We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dos Palmas Country Inn La Garita

Certificate of Excellence
Lagos del Coyol | La Garita, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Dos Palmas Country Inn La Garita
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Melsele, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

After what seemed to be an endless flight from Brussels to San José (with a mini snowstorm in Newark causing extra hours of delay) it felt good to be welcomed by Peter and his staff in this secluded oasis where drinks by the pool were about the only activity our travel group could still embark upon... Only a 15 minutes'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

After a long flight from Europe, we were met by the hotel's driver and brought to this delightful, quiet hotel where we "chilled out" for 36 hours. Our room was large and airy, there was a swimming pool right outside our door, set in a lovely garden. Breakfast was simple but tasty - fresh fruit etc. Peter, Floor and their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We enjoyed the stay and Peter and family were very helpful. We stayed here on both ends of our travel to a remote part of Costa Rica. It may not have been optimal for us in that we arrived very late on our entry into Costa Rica, and when we left, we had to depart extremely early. Travel was arranged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baarn, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We started and ended our holiday at Dos Palmas. It is very convenient, as owner Peter and support staff (Nathalie, Anna) are very knowledgeable on Costa Rica and are doing their utmost to help you out. We arranged our rented car via Peter (Thrifty) and were also happy with Thrifty's service. The rooms themselves are clean and spacious. The pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willemstad, Curacao
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Dos Palmas is the ideal place to start and end your Costa Rica journey. Very close to the airport but away from city hassle. So you'll directly enjoy the Costa Rican pura vida. From here you can visit San Jose or drive up to Poas volcan. A nice daytrip. The rooms are clean with good beds. There is a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Schiedam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice place just 15 minutes from the airport on the other side of crowded San José. Very friendly and helpful people. The rooms are comfortabele and clean. Peter helped us to rent a car with Thrifty, which was brought to and collected from Dos Palmas avoiding the airport hassle. Good service! They also arrange airport transport for a reasonable price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wijchen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Dos Palmas Country Inn is a lovely and quiet place to stay just 15 min from the airport. The owners are very kind and helpful with a great sence of hospitality. The personal is really nice, the superior rooms are really big and clean. The garden is beautiful and the pool is a welcome refreshment. If you don't want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were very happy about the fact that Peter picked us up from the airport and arranged our transport back to the airport. Peter is a nice guy, who lives at the property, what made us feel save. The area of this Inn was very quiet and not very touristic. We liked that about it, because we were looking for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have stayed at Dos Palmas La Garita a few times on our way south to our home that we are building in the SOZO. We find that the flights we take OR arrive in SJO are either early in the morning OR mid-late afternoon making Dos Palmas an ideal stopover point. The rooms are clean and affordable, the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The owner (Peter) is a lovely happy Dutch guy and makes your stay pleasant. Unfortunately staff isn't very helpful knowing what to do in the area, which busses to take et cetera. It's far away from everything, without a car is not a great place to stay. Staff get's local breakfast (Gallo Pinto) while guest gets toast with peanutbutter?? Furtunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter H, Owner at Dos Palmas Country Inn La Garita, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your compliments about me, it is really appreciated. Concerning our breakfast we would like to clear something up, we have chosen to offer to our guest an international buffet breakfast (eggs, ham, cream cheese, jelly, peanut butter, brown and white bread and cereal), the reason is because not everybody is used or know... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities