We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Mamanuca Group | PO Box 10314, Nadi Airport, Fiji
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Funky Fish  Surf & Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Funky Fish  Surf & Beach Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    79
    44
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
18
67
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (151)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Albury, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we came to Fiji on our 10 day annual holiday and went to funky fish for 2 days one night , what a truly beautiful piece of heaven , our room over looked the clear blue ocean , from our favourite posse , the day beds we sat and watched the boats coming in , people snorkelling , we walked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Funky Fish has an incredibly laid back vibe. We were there to just relax while some other guests were there for the surf/diving, and it was perfect for us. While you can spend all day by the pool, I'd recommend enjoying some of the organised activities. In particular we loved the hike, volleyball and snorkelling. The staff at Funky Fish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unforgettable lovely and helpful staff. Nice location. We slept in a dorm for 3 nights it was clean and quiet. Watch the shower cause you can have a shower only once at a time cause of the pressure. Good food. There is no big beach and we are dependant of the tides to go swimming or to do any water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Such a great review of Funky Fish Resort. Gratitude and thanks for taking the time to put your feedback habitantdum0nde. We trust you had a safe journey back home and we do hope to host you again for a return stay. Vinaka. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Funky Fish is the perfect escape! It is very isolated, no shops or restaurants nearby but for us that was perfect. The resort had everything you could want, from a wide selection of food and drinks and daily activities such as trips, hiking, cooking classes, volleyball, massages etc! We were worried the food would be too pricey for our budget... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Our gratitude LoraA_11 for the amazing review following your stay. You have described Funky Fish Resort as we envisioned it and very glad you enjoyed all those services and courtesy activities extended daily. Our meals are not mandatory as we have a lot of activities with extra charges to the nearby surf breaks, Cloud 9 or the sand bank for... More 

Pittsworth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at Funky Fish for five nights and I loved it. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to ensure I had a great time; I felt like family and nothing was too much trouble. I appreciated the fact I could rent a double room in the dorm. This gave me privacy at a very reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review Lulu290 following your stay at Funky Fish Resort. Yes it is a very intimate small resort and the most affordable option to Surf Stays around the Mamanuca Islands. We offer budget share accommodation and even private rooms off the 10-Bed dorm for a more personal private time. Beachfront Bures and other Private Room options... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went with my 15 and 10 year old. There is no beach really, but you can snorkel daily and surf. The snorkeling cost 7u$a and surfing 20 to rent the board and around 40 for the ride. You cannot do this from the hotel shore do do your math on how much you will spend daily. The hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Elizabeth S for your fair review of our resort following your stay. Yes snorkeling from the shore is not so good as there are all reef surrounding the Malolo Islands and during low tides, you can walk across to the next island. A great place for surfing though and we also take snorkeling trips out the the sandbank... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at funky fish for a week in march. We were treated like family from the moment we arrived! All the staff were so friendly and sosi the manager went out of her way to help us. We were on a tight buget as we were travelling for a long time and as soon as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Adennis1996 for your fantastic review of our property following your stay. The staffs do make the difference and we are thankful for their continuous jovial spirits that is so catching. We will pass on your kind comments to Sosi and the staffs. Malolo being surrounded by reefs is great for surfing and other water sports and thus snorkeling... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Quaint resort with a lovely group of staff who do anything for you to make your stay more pleasurable. We booked the beach Bure and were a bit disappointed with the size, and the night time noise as the generator stands right behind the Bure. We upgraded to a new room on top of the hill and stayed there for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Our gratitude André R for your great review following your stay at Funky Fish Resort. Thank you especially for the courtesy shown bringing to us your disappointment for the opportunity to provide you a much preferred accommodation option. We are trying to find ways for our generator location which is work in progress at the moment. We are glad to... More 

Campinas, Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

The accomodations was simple but good and the food was very good. The breakfast was also good. Transfer from Port Denarau to the hotel was easy. I conatct Subsurface Fiji for diving and it was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you JosePauloCosta for your fair rating of our resort. We are thankful for your food comments as we can see our meal package is working for a lot of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the diving as well. Trust you had a safe journey back and thank you again for leaving a review with us. Vinaka. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

How we had imagined Fiji was far from the location of this place unfortunately! Even though the staff are very friendly and we did have a relaxing week, we wouldn't go back to this resort mainly for the lack of a beach. The Facts -The beach is probably the most disappointing thing as there isn't one. Just mud and rocks.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rosietitifanue, Public Relations Manager at Funky Fish Surf & Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your holiday and our product. There seem to be a few misunderstandings with the cooking facilities which we greatly regret and apologise for from the old description however thank you for bringing to our attention and was resolved immediately. We have notations also on the type of product we have now on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
1.5 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
8.4 mi away
Beachcomber Island Resort
Beachcomber Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Beachcomber Island
3.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
2.0 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay