We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao

Hotel website
No.369 Xianxia Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China
Special Offer
15% OFF, FREE Breakfast
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Add Photo Write a Review

511 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    137
    255
    82
    25
    12
See reviews for
23
30
47
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (511)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (128)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (132)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel twice in one week, sandwiched between a 6 day visit to a remote shipyard on Zhoushan Liuheng Island. Whilst somewhat worn furniture in the rooms, the hotel was clean and staff friendly enough. There is a Western style buffet breakfast with a good selection. Stay away from the bar, prices for a draft beer are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dominique t, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear hammeredwire, May I begin by thanking you for your review and we hope you enjoy your stay on Zhoushan Liuheng Island. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the room, we are glad to inform you that we plan to renovate our rooms with a new and modern design. As for the bar, in order to get... More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed here for a 3 night break over a weekend, very good location, quiet, very comfy room bed and pillows, nice bathroom, good choices for breakfast and very helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again, highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
dominique t, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear PatrickW671, We were thrilled to read your four-star review of our hotel. Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.... More 

Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been here for a few days with my friends and this hotel is gorgeous. my room was clean, no hint of dust and soundproof! the shower was also great. the staff was very welcoming and always here to offer their service. I truly recomand this hotel if you're staying in Shanghai!

Was this review helpful? Yes
dominique t, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear Julien T. All of us at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao would like to offer our sincere thanks for your delightful review. Your comments inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again. Dominique Guest Experience Manager qam@grandmercure-hongqiao-shanghai.com More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

The staff doesn't speak English. The rooms are old, the hotel is like a 3 star. Breakfast very Chinese and of poor quality. The concierge is not professional. The bill was not clear. Wi-fi very slow. Can not use PC and phone. I will not ever again in this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
dominique t, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear Mara M, May I begin by thanking you for your review. We offer our sincerest apology that our organization was unable to meet your expectations. The experience you described causes us deep concern. It does not represent the quality of service we strive for at our hotel I can assure you that most of our staff speak English. We... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

I stayed at the Grand Mecure for just over a week on business travel. My stay was definitely a mixed experience, and the hotel definitely has some room for improvement. Upon reaching my room, the window was open and letting in the smog from the outside - and there was no way to close it on your own! I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dominique t, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear RobotsRock, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback. It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with some of our service and facilities. We have evaluated our staffing procedures at the front desk, and have taken steps to ensure an efficient communication regarding our rooms policies. For Wifi, our internet debit is... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Good location in the Hongqiao area and much cheaper than other western brand hotels in the area with a decent buffet breakfast. However, the beds are very hard, there is no addition power point at or near the desk to plug in a laptop charger and the lamp must remain plugged in the only power point as the room is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dominique t, Guest Relation Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear dk72014, May I begin by thanking you for your review. Your invaluable comments are very important to us as they allow us to maintain the high standards of quality, service and comfort. For your next stay in our hotel, please inform us to provide you a plugin extension or you can communicate your personal information to me by email... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Good hotel for a business trip, got a nice rooms, kind of small apartment. Housekeeping is excellent. And staff are friendly. BAF buffet is good, with a good choice and fresh. Good value for money… The only thing is when you arrive at night, the sign on the street is impossible to see, took us a little time to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dominique t, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear Philippe A, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback. Your comments inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. Dominique, Guest Experience Manager 宾客体验经理( qam@grandmercure-hongqiao-shanghai.com) More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

In spite of its grand size, the service in this hotel can be quite personal. It is an oasis for western travelers, most staff will speak english, and will help you get around the city. The rooms are huge and comfortable, and the abundant breakfast offers both western and chinese fares. Well located near the business areas, although a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dominique t, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear Marc_An_13, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback. Your comments inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. Dominique, Guest Experience Manager 宾客体验经理( qam@grandmercure-hongqiao-shanghai.com) More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Chinese international hotels are generally pretty good, as was this. Big rooms, interesting brekkie (if a little rough in places) etc. They failed in how they responded to my team requirements; I represented a pretty good customer, bringing a large team (6ppl) for a few nights - as a valued customer, I asked where we could work collaboratively, and rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dominique t, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review

Dear hsoj_KZK, May I begin by thanking you for your review. We offer our sincerest apology that our organization was unable to meet your expectations. May I politely inform you that it is true that we only provide meeting rooms with charge. Moreover, our Bar has a non smoking area as well. I deeply regret that our staff could not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay