We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

4.0 of 5 No.505 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    108
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
23
58
22
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (275)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Paris, France
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
128 hotel reviews
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Unlike most Sofitel worldwide, Sofitel Hyland Shanghaï is only rated 4 star. With this in mind, do not expect 5 star service or design and your stay will be more than fine. The best points: location (although the rush and crowds of East Nanjing Road can soon become hassling), outstanding views from club rooms on upper floors (try to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Stayed there during cold winter time in Shanghai. Staff could not speak English well, difficult when asking for assistance, they work like robot, without smile. Property looks nice, but below standard of Sofitel elsewhere. Breakfast was OK, but taste not so nice. Room is good with glass bathroom overlooking Shanghai. Too many offers from escort agency for ladies companion, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanghai
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is by far the worst sofitel i have stayed at. It's not on par with the general standard of sofitel. - The staff looks not so professional, esp the front desk and lounge bar staff. poor english, bad attitude. - The breakfast is below average. Same issue, staff is like factory worker, both manner and attitude - the room... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. This trip is to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel has made specially arrangement after knowing it was our anniversary. They have upgraded our room, served us a chocolate cake and a bouquet of fresh red roses. The staff are friendly especially the chambermaid. They have made our stay a memorable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is situated in the middle of Nanjing Road. Lots of shopping and food. It is walking distance to the Bund and to all the club near the Bund. You can take a cab to any tourist attraction in Shanghai within 30RMB. The only thing is that the pictures for this hotel is not the same as I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Semarang, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This property is located right in the centre of Nanjing Rd the shopping district of Shanghai. It is only a doorstep to shopping. The room was not as big as other Sofitel, the service was also difficult due to language barrier, they do not speak English well, and we do not speak Chinese. Food was good at breakfast, no complain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Schweiz
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there once again for a couple of days besides others hotels on Shanghai. The Sofitel still does improve the service, especially in the executive lounge the service and variety of food is bigger than the years before. Good improvement which was necessary. The new rooms are quite ok, modern style and not to forget most probably the most comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear hundnaseSchweiz, Merci beaucoup for sharing your Review with us! It was definitely a plaisir to have you staying with us again and we are delighted you enjoyed our Club improvements and Magnifique Sofitel MyBed! We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon! We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Magnifique 2015! Sincerely, Daniela Karadzhova... More 

Narre Warren, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Attempted to check-in at the main check-in area and was rudely ordered to check-in at the area for executive floors, was not told where that was or where the elevators were though. The lovely lady at the check-in area for the executive area was the one staff member who delivered service excellence to the Sofitel standard. The rooms were somewhat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear BenL94, Merci beaucoup for your review. We pay attention to all comments we receive and work on points highlighted by our guests. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and will review the procedures in the areas you have mentioned in order to provide a more professional and efficient service. In addition we are happy to share... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I cruised into Shanghai from Singapore and stayed at the Sofitel Shanghai Hyland earlier this year. It was an excellent choice in every aspect - the location is incredible - right in the middle of the Nanjing Pedestrian Road, the service was professional and courteous at all times and the suite we booked was of a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear BrisTania, Merci beaucoup for your Brilliant review! It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. Indeed we are proud of our excellent location, luxurious facilities and delicious breakfast spread! We hope to welcome you and your family back soon! We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Magnifique 2015! Sincerely, Daniela Karadzhova Guest Experience... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sofitel Shanghai Hyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Address: No.505 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Shanghai Hyland 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Shanghai Hyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland Hotel Shanghai
Accor Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Hyland Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#64 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#216 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay