We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
No.1729 Huang Xing Road, Shanghai 200433, China
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

This hotel was part of a package with our tour company. Everything I would rate as average. Problems we encountered were: daily poor maid services (room looked good when we first arrived) then maid's duties seemed to decline each day. All Towels were not replaced that needed to be replaced, Glasses were not replaced with clean ones. Trash receptacles were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peggy G
mao j, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. Also we will make more efforts in house keeping works. All those problems you have mentioned will be looked into.We do hope... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

have stayed here before, good location for me to see friends comfortable room, good bed, good sleep. five min walk to metro subway.. easy to get into the CBD.. ie Nanjing Rd, The Bund. nearby are many shops, restaurants , Chinese breakfast included.... chinese 'jook' ie porridge, also noodles, steamed buns, egg, vegetable etc.. Dining room also open at lunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank dave w
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

I was there only for a night stay and was comfortable in the room. Had a good sleep, the room and the toilets were clean, breakfast manageable. The only concern was the language as I could not speak any thing else but English. However managed the same too. My work was nearby hence the location was fine too. While coming... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunilminocha
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 via mobile

Hotel is in very bad state. AC not working properly Seepage in the room Very dirty rooms Breakfast buffet- same menu every day, not much options to eat, live counter always messed up. Overall very bad experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rajat G
mao j, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your review of our hotel, we apologized for the bad feelings we brought to you during this stay. You feedback is very important to us. We already arranged our engineers to test our facilities, if there is anything wrong during your stay please don't hesitate to contact our front desk, we will try... More 

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was dirty! Black mold in the bathroom. A/c barely working. No wifi in room! I have stayed in other hie properties in Shanghai, and this was by far the worst I have ever stayed. All reviews about the cleanliness and disappointing breakfast are true. I wish I would have checked the reviews more closely before I booked. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank matthijs1234
mao j, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. More 

Middle East
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

The location is far away from the busy city center, the wifi is bad as it will not reach the room, you only get it if you sit at the reception area.. Rooms are small, and they don't have laundry service, you have to do it yourself.. The breakfast was bad, I had butter and bread. Thanks God I only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Aya294
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

This is by far the dirtiest Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in, though it's not bad compared to other hotels in China. The bathroom had mold and mildew everywhere, and a dozen flies flew out of the air vents every time we took a shower. The room looked like it had not been cleaned, ever. The carpet had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank cibumcupio4
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

The reason that we choose this hotel is its location is close to our relatives home... Pros: Quite cheap Free breakfast Free wifi in room Comfortable bed and pillow (holiday inn standard) Fast lift Cons: No concierge No refrigerator The room is shabby and a bit dirty (not as clean as the holiday inn) There's some mold in the bathroom... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Purplerainy09
mao j, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are always seeking feedback from our guests to understand what they value and what can be improved, so we are grateful for your comments and our problem will be improved in the coming months. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our services. We take our guest comments very seriously and... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Stayed here 2 months for a business trip and it's been ok so far. The breakfast is definitely boring, it's same toast and butter with coffee for me day in and day out. The rest of the buffet is mainly oriental with congee, steamed/fried dimsum and vegetable fried rice - not the type of food that i'd love to eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank thea8432
mao j, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our services. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.Thank you... More 

Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean and simple. There are some convenient shops and other shops within walking distance. Sound proof is no good. The breakfast in this hotel is the worst I ever have. I will prefer some cup noodles instead of the breakfast in the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank OoiFK
mao j, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review. We are very sorry that you experienced inconvenience due to our service. And most guests responded favorably regarding our breakfast, and we are sorry it did not meet your expectation. And your comments about the guards were absent has been documented and will certainly be looked into. Meanwhile, we will also... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Ramada Hotel Shanghai Wujiaochang
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai
Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai
#222 of 4,068 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai
Caoyang / Zhenru
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinsha
Jinqiao
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay