We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3,844 Shanghai hotels

Sunrise On The Bund Hotel

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.168 Gaoyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (The North Bund)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Super Sale!
Save Saved
You added Sunrise On The Bund Hotel to your Saves list
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
84%
Ranked #100 of 3,844 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
J-P T Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    11
    0
    4
See reviews for
13
19
8
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I agree with most positive reviews - and some of the criticism I've read. Location: It's on the North Bund. The walk to the old/classic Bund will take you about 20 minutes but it's only 5 minutes to the next tube station, the tube also takes you down to the Bund. There isn't much around the hotel yet, but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very high standard hotel. The lobby has a beautiful entrance with double staircase. The reception team and concierge were highly effective. We used a hotel umbrella for a day sightseeing and used their baggage hold on the last day. Nothing was too much trouble (directions, information, etc) Our room was at the back of the hotel so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to share online. We strive to provide a first class experience with our many amenities and service you deserve. Please allow me to thank you for your section of “things they could do better.”... More

Surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Sunrise for a couple of nights on our trip through China. It's a nice and well appointed hotel with a dramatic staircase entrance lobby and with friendly staff. The room was clean and spacious and the breakfast good. The location does look like it is in a back street but it is a short walk to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. Our lobby entrance, with our dramatic staircase and stained glass ceiling, are one of the jewels of our hotel. We are glad that you also found our accommodations and service to your liking. On your next visit, might I suggest travelling via Metro Line... More

Bologna, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A real disappointment for a 5-star hotel: our room was very small and smelled of smoke. Ordering dinner is a nightmare as personeel on the phone do not speak English. Breakfast was terrible: the worst scrambled eggs I've ever tasted, plus with limited choices and low quantity (avoid the "continental breakfast". Location is fair, relatively near to the Bund (certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. It is unfortunate that these events transpired during your stay. However, thank you for your valuable comments as they help direct us to improve our services. We have taken your review into consideration and will continue to strive to provide the service you deserve.... More

Jinan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The location is wired . However, great hotel and the view over look to the bund area is really nice , impressed ! Would suggest for travels instead of business. It is easy walk to the bund , a lot nice bars and restaurtants over there...

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. We are glad that you find our location suitably located near major landmarks. Being located between 3 tunnels (DaLian Road Tunnel, The Bund Tunnel, and XinJian Road Tunnel) and 2 Metro Line 12 stations makes travelling a breeze for travel or business. Through the... More

East Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

My cousin and I came to stay at the Sunrise on the bund as part of our tour and it was the last leg of the trip. We wished we had more time at the hotel instead of 3 nights as it was absolutely beautiful...the actual room was so lush. We had a room on the 11th floor and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. It brings us great joy that you thoroughly enjoyed your 3 night’s stay with us. Yes, our bathroom facilities’ Advanced Bidet Toilet Seats are wonderful and available in every room. Also, along with our Hot and Cold Vitality Jacuzzis, please try our Japanese Pine... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

awful disappointment in the hotel, which was positioning itself as 5 stars accommodation. I moved to this hotel from an other 5 stars with ONLY REASON to have a swimming pool, as it was advertised in booking dot com. However, the pool was closed for maintenance, the same as 3 best bars, one of them on 22 floor with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. It is unfortunate that during your stay our pool was under mandated routine maintenance. However, we did take steps to notify and remedy the situation with our guests. We actively informed guests upon check-in/room letters that our pool will be under routine maintenance during... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just remember to ask for a non smoking room - I had to change rooms, but there were very gracious about it. Breakfast superb, good location, great view if you get a room towards the top of the hotel. Great foyer and quaint bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. Your preference for a non-smoking room has been added to our system. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel this much. We hope that we will have more chances in the future to provide you with such an excellent experience. Thank you for... More

Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a beautiful British style hotel with an incredible staff that will take care of your every need. A bit too far to walk to the Bund unless you're a walker, but a short taxi ride will get you anywhere in Shanghai at a low price. The beds have Egyptian cotton linens, the lounge serves tea and drinks in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. We highly appreciate your regards to our hotel and our staff. We will continue to maintain and go above our standards for you. As an alternative transportation, might I suggest venturing with our nearest Metro Line 12 Ti Lan Qiao station? Less than a... More

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My jaw dropped and I was absolutely delighted by this beautiful hotel. Stunning bathroom, marble throughout with a huge bath and TV, not to mention the amazing Japanese toilet! Room was lovely, modern, clean & luxurious. Breakfast was pretty good for China and they make your choice of coffee freshly for you. Dodgy wifi that didn't work in my room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. We are ecstatic to hear that you think so highly of the design of our hotel! Thank you for the update of the wifi in your room. The information has been forwarded to our management team and we have initiated a probe to remedy... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunrise On The Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise On The Bund Hotel

Address: No.168 Gaoyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunrise On The Bund Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sunrise On The Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Shanghai with
any amenities