We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
No.1729 Huang Xing Road, Shanghai 200433, China
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    66
    41
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
13
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel is in very bad state. AC not working properly Seepage in the room Very dirty rooms Breakfast buffet- same menu every day, not much options to eat, live counter always messed up. Overall very bad experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mao j, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your review of our hotel, we apologized for the bad feelings we brought to you during this stay. You feedback is very important to us. We already arranged our engineers to test our facilities, if there is anything wrong during your stay please don't hesitate to contact our front desk, we will try... More 

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

The hotel was dirty! Black mold in the bathroom. A/c barely working. No wifi in room! I have stayed in other hie properties in Shanghai, and this was by far the worst I have ever stayed. All reviews about the cleanliness and disappointing breakfast are true. I wish I would have checked the reviews more closely before I booked. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mao j, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. More 

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Middle East
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

The location is far away from the busy city center, the wifi is bad as it will not reach the room, you only get it if you sit at the reception area.. Rooms are small, and they don't have laundry service, you have to do it yourself.. The breakfast was bad, I had butter and bread. Thanks God I only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

This is by far the dirtiest Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in, though it's not bad compared to other hotels in China. The bathroom had mold and mildew everywhere, and a dozen flies flew out of the air vents every time we took a shower. The room looked like it had not been cleaned, ever. The carpet had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

The reason that we choose this hotel is its location is close to our relatives home... Pros: Quite cheap Free breakfast Free wifi in room Comfortable bed and pillow (holiday inn standard) Fast lift Cons: No concierge No refrigerator The room is shabby and a bit dirty (not as clean as the holiday inn) There's some mold in the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mao j, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are always seeking feedback from our guests to understand what they value and what can be improved, so we are grateful for your comments and our problem will be improved in the coming months. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our services. We take our guest comments very seriously and... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Stayed here 2 months for a business trip and it's been ok so far. The breakfast is definitely boring, it's same toast and butter with coffee for me day in and day out. The rest of the buffet is mainly oriental with congee, steamed/fried dimsum and vegetable fried rice - not the type of food that i'd love to eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mao j, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our services. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.Thank you... More 

Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The hotel is clean and simple. There are some convenient shops and other shops within walking distance. Sound proof is no good. The breakfast in this hotel is the worst I ever have. I will prefer some cup noodles instead of the breakfast in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mao j, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review. We are very sorry that you experienced inconvenience due to our service. And most guests responded favorably regarding our breakfast, and we are sorry it did not meet your expectation. And your comments about the guards were absent has been documented and will certainly be looked into. Meanwhile, we will also... More 

Mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Cold Staff to Welcome Cold Breakfast to Eat Uncomfortable Beds I've stayed at several Holiday Inn Express Hotels over the past years & haven't had a reason to complain. But this time... I surely wont go back here....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Good and clean Hotel. Very comfortable for trips to Fudan University or surrounding. Not centric at all with regards to Shanghai center, but taxi rides are cheap. Recommendable for short trips, where the Hotel room is used to sleep. WiFi was unstable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pune
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang was about 40 km from Shanghai Pudong International Airport. It was booked by my client in China. I had to spend a night only hence it was not a bad choice. For a common Indian food is the biggest problem in China. As we reached by 10 pm nothing was available in the hotel so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Ramada Hotel Shanghai Wujiaochang
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai South Railway Station
L'otel
L'otel
#108 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Jinqiao
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#207 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay