We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pacific Hotel

No.108 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Hotel amenities
Pacific Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #396 of 3,971 Hotels in Shanghai
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014
Pat T Canberra, Australia
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    115
    89
    17
    12
See reviews for
21
24
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I travel regularly to Shanghai and the hotel I normally stay is was closed on my last visit so I choose the Pacific Hotel. I would never go back there. The room was fine, not nice but fine, everything was tired and dated. The breakfast was awful, I stayed here for 4 nights but ate the breakfast only once. In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We spent 5 days at this hotel and were quite satisfied with it. Our room was very large and comfortable with a king sized bed, high ceilings and windows that opened (we could look at and listen to musicians and dancers in the People's Park). Room 603 was more like a small apartment than a standard hotel room - it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel is nicely located near the shopping district, train station and tourist attraction. Although the room looks kind of old, but to me is a good catch in term of pricing for such an ideal location. The main problem that I would like to point out is the poor Wi-Fi connection. While at the front counter getting the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As a woman travelling alone, I wanted a good hotel centrally located. This is what I got. I felt safe there. Disappointment was that there was no real restaurant or lounge where I thought I would spend my evenings. The bar seemed uninviting.... I went through the same routine of being offered a "larger" room for additional $18 a day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I don't know, I have many doubts about this hotel, the architecture is very interesting like it's own history, the position it's great, probably the room 30\40 years a go were beautiful too. Its really an experience, maybe just to taste what it could be shanghai in the 30's you can book 1\2 nights but that's it. The hotel its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 non consecutive nights. Room was ok the first night. Major problem was the wifi did not work. This is a big deal when traveling internationally I always am having to book flights and hotels for the next leg of the trip. Not being able to do this is more than just an inconvenience. It's disastrous. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony V We appreciate you time to share valuable experience on tripAdvisor following your stay at Pacific Hotel,Shanghai. Your detailed feedback will constant inspire us to ameliorate our service quality. We truly apologized to any inconvenience aroused during your stay. The issue you mentioned has been well-noted and forwarded to the related department. Our staff will keep tracking on... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and loved it. So we were back again this year. Full marks for location, right in between Nanjing road east and west, and I'm front of People's park, and metro station. Ten minutes walk to the bund, and lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. The hotel has 2 parts. This time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charles C, it is our great honour to host you again in Pacific Hotel, Shanghai. And, as usual, we believe your detailed feedback is the best source of our team's motivation. We are very glad to hear you and your friends all have pleasant vacation with us.The service team of Pacific Hotel will look forward to welcome you back... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The good, location is superb, beds are hard but comfortable, rooms are large & quiet, East nanjing road a few minutes walk, the subway across the street. The bad, wifi hardly works may as well not exist, rooms are old, dated, dusty and need to be refurbished. The front office staff are unpleasant, lazy, basically rude & seem disinterested in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at Pacific Hotel, Shanghai. We appreciate that our location could facilitate your journey in Shanghai in a more enjoyable way. However, your reasonable concern about the dated facilitaties have also been well-noted and forwarded to related to department. We truly apologize for any inconvenience aroused... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The best thing about the hotel is the location on People's Square and a stone's throw from the metro. Staff were helpful and despite not having great English worked hard to provide for our requirements. The room overlooked the Square and was comfortable with a good bed but the old wood panelling in the room made it dark and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your time to share your reviews on TripAdvisors concerning Pacfiic Hotel, Shanghai. It is your detailed feedback that motivates us to keep improving our service qualiity. We are delighted to be informed that our ideal location had lived up to your expectation. Additionally, your very concern about our dated facilities has also been well-noted and forwarded... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The good: - Location is fairly central - Rooms are a decent size, and fairly comfortable - Shower had hot water The bad: - Most hotels have some staff at the door to help with your luggage. Not here. When I walked up the steps and got inside, all the staff were sitting around playing with their phones. Everyone seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Paific Hotel, Shanghai on TripAdvisor. Though it is very pleasing to hear you satisfied with out ideal location, we are truly disappointed to be informed that certain staff did not offer the service living up to your expectation. Your reasonable concern will be seriously handled, and we shall make sure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question