We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3,837 Shanghai hotels

Sunrise On The Bund Hotel

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.168 Gaoyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (The North Bund)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Super Sale!
Save Saved
You added Sunrise On The Bund Hotel to your Saves list
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
84%
Ranked #106 of 3,837 hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Derrick_850415 Jinan
  • Overview
  • Reviews (88)
  • Photos (77)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    35
    11
    0
    4
See reviews for
12
17
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A real disappointment for a 5-star hotel: our room was very small and smelled of smoke. Ordering dinner is a nightmare as personeel on the phone do not speak English. Breakfast was terrible: the worst scrambled eggs I've ever tasted, plus with limited choices and low quantity (avoid the "continental breakfast". Location is fair, relatively near to the Bund (certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. It is unfortunate that these events transpired during your stay. However, thank you for your valuable comments as they help direct us to improve our services. We have taken your review into consideration and will continue to strive to provide the service you deserve.... More

Jinan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is wired . However, great hotel and the view over look to the bund area is really nice , impressed ! Would suggest for travels instead of business. It is easy walk to the bund , a lot nice bars and restaurtants over there...

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. We are glad that you find our location suitably located near major landmarks. Being located between 3 tunnels (DaLian Road Tunnel, The Bund Tunnel, and XinJian Road Tunnel) and 2 Metro Line 12 stations makes travelling a breeze for travel or business. Through the... More

East Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My cousin and I came to stay at the Sunrise on the bund as part of our tour and it was the last leg of the trip. We wished we had more time at the hotel instead of 3 nights as it was absolutely beautiful...the actual room was so lush. We had a room on the 11th floor and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. It brings us great joy that you thoroughly enjoyed your 3 night’s stay with us. Yes, our bathroom facilities’ Advanced Bidet Toilet Seats are wonderful and available in every room. Also, along with our Hot and Cold Vitality Jacuzzis, please try our Japanese Pine... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

awful disappointment in the hotel, which was positioning itself as 5 stars accommodation. I moved to this hotel from an other 5 stars with ONLY REASON to have a swimming pool, as it was advertised in booking dot com. However, the pool was closed for maintenance, the same as 3 best bars, one of them on 22 floor with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. It is unfortunate that during your stay our pool was under mandated routine maintenance. However, we did take steps to notify and remedy the situation with our guests. We actively informed guests upon check-in/room letters that our pool will be under routine maintenance during... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just remember to ask for a non smoking room - I had to change rooms, but there were very gracious about it. Breakfast superb, good location, great view if you get a room towards the top of the hotel. Great foyer and quaint bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. Your preference for a non-smoking room has been added to our system. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel this much. We hope that we will have more chances in the future to provide you with such an excellent experience. Thank you for... More

Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a beautiful British style hotel with an incredible staff that will take care of your every need. A bit too far to walk to the Bund unless you're a walker, but a short taxi ride will get you anywhere in Shanghai at a low price. The beds have Egyptian cotton linens, the lounge serves tea and drinks in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. We highly appreciate your regards to our hotel and our staff. We will continue to maintain and go above our standards for you. As an alternative transportation, might I suggest venturing with our nearest Metro Line 12 Ti Lan Qiao station? Less than a... More

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My jaw dropped and I was absolutely delighted by this beautiful hotel. Stunning bathroom, marble throughout with a huge bath and TV, not to mention the amazing Japanese toilet! Room was lovely, modern, clean & luxurious. Breakfast was pretty good for China and they make your choice of coffee freshly for you. Dodgy wifi that didn't work in my room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. We are ecstatic to hear that you think so highly of the design of our hotel! Thank you for the update of the wifi in your room. The information has been forwarded to our management team and we have initiated a probe to remedy... More

Picton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

this has to be one of the best hotels in shanghi, the lobby ceiling takes your breath away, all colourful glass, each room have egeptian cotton, bets beds in the world, showers to die for, heated toilet seats, etc

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. We are glad that you find the hotel to suit your needs. We will strive to maintain and exceed this level for you in the future. Once again, thank you for the review. We look forward to accommodating you in the future. P.S. I... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a lovely stay in Shanghai and enjoyed this hotel very much. Location is not ideal as it's a half hour walk from the Bund or a bus ride away. Not much to do around but a wonderful hotel to be based out of, if taking public transportation or taxis isn't an issue. Taxis were quite cheap, just $5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. Our area is constantly being renovated and we project that the North Bund will be the next big hot spot. As for areas of interest around the hotel, might I suggest visiting the North Bund Green Land or the historical Shanghai Jewish Refugees Museum... More

Tubingen, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Overall Nice and new hotel, good if you have a driver as the location is away from the center. Next time, we will try another hotel. Location Average. The name makes you suggest it's nearby the bund. But "On the bund" is not right. By foot, you need at least 30 minutes to reach the Bund or the Nanjing road...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SunriseOnTheBund, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sunrise On The Bund Shanghai. Your comments of our carpet have been noted by our Director of Rooms and our carpeted rooms are being reviewed. Also, might I suggest to consider our rooms with wood flooring? The bathroom water-proofing of your room is also being reviewed by our Engineering... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sunrise On The Bund Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunrise On The Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise On The Bund Hotel

Address: No.168 Gaoyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunrise On The Bund Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sunrise On The Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Shanghai with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai #46 Spa Hotel in Shanghai #92 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai #147 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel is centrally located in the heart of The North Bund, minutes away from The North Bund Green Land. The hotel is conveniently accessible via 3 tunnels—DaLian Road Tunnel, The Bund Tunnel & XinJian Road Tunnel 2. Also, for another efficient alternative for travelers, the hotel is within a 5 minute walking distance from TiLanQiao Station exit no. 3 of Metro Line 12. Sunrise On The Bund is an old Shanghai and European style luxury 5 star hotel, providing 140 luxurious rooms and 11 suites. The Hotel features 4 high-end restaurants—Crystal Café, Tainan Tan-Tsu-Mien Seafood Restaurant, Sho-u To Japanese Restaurant, and Zan Teppanyaki. We also provide a private club, The Bund Club, and 3 distinct bars—The Lobby Lounge, La Riva Bar located on the hotel’s top floor, and Old Captain Bar renovated from an old villa circa 1932 located on 136 GaoYang Road. For catering needs, the hotel provides our Grand Ball Room with a total area of 420sqm and 7 separate meeting rooms ranging 35-160sqm. Tailor-made menus and fine wines are available, accommodating up to 590 people.The L Spa and Fitness Center features a 20 x 8 meter indoor star-light pool, unique Energy Crystal Steam Room, Japanese Style Sauna, Twin Jacuzzi Pools with hot and cold water, and 9 private Spa rooms providing variety of massage styles. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
151

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunrise On The Bund Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer