We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3,841 Shanghai hotels

Jin Jiang Hotel

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.59 Maoming South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China (Huaihai Road)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Jin Jiang Hotel to your Saves list
Jin Jiang Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
83%
Ranked #142 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014
Bishwadeep B Ningbo, China
  • Overview
  • Reviews (506)
  • Photos (148)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    250
    58
    23
    8
See reviews for
30
52
46
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ningbo, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Chose the place because of the restaurant where I was to meet a friend, although as a rule I like older hotels that have some heritage. This one obviously does and one that has been preserved somewhat. I didn't try the breakfast so cannot comment but dinner at Tandoor was excellent as always. The swimming pool was a little hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
錦江飯店, 經理 at Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bishwadeep B, thank you for choosing our hotel, your evaluation is very important to our hotel. We will pay great attention to the problem which you'd mentioned, and try our best to offer the best service in the future. Thank you again and we do hope that you can choose our hotel again. More

San Clemente, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Excellent location to shopping and eating areas, but the hotel itself is old and is reflected in the rooms. The breakfast buffet was terrible and cleanliness is less than desirable. Needs alot of updating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
錦江飯店, 經理 at Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review

Dear campsup: Very sorry hear that our breakfast buffet & cleanliness were not meet up to your expectations, hotel side will follow up with the related departments to ensure we learn from this. But thank you for your valuable advice to our hotel, we hope you could choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai. More

usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

good area, old rooms, mediocre service, lots of guests from over seas but surprisingly most of front desk staff and even concierge couldn't communicate or even show you a map! Breakfast was a joke, dirty dining room. Rooms smelled like mold.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
錦江飯店, 經理 at Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review

Dear anchorage2010: We appreciate for you taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. Very sorry to hear that our staff’s language communication skill, breakfast, dining room & guest rooms smelled was not up to your expectations and we want to assure you that we spend much time and focus on ensuring that these absolutely critical service experiences... More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spent 6 nights here for business meetings and was happy with the overall product. The lobby and public facing portions of the hotel are not as modern as the neighboring Jin Jiang Tower, yet the rooms are far superior and better updated. The entire staff is very friendly and will do anything for you provided you ASK. Many people don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
錦江飯店, 經理 at Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Saiklo Thank you for choosing the The Jin Jiang Hotel for you recent visit to Shanghai. We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are very happy you had an excellent stay with us & we certainly look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the very near future. More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Nice old building in walkable distance to east Nanjing road for the shops. Room was a very good size. But the wooden floor was filthy. Hotel stunk of smoke. View out of room was a brick wall. Considering we both got very ill with food poisoning, despite avoiding street food and only eating at places recommended by our lonely planet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
錦江飯店, 經理 at Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenpen1987: Thank you for your review of your experience at The Jin Jiang Hotel Shanghai. We appreciate your comment , we shall reiterate this important feedback with the team & we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Jin Jiang hotel is a historical building, it was built in 1920s, many famous people such as President Reagan, Margaret Thatcher, Queen Elizabeth .... all stayed in this hotel before. By compare with those modern fancy hotel in Shanghai, Jin Jiang gave you another kind of experience. There is a nice internal courtyard surrounded by the hotel and its amenities.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
錦江飯店, 經理 at Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bsham: Thank you very much for staying with us and for the feedback on your overall experience. We have taken note of the areas where we did not meet your expectations. Thank you again and we hope you could choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai. More

Glendale, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you know you won't be having any special requests, this hotel is for you. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and the breakfast is excellent. BUT, this hotel claims a 5-star rating, which gives customers a reason to expect reasonable service for reasonable requests. This was not the case. Our first concerns were raised when the check-in people were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
錦江飯店, 經理 at Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dan W We appreciate you taking the time to review The Jin Jiang Hotel Shanghai on Trip Advisor and point out our hotel’s location, rooms, cleanliness, sleep quality 5 points. Very sorry that our staff’s English was not up to your expectations and we are able to constantly improve our staff level of English.For Chess room, at present our... More

Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We spent three nights as part of a group that had 8 rooms in early May of 2014. The hotel is nice, well located, spacious and clean rooms and bathroom, service was ok. Breakfast buffet was huge, with many options mostly geared to local tourists, but with an ample selection of cereals, eggs and breads. Two major flaws: no free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
錦江飯店, 經理 at Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Weston58: We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and be very disappointed to read that our A/C did not work well during your stay. We want to assure you that we spend much time and focus on ensuring that these absolutely critical service experiences are at their best. Best wishes. More

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The rooms were nice and the beds were comfortable. Location was good. The morning breakfast buffet was also good with lots to choose from in both the American and Chinese varieties. The one bad thing about this hotel was the lack of air conditioning. Apparently they don't turn on the air conditioner in April...even though we made multiple complaints to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
錦江飯店, 經理 at Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 604Sue: Thank you for your post of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your positive comments on our guest rooms, beds, location, and breakfast buffet are much appreciated. We have noted your comments about the air conditioning expectation and please rest assured that the team will take positive actions to remedy the situation you experienced. We look forward to the... More

Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
54 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

It is a good location . Finding the swimming pool was a little odd e.g.hotel documentation refers to a name which the recreational centre has a different. Disappointed that had to pay for Internet from room - in this day and age , I don't stay in places which do this , as a rule . However it was free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
錦江飯店, 經理 at Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Larry M, We appreciated very much that you had chosen our hotel always. Your comments are valuable for us to improve our hotel’s products and service. We wish you have a better experience upon your next stay at our hotel. Best regards. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Jin Jiang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Jin Jiang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Jiang Hotel

Address: No.59 Maoming South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Huaihai Road
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jin Jiang Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Jin Jiang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Jiang Shanghai
Jin Jiang Hotel Shanghai
Hotel Jin Jiang
Jinjiang Hotel Shanghai

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Shanghai with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#103 Business Hotel in Shanghai #119 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai #209 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Jin Jiang Hotel Shanghai is one of the most prestigious five-star hotels in the downtown Shanghai with a profound history of 80 years. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
442

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Jin Jiang Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer