere. The staff is nice though, good option if budget primes over quality. It's also clean

Was this review helpful? Yes
Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

After staying two nights in the dorm rooms at La Choza Inn, I was ready to leave. The website said that the dorms had towels provided, but when we got there they told us they were not included, however they were for all of the other rooms. They also did not provide any hand soap for the bathrooms. We immediately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#27 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Arenal Green
Hotel Arenal Green
#17 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay