We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
No. 585 Hengfeng Road(Greatwall Wing) No. 285 West Tianmu Rd(Plaza Wing), Shanghai 200070, China
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

728 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    112
    338
    217
    47
    14
See reviews for
49
132
60
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (728)
  • Mar-May only
    (178)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (237)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (188)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Some of the reviews for this hotel were really poor, so I was not particularly looking forward to my short stay here. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The check in area is clean and the staff were very good and spoke good english. The room had a very comfortable double bed with a choice of pillows(silk, buckwheat, feather, hard soft... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary H, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time staying with us. We have free Wifi Internet, 4 restaurant outlets and multiple meeting rooms. In addition, we have a newly renovated Executive Club Lounge, with business services and 2 meeting rooms... More 

Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had nice stay in this hotel. It is very good hotel, The staff are friendly and helpfull, The breakfast was very good, The room size are ok. The hotel is located in a quite area. The only minus is that the hotel is located far from the center and other attraction so its takes 20-30 minutes by taxi to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary H, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. And thank you for sharing with us your stay experience; thus we would like to take this opportunity to reply to your thorough review. To be frank, we are glad that our location didn’t disappoint you. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service... More 

Wirral
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an acceptable hotel with all you would expect from a Holiday Inn although the downtown location is not ideal for the city centre. The major problem is that a lot of the staff have NO English whatsoever so every attempt to communicate for somebody who is not Chinese is a challenge. This is particularly true of the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary H, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. And thank you for taking the time to write us this review, we appreciate your feedback and it is very helpful for us to identify our room for improvement. We are concerned about the service you encountered and we apologize for the poor experience. We have taken... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is very clean, quiet and staff service is good. That we mostly appreciated is the confort of the room. It is a pity the outside is not cleaned nor refreshed. When we arrived I had a bad feeling and thought I booked an old hotel. So the first impression is not good. But finaly it is a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary H, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. And thank you for sharing with us your stay experience, we really appreciate your helpful feedback. We are indeed located centrally in the bustling Shanghai Railway Station / the Evernight City area. Our aim is to provide a comfortable and quiet oasis in the middle of all... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is so so. Bathtub is not very clean and carpets are very dirty. And the fitting room is just a disaster. This hotel needs a lot of upgrades especially the fitting room. I am not sure why carpets are do dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary H, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. We are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations on your most recent stay with us. We are very concerned about your experience. However, we are sorry to hear about your comment regarding the hotel condition. Our team is committed to make sure... More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were supposed to stay at this hotel for 4 days with Archers China Tour, but found out that Archers had changed hotel to the Regal (one of the worst hotels) at the last minute without letting us know. The one night we stayed was pleasant with a great breakfast which included freshly made dumplings, congee and a selection of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary H, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. We are glad to hear about the positive comments. we appreciate your comment regarding our breakfast, and your courage will be bring to our breakfast team to cheer them up. Once again, thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn brand as your first choice, and we... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

I stayed this hotel from 14 July 19 July for 5 nights. I am very much disappointed from such a big brand hotel. 1) The breakfast quality is very very poor and the person who travel for business need good breakfast. So i suggest if you need good and healthy breakfast dont expect with this hotel. Another point i noted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mary H, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. And thank you for staying with us We are sorry to hear that we were not able to provide you a memorable stay beyond your expectation. We are concerned about the service you encountered and we apologize for the poor experience. We have taken note of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Location for this hotel is not too bad for activities, but the level of services at front office a little bit to be improved, This hotel have two building and for going through we must walk at parking area to reach another front office.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary H, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. We are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations on your most recent stay with us. We are very concerned about your experience. We apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay at front office. We will have the concerned department follow... More 

Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Excellent Location very near to central railway station and markets, restaurants. Rooms are good in size and are clean. Break fast is very good and have choice of continental and international/oriental menu. front office staff/reception communicates in english, also some of the staff also converses in english. however need to be a patiently listen to what they say as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary H, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. And thank you for sharing with us your stay experience; thus we would like to take this opportunity to reply to your thorough review. And we glad that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Shanghai. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the... More 

Shanghai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Bit outdated, but comfortable. Beds are soft, rooms are clean. Location wise ok, just north of Suzhou creek, in a busy area, comfortably located next to the train station. To downtown (Puzo/French concession or Jing an) within starting fee of taxi. Breakfast is generous!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary H, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. We are glad to hear about the positive comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location being in the heart of Shanghai. Our location is in the center of action and just a few minutes drive from the Jade Buddha Temple. Being next to... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Great Wall wing(5)
  • Very good(4)
  • Railway station(3)
  • Executive Lounge(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

667 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (191)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
2:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (476)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (90)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (143)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Lujiazui
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#106 of 3,989 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
#100 of 3,989 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay