We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wainimaqai, Qamea Island 00679, Fiji
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Maqai Beach to your Saves list
Maqai Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com HostelBookers.com
96%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Steve L Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
29
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from Maqai Beach Eco Resort. The moment you are welcomed onto the island Fijian style you feel like you have stepped into another world. Surrounded by lush rainforest this location has to be seen to be believed. The snorkelling is better than the Great Barrier Reef, the water crystal clear with abundant sea life. The people are amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review

Bula Steve!! We are so happy you are stoked with the surf and experience you had at Maqai. We really appreciate the review, and the staff will have a big smile reading that you loved the "Majic of Maqai". Many have had the best surf and snorkeling of their lives at Maqai, including myself. We do have it on our... More

hostie340
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Bula! We stayed for six nights at Maqai recently. I have been to Fiji several times, but my boyfriend's first visit. We decided to stay here purely so my boyfriend could surf. According to my boyfriend the surf was good, he got the end of a big swell and surfed everyday ( sometimes three times a day except two days)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Maqai_Director, Manager at Maqai Beach, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka for the wonderful review and Vinaka (thankyou) for taking the time to write it. That is fantastic that your boyfriend was able to share his birthday at Maqai, and a lovo is always a special treat in Fiji. We appreciate the comments on how we can improve, and you will be pleased to know that we have more... More

Köln, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Go there if you like: 1. dirty and filthy rooms (the cleaning takes 5 Minutes and consists of sweeping the floor and changing linens; the bathroom and toilet have probabaly never been cleaned as long as they exist) 2. Cockroaches 3. rooms with almost no furnuture (just beds) 4. terrible beds with bad, old matresses (it feels in the morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review

Bula!! Thankyou for taking the time to write a review from when you stayed way back in November 2013, and we are very sorry that Maqai did not live up to your expectation. The wonderful thing about travel, which I note you have done plenty of with your 33 reviews, is that there are so many places to visit that... More

Basel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have been staying here for nine nights (I guess). Nice beach, mostly very friendly staff and a beautiful beach with a nice reef for snorkelling. overnight trip to a inhabited island was amazing. service can be extremely slow and sometimes stuff doesn`t work out at all, but this might be the fijian way of life. (I wanted to go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review

Bula !! We thank you for the 4 out of 5 review and apologize that your stay was less than perfect. It was a long way back in June 2013 when you stayed and that is fantastic that Maqai is still in your thoughts. I very pleased to be able to tell you we purchased brand new wooden beds handcrafted... More

Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My famiily stayed in a beach front bure for 11 nights in January 2014. The beach front bure that we stayed in is a stones throw from our front deck - paradise to look at when lazing in your chair or hammock whilst reading or having a wine! The staff at Maqai are very friendly and nothing was too much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review

Bula Mia, Vinaka for the wonderful review. We just love to have repeat customers, and the staff are so very proud that your Maqai Experience was again special for you and your family. Sushimi and kokonda are certainly very popular, and even tastier when you have caught the fish fresh from the crystal clear blue waters found around Qamea Island.... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a really hard review to write because there were so many great things but also a few disappointing things we experienced in our week at Maqai. It's a wonderful place that perhaps could put more effort into the guest experience. On the plus side, it's an amazingly beautiful beach with a reef right out front teeming with sea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review

Bula Kristina. We thank you for your honest review and are glad that there were many great things as part of your Maqai Experience, and as you say: that the staff were all very sweet and kind people with the best of intentions. However, we are obviously very concerned that you had some not so great experiences. The Directors, Manager... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed with at Maqai Beach with 9 other family members. We all had a great time with something to do for everyone. The reef break on the left is unlike any wedge I've ever surfed, mind blowing!! Maqai Beach enjoys cool breezes, hosted by beautiful people that become like family. Your eating amazing healthy food in paradise. What more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka Secret Surfer Sssshhhhhhh!! don't tell anyone else about that wedging left we want to keep it a secret (lol). From Elenoa the Manager of Maqai and her wonderful team of staff we are so pleased to hear of your fantastic stay with us. Its a common message that we hear from guests of the amazing people and great... More

Jasper, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Though I'm back in the cold winter of Canada, I find my thoughts are still at Maqai Beach. We visited in April of 2013, after 5 months in New Zealand. We arrived at Bamboo hostel in Nadi and were talked into the North Fiji Backpackers project. It was by far the best decision I've ever made. The guides take you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka Happy Dreamer we are so grateful for your beautiful review of Maqai. All the Maqai team hope those dreams stay fresh in your mind until your next visit, and help keep you warm and cosy over a cold winter in your beautiful home country of Canada. We get many Canadians coming to stay with us and all the... More

Jasper National Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I arrived in Nadi with 2 weeks in Fiji. I wanted a place that had beautiful beaches and surf but not over run with tourists (especially of the gap year sort). After explaining this to the people at Bamboo backpackers they set me up with a surf board and put me on the bus to Maqai. It is an absolute... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka our friend in paradise your review is very humbling for the staff as we read what you have written about Maqai. The feedback is gratefully received and Elenoa the Manager will make sure all the team read what you have written as we all remember you well. We are so grateful that you would recommend us to anyone,... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent an amazing 10 days at Maqai lodge. The staff were lovely, any possible need or want was catered for. Our Christmas eve was made completely unforgettable by the staff. The absolute highlight by far is the food. Quality, fresh ingredients used in a range of ways. Thank you so much for such a magical holiday, we would recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review

Bula vinaka Hannah and Lola. We are so glad to hear of your magical Christmas at Maqai. Elenoa and the entire staff are proud to have made the Maqai Experience a wonderful one for you both at this special time of year. Recommending us to anyone as you say you would do is the highest compliment and we humbly accept... More

Been to Maqai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqai Beach

Also Known As:
Maqai Beach Hotel Qamea Island
Maqai Beach Hotel
Address: Wainimaqai, Qamea Island 00679, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Qamea Island
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Qamea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Maqai Beach we've created a fun, eco-friendly destination for alternative, budget travelers and surfers. Our beautiful beachfront property on Qamea Island is nestled between a full lush jungle and a lovely white sandy beach. The staff are the happiest people on the planet and give the place a radiant, magical atmosphere. It's a new fresh style of small resort that is very Fijian, offers traditional outer island experiences and serves delicious food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Maqai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maqai Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.