We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai

No.555 Xinyuan South Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201306, China
Hotel amenities
Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #283 of 3,970 Hotels in Shanghai
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Esben W
Rate this Hotel

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean , modern , comfortable .. I was stationed in Lingang for 3 weeks on business. HoJo is a great hotel , with 2 restaurants, free wifi , free fitness , the rooms are fine , the bath-room is exelent.. Only thing is location , one hour taxa transit to Downtown Shanghai , but the staff was very friendlt and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nomad
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Overall Far from city but convenient for business meetings within the industrial park. Service - Good. Was put up in a smoking room instead but there was no smokey smell after the staff "treated" the room. So that great for me. Location - ~40mins at <RMB200/way via taxi from airport. Directions/addresses of hotel should be given only in Mandarin to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Having stayed twice this year in this decent hotel, the only problem with this place is it's location, stuck in the middle of an industrial estate area with no other places of interest to visit nearby. 90 minutes ish from downtown Shanghai which is well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review

In name of the entire hotel team, I would like to thank you for your kind comment regarding your most recent stay with us. I wish to welcome you back in the near future. More 

Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Nice hotel but too far away from Shanghai city center. Convenient to visit Shanghai Ocean University. Services are fine, good two restaurants, one chinese the other ocidental type. Very good breakfast. Friendly staff. Very nice that they suggest jogging ways. Very qiet place. The only disadvantage is that it is too far away from Shanghai city centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review

Your detailed and vey professional review is a great encouragement to our team. And we are glad to hear you like our jogging route. We look forward to having you back with us soon ! More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here in May, the rooms and facilities are amazing with two good restaurants inside the hotel. The bathroom in the room was fantastic, the wifi was free and the hotel is well appointed. I would have no hesitation staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review

Thank you for your inspiring feedback.I will share your comment with hotel team and ensure that we continue to work hard in order to make each guest’s stay memorable. More 

Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel is very good, nice and spacious rooms, very clean, wifi ok., breakast good, continental or chinese warm dishes. People are very friendly, english no problem. Don´t forget to organize the taxi to airport the evening before at front desk, because there is no taxi available if you like to start early in the morning. In the hotel you have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued comments and your high recommandation to business people. I will share the comments with the team and ensure that we continue to work hard in order to make each guest's stay memorable. And I am sure the location problem would be solved as Lingang's fast development. More 

Penang
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Service is poor not only the room cleaning but also at the restaurant. The toilet is not well clean & stain can still be found the next day. The room is not well kept the next day. Left over food not clean. As at the restaurant, you hardly get a waiter/waitress to attend to your needs/order. Most of the time,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced in our hotel. We will take follow up actions to avoid same case. And also we hope that we have a chance to renew your confidence in us. More 

Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is remote from downtown Shanghai, however it is convenient for anyone carrying out business in Lingang. No close restaurants therefore have to rely on what is in hotel..... a good Chinese restaurant and a main restaurant [Doris] serving international dishes, very few patrons and slow service in the main restaurant, however the food is OK and the buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you had a nice stay here. And we will keep working to improve our service to make guests comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai! More 

Rockville
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is far removed from downtown Shanghai - perhaps an hour drive away. It is right near a major university and just before a bridge to a very large port. This is one of the newer parts of Shanghai, but it is really rather isolated. While there are a few surrounding buildings, there is nothing of note. So, staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued comments. We appreciate you would like to share your experience with us. We are glad that you loved our foods and also I am sorry that some of room amenities were not up your expectation. Your comments will be transmitted to our whole team to improving the service. Looking forward to seeing you again! More 

Bozeman, MT
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

One thing that you need to have in mind is that Lingang is a new city being developed. The location of this hotel is in the middle of nowhere, no close restaurants, etc. The hotel is OK, the staff is mixed, some are nice and some are kind of rude. I'm rating three stars to the hotel because when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and let us know the problem you met when you stayed here. I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced in our hotel. We will take follow up actions to avoid same case. Whenever you plan to visit Lingang, we appreciate if you can let me know and I may assist your accommodation. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question