We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

URBN Hotel Shanghai

4.0 of 5 No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Hotel website
Announcement
REOPEN WITH A NEW LOOK
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
URBN Hotel Shanghai
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
URBN Hotel Shanghai
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    92
    20
    9
    13
See reviews for
19
114
55
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (374)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Nanjing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were shuffled off into a 'cheap' room that had no hot water in the sink, and a 10 minute wait for hot water in the shower. We couldn't sleep due to the strong smell of cigarettes ?! We paid over 200. USD for this stay. The manager was very nice and apologized, but no help was given.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong Region, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good service, cozy rooms very nice design.. just need to improve the restaurant ambiance... plus add more breakfast options..i will definitely consider to go back to this hotel on my next visit in shanghai.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear marvie_061482: Thank you so much for your feedback. We take our guest stay experience very seriously, and as such, we are exploring ways in which we can offer our guests more from which to select at breakfast other than our buffet and a la carte menu. I thank you for sharing with us your positive experience with our service... More 

Shenyang
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

URBN is hotel that can be recommended, if it was not just because the breakfast was very poor and a kitchen that does not know what they're doing. This makes I will consider it carefully before I will use URBN again or recommend it to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Jan: Thank you very much for taking the time to share some feedback of your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the restaurant was not to your liking, but I am glad to hear that you would recommend and liked the hotel otherwise. I will be sure to share your feedback about the breakfast selection with... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel with the perfect location to eveywhere you need to go. The staff are very friendly and good and always helped with answering my questions. The design of the lobby, room and hallways is fantastic nothing like I have ever seen before but the artwork in the room is not really my style.

Was this review helpful? Yes
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear 589lk: Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt our staff were friendly and helpful. We really pride ourselves in being able to ensure that our guests are assisted in any way possible, whether it be through offering food and beverage recommendations, making tour arrangements, car service reservations,... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Except the poor internet quality, I can only recommend this place: very nice rooms, friendly staff, good location and not too business type. Also there is a massage place just next door and good shopping possibilities around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear KraPix: Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay! Though I do apologize for your experience with the internet, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are installing another internet line shortly, and that will significantly improve the speed of our WIFI connection. I hope you will... More 

Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is located in the center of the city. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is nice. The room is big and luxury. Good place to stay. You can reach a lot of attraction within a walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Tom: Thank you so much for your generous review! I was pleased to hear you felt our staff were friendly and helpful, and that our hotel has a convenient location. We are, indeed, very lucky to be in such close proximity to all that Shanghai has to offer! I hope you will think of us again should you return... More 

Bodelshausen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

everything very cool and nice. Only Wifi quality was extremely poor and almost impossible to work with. Additionally restaurant = beer garden is a bit poor for such a location, closing time at 10:00 pm also pretty early as no way to have a drink after this time

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Thomas: Thank you! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for your experience using the WIFI, however. We are installing another internet line to combat the heavy traffic resulting from high occupancy in the hotel and in the restaurant. I am confident you will see a marked difference should you return to the hotel... More 

Shanghai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the hotel has a very good design, meanwhile the location is good. My friend and I much like the hotel. I think it is one of the best hotels making use of the old buildings and old materials in the world.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear sshen2014, Thank you very much for your kind feedback! I do, indeed, feel very fortunate to work in such a beautifully designed hotel that has such an important cause at the forefront of its operations. Our building, being over 100 years old, offers us and our guests such a unique opportunity to see the beauty in old Shanghai, and... More 

Hong kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I set the temperature to be 23 , it became 28 oC , but I was too tired .. I realized until the morning . I was totally sweated. I asked the stuff the next day, she said the air con was off as almost winter, well... Guess the set the central temperature wrong or the system had problem .... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Cheng: Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. We do our best to accommodate the individual comfort levels of all our guests, and I am very sorry that you felt your room to be too hot. I am happy, however, to hear that you felt the hotel, overall, was to your liking! We will... More 

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I've stayed at Urbn before and it was an incredible experience. It's still good but not like it used to be unfortunately. Rooms still excellent but revamp destroyed ambience, deco, and quality of restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Clack: Thank you very much for letting us know about your return visit to the hotel. I am very happy that you had had a pleasant experience with us. I'm sorry to hear, however, that the recent renovation of the hotel was not to your liking. While most of our renovation work was to update non-decor related items... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to URBN Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URBN Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — URBN Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your URBN Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#59 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#59 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#298 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai

202 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (179)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay