We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao

Hotel website
No.369 Xianxia Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China
Special Offer
15% OFF, FREE Breakfast
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    246
    77
    24
    11
See reviews for
23
27
45
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (491)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (132)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Good location in the Hongqiao area and much cheaper than other western brand hotels in the area with a decent buffet breakfast. However, the beds are very hard, there is no addition power point at or near the desk to plug in a laptop charger and the lamp must remain plugged in the only power point as the room is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dominique t, Guest Relation Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear dk72014, May I begin by thanking you for your review. Your invaluable comments are very important to us as they allow us to maintain the high standards of quality, service and comfort. For your next stay in our hotel, please inform us to provide you a plugin extension or you can communicate your personal information to me by email... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Good hotel for a business trip, got a nice rooms, kind of small apartment. Housekeeping is excellent. And staff are friendly. BAF buffet is good, with a good choice and fresh. Good value for money… The only thing is when you arrive at night, the sign on the street is impossible to see, took us a little time to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dominique t, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear Philippe A, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback. Your comments inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. Dominique, Guest Experience Manager 宾客体验经理( qam@grandmercure-hongqiao-shanghai.com) More 

Paris, France
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

In spite of its grand size, the service in this hotel can be quite personal. It is an oasis for western travelers, most staff will speak english, and will help you get around the city. The rooms are huge and comfortable, and the abundant breakfast offers both western and chinese fares. Well located near the business areas, although a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dominique t, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear Marc_An_13, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback. Your comments inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. Dominique, Guest Experience Manager 宾客体验经理( qam@grandmercure-hongqiao-shanghai.com) More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Chinese international hotels are generally pretty good, as was this. Big rooms, interesting brekkie (if a little rough in places) etc. They failed in how they responded to my team requirements; I represented a pretty good customer, bringing a large team (6ppl) for a few nights - as a valued customer, I asked where we could work collaboratively, and rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dominique t, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear hsoj_KZK, May I begin by thanking you for your review. We offer our sincerest apology that our organization was unable to meet your expectations. May I politely inform you that it is true that we only provide meeting rooms with charge. Moreover, our Bar has a non smoking area as well. I deeply regret that our staff could not... More 

Caxias Do Sul, RS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

This is a nice hotel, clean, good breakfast with oriental and ocidental options. Receptionists and employees in general are given right attention to guests. In the lobby has a bar with live music in the evenings. Good value per price!

Was this review helpful? Yes
dominique t, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear Paulo G, All of us at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao would like to offer our sincere thanks for your delightful review. We’re concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again Dominique, qam@grandmercure-hongqiao-shanghai.com More 

Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

come back to Grand Mercure on December for leasure with my family. hotel is still very good, i highly recommand it to any foreigner in Shanghai. Have good service and staff speak english and french very helpfull to get informations regarding Shanghai.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pifu7, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy L. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback and your fidelity at staying in Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao when you are travelling in Shanghai. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. Dominique Trang qam@grandmercure-hongqiao-shanghai.com More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Great hotel. Room came with washer and kitchenette. Really clean room and great service. Gym was small but had the necessary equipment. Breakfast buffet had a great selection. Close to restaurants and convenient to local businesses, however will need to take a taxi to get into the heart of the city. Will definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmhongqiao, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

I did a business trip to Shanghai and I choosed the Grand Mercure Hongqiao as it is well located and as it is a good place to organize seminars. The staff was really helpful because Mrs. Hemery Margo answered all my questions. I Will definitely go back to this hotel for my next trip to Shanghai.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmhongqiao, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We wish to welcome you again in the near future! More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

A bit old. Room comes with kitchen and washing machine. Recently toilet upgraded with washlet. Air con is a bit noisy. Location of hotel is good. Many restaurants and convenience store nearby. Breakfast is a bit boring. Variety limited.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmhongqiao, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We wish to welcome you again in the near future! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question