We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Mamanuca Group | PO Box 10314, Nadi Airport, Fiji
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Funky Fish  Surf & Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Funky Fish  Surf & Beach Resort
Add Photo

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    75
    43
    10
    6
    10
See reviews for
16
64
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed at funky fish for a week in march. We were treated like family from the moment we arrived! All the staff were so friendly and sosi the manager went out of her way to help us. We were on a tight buget as we were travelling for a long time and as soon as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quaint resort with a lovely group of staff who do anything for you to make your stay more pleasurable. We booked the beach Bure and were a bit disappointed with the size, and the night time noise as the generator stands right behind the Bure. We upgraded to a new room on top of the hill and stayed there for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Our gratitude André R for your great review following your stay at Funky Fish Resort. Thank you especially for the courtesy shown bringing to us your disappointment for the opportunity to provide you a much preferred accommodation option. We are trying to find ways for our generator location which is work in progress at the moment. We are glad to... More 

Campinas, Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The accomodations was simple but good and the food was very good. The breakfast was also good. Transfer from Port Denarau to the hotel was easy. I conatct Subsurface Fiji for diving and it was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you JosePauloCosta for your fair rating of our resort. We are thankful for your food comments as we can see our meal package is working for a lot of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the diving as well. Trust you had a safe journey back and thank you again for leaving a review with us. Vinaka. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

How we had imagined Fiji was far from the location of this place unfortunately! Even though the staff are very friendly and we did have a relaxing week, we wouldn't go back to this resort mainly for the lack of a beach. The Facts -The beach is probably the most disappointing thing as there isn't one. Just mud and rocks.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your holiday and our product. There seem to be a few misunderstandings with the cooking facilities which we greatly regret and apologise for from the old description however thank you for bringing to our attention and was resolved immediately. We have notations also on the type of product we have now on... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So i'll start by saying i came here for a surf trip. i was on a surfers package and for what i paid, it was just fine. Dorm accommodation was clean and spacious, Private dorms weren't too bad either... Downside almost no power points in the dorms and the showers have no pressure. There are ocean front bungalows that are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bula Salted_Boards, thank you for your fair review after your stay with us. You said it, it is worth the money you spend and our amenities are featured accordingly. Our core market feature patrons looking for adventure and a more affordable option within this vicinity to enjoy the varieties of activities available, i.e. diving, snorkeling, trekking to surfing, etc. We... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. The atmosphere is great for solo travelers and young couples. This is a very quaint resort, probably only sleeping a maximum of 20 at any given time. I stayed in a private room in the dorm and the accommodations are basic, but sufficient. The best thing about Funky is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks Jessica T for your fantastic review following your stay at our property. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities offered and just as happy to welcome you as part of our family. We are thankful you rated high on the food options as we differ a little by giving our guests the flexibility to choose accordingly to their... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Stayed here for 1 night (too short a time and perhaps bad planning on our part) as the first stop on our island adventure. We thought it would be easy to link on to the Yasawa flyer - in reality it was an hour, very bumpy small speedboat ride costing 100FJD each one way. We all got completely soaked, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your fair review about our product. Yes we agree about your lack of knowledge and would NOT recommend Funky Fish Resort if you are here for just a night's stay. South Sea Cruises the usual sole launch provider in Mamanucas do not have any connection schedules with their Yasawa launches and with the high transfer rates, it's... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Wonderful weekend away - Laid back, location and stars at night. Really nice mix of happy couples and polite backpackers. Great staff and easy to get water taxi trips to Cloud 9 and other Mololo resorts. Short ferry from Nadi too

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks John H for your great review following your stay. Funky Fish Island Resort is our more laid back relaxing island resort during the evenings out of our Group of Resorts and we are glad you experienced this. The beautiful serene good nights always come with the starts if you take the time to appreciate these natural surroundings. We... More 

Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff, great oceanfront bures, amazing food, boat transfers to all surf spots. A great choice for every surfer who is looking for a resort near tavarua breaks wich offers great price/value. I'll be back for sure...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks Davezinho for your amazing review of our product following your stay. Funky Fish Resort is the ideal location for a Surfer to enjoy various surf spots and coming back to comfortable and cozy rooms to relax after a busy fun filled day. Our location is surrounded by renowned Surf Breaks with affordable daily transfers and reasonably priced accommodation... More 

Geelong Bellarine, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Just spent 8 days at Funky Fish for a surfing break. A great place to stay and relax with extremely friendly staff and guests. Not a big resort, but great for backpackers and surfers, alhough there were some families staying there. About a 30-40 minute boat ride to the surf breaks, but depending on the surfers, the boat captain was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you RichardK for your kind review following your stay. You said it, Funky Fish is the ideal relaxing Surfing Break most of our guests are looking for. Initially targeting the youth adventure as a Surf & Dive Resort with our location, we also over the years evolved to now accommodate family demands also looking for adventure, fun, affordable and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay