We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Matamanoa Island hotels

Matamanoa Island Resort

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, Fiji
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Matamanoa Island Resort to your Saves list
Matamanoa Island Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
87%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jessie R Taranaki, New Zealand
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    163
    49
    27
    12
See reviews for
23
491
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taranaki, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Matamanoa Island for 3 nights in a beautiful Villa, only used the main facilities for dining & spent the rest of the time around by the villa as it had everything we wanted - our own warmer plunge pool, day bed, loungers & beautiful beach shared amongst the villas, however we very rarely came across other couples.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Matamanoa island for our honeymoon and had the best time, we really didn't want to leave. The staff were amazing, island was beautiful, we couldn't ask for more. However there are somethings that you probably want to know: Food - If you're a big foodie then you might find the menu choices a little limited. You need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Barking
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second island that we had visited on our honeymoon and we found this very romantic and picturesque. We can only describe this as paradise! The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. If you are into scuba diving then we would definitely recommend Em & Trev because after many years of doing "try dives"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent almost a week there. The island is nice and although the infrastructure is already a little bit older, it is still in a good shape. We stayed in a beach front bure. It is not worth the additional money and we would recommend going for the garden bure. Avoid bure number 9 close to the pool. It is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
newsofthepacific, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula vinaka and thank you for your feedback, depending on your budget determines the accommodation you choose, either beachfront villa, beachfront bure or resort room, you chose beachfront bures which are lovely, however agreed you could have stayed in the resort room for a less expensive option, all accommodation is nice. Bure 9 you will be happy to hear will... More

canberra
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very small but charming island. Three nights would have been sufficient for us....honeymooners may enjoy a longer stay. Friendly relaxed atmosphere. Biggest snag is poor quality food at prices that do not reflect the product you get. If stuck on an island with one eating spot it is like being held to ransom. Restaurant should concentrate on what it can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tasmania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The island is beautiful and very small, you can walk around it in 20 minutes. The snorkeling the fabulous and there is sailing and kayaking as well. The pool is ok, but there are so few sun lounges, that it is best to go down to the beach in front of your bure. The food is a disgrace, breakfast is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Spent a week here, enjoying temps around 28-30 degrees throughout, with a sea breeze making it very pleasant. The island is commendably child free (there is a lower age limit of 16). You can laze all day looking at the stunning views of ocean and islands, or take one of several trips arranged each day. We went to 'Castaway' island... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband & I stayed here 2 years ago in a Beach Bure but decided this time to "upgrade" to one of the new Villas.It was the best choice we made. They are stunning. You have a Gazebo/day bed and your own plunge pool. Steps lead down to our own little bit of beach shared only with the other occupants... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We just stayed here for 3 nights for a short honeymoon and unfortunately we left the island quiet unimpressed. There are many beautiful aspects of this resort such as: The scenery - its just stunning, it would be nice to visit at a time of the year like September where its not so cold and windy but isn't too hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kimberley, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Diving and Fishing a short boat ride away. Snorkeling right from the beach with beautiful coral and lots of fish. Great food and friendly staff a short walk from you private Bure. Enjoyed the spa and the pool. Fabulous sunsets. Will go there again. This is an adult only resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Matamanoa Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Matamanoa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matamanoa Island Resort

Address: Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Matamanoa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matamanoa Island Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Matamanoa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matamanoa Island Hotel Matamanoa Island

987 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (963)
Viewed
Room/suite (118)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (184)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (99)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
View from room (125)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (374)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)