We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Opelika hotels

Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3700 Sunbelt Parkway, Opelika, AL 36801
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Save Saved
You added Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National to your Saves list
Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
79%
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Opelika
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
PapsBeefJerky Louisville, Kentucky
  • Overview
  • Reviews (129)
  • Photos (54)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    29
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
28
5
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So myself and 5 other guys stayed here and the only complaint I heard was the golf we were playing. As for the hotel very clean, staff was very attentive and the rooms were of a nice size. The only issue I had with our entire stay was the service out by the bar. We decided to eat there one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have just recently made some changes to our bar service that I think will eliminate the problem that you experienced. We have added buffets to that area for faster food service and increased our staffing. I hope that you have the opportunity to come back and... More

Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I held my annual Ryder-Cup style charity golf event at Grand National this year with 44 guys. The quality of the facility was absolutely top-notch, the rooms were comfortable, and service was great! If I had to complain about anything, it would just be that the food service out by the pool bar can be a little slow during peak... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that your group had a great time. Thank you also for recognizing Karen's performance. I know she will be thrilled. We have just recently put some new procedures in place at the pool bar that should help to speed up service in that area. We expect great results from that. More

Auburn, Alabama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

By my title it can be construed I was unhappy with my stay. Also looking at my profile I from this area (Auburn). All I can say is that yes I was expecting more, though in hind site it is just a Marriott. Not saying there is anything wrong with that great chain of hotels, it is just I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. I am sorry that you were not more pleased with our facility. I will address the issues that you had with our staff immediately and I hope that we have the opportunity to have you visit us again. We love having local guests come and use the hotel!!! More

Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
11 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first stay in Opelika, and at The Marriott. Expectations were in check with previous Marriott hotels (expected nothing out of the ordinary), but this time things were different. The setting is unique. There golf is off the charts, but they have much more to offer than just great golf. The resort setting is very inviting. When asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit. The hotel was actually constructed in 2002. The golf course opened in 1992. We take great pride in both the golf course and the hotel. Therefore, we are continually upgrading and making improvements. More

Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They have 54 hole golf course there but, that's not why I go. I have family that lives in Opelika AL. The Marriott hotel there has been renovated & views are so beautiful. Great bar, excellent food, & room service. I've been there a half dozen times and will return soon..!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. I'm glad to see that we have become your home when you are here visiting family. Please come back to visit us again soon. More

Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay here with all our kids and families that can from the Totally Tuff Tennis group. Brent has taken great care of us as a group and I thank him and all the staff! The beautiful setting with the golf course in the back drop. The access to the tennis courts for training and warm up. The three pools... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. We really enjoyed hosting all of your tennis players. Brent does a great job and I know he will be glad that you recognized him. Please come back to visit us again soon. More

Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a wonderful time here. Every room has either a patio or a balcony. For the Auburn area, the pool was awesome. The hoteI provides towels at the pool. I was there with my tennis team for a tournament and enjoyed it. The golf course looked great though we didn't actually golf. was close While we were there the cable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We enjoyed having all of the tennis players in this weekend. Please come back to visit us again soon. More

Brentwood, TN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It has been a long time since I have slept in a hotel with the doors or windows open. Did it last night. None of the highway noise you experience staying close to the highway. The Marriott is a ways off the main roads, but absolutely worth it. My only regret is that I was there on vacation and could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. Our remote location does help to get a peaceful night's sleep. We've also been enjoying some cooler than normal temperatures this summer. Please come back to visit us again soon. More

Canton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were very happy with this hotel as it was all we needed and all it said it was and very clean, which is the main thing for me as a woman. Stayed one night going through Montana and would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are very proud of our housekeepers and the great job that they do! More

Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last year and loved it. Had a wonderful Jr King suite with sofa bed with room for kids. Great room. This year could not be worse!! Awful room. Could not get a room that had beds for our kids. How does a room with 1 King bed sleep 4 with no rollaway bed?? And not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you were not able to get the room type that you wanted. It was an extremely busy weekend and almost everyone in the hotel wanted rooms with two queen beds. After all of those rooms had been reserved, we accept requests for speciific bed types but cannot guarantee them. The reservation is guaranteed but not... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National

Address: 3700 Sunbelt Parkway, Opelika, AL 36801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Auburn Opelika At Grand National Hotel Opelika
Marriott Opelika
Opelika Marriott

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Opelika with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the award-winning Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National is on par with the nation's most distinctive facilities and accommodations. Nestled on 2,000 acres of lakefront countryside, we are an exceptional golf and business retreat located in the quaint, historic town of Opelika. Our property is situated on the shores of Lake Saugahatchee, offering a peaceful and serene atmosphere and featuring access to 54 holes of championship golf. Escape from ordinary Auburn, Alabama, hotels and indulge in our spacious guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access and stunning views from your own private balcony. Guests love the swimming pools, fitness center and on-site dining options. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
129

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Marriott Auburn Opelika at Grand National staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer