We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 65 Mobile hotels

Quality Inn Downtown Historic District

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Church Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Mobile Bay Adventure Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Downtown Historic District to your Saves list
Quality Inn Downtown Historic District
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
25%
Ranked #47 of 65 hotels in Mobile
  • Reviews (78)
  • Photos (53)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    19
    11
    30
See reviews for
23
11
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa Park, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We called the Quality Inn reservation line to book this hotel. When we arrived it looked very questionable with several people just lurking around. When my husband went to check us in he was told we didn't have a reservation and that they didn't have a room to accommodate our family of 5. Thus begins the 'run around.' We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haughton, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was attendning a conference at the convention center for 9 days. My 1st concern was the distance: it was great. Very short walk. Staff was friendly, very comfortable beds. With all that said, my headphones were stolen out of my room-I got no recourse for that. I was there for 9 days, 4 of which my fridge did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The bed was made, but with dirty sheets - body fluid stains were obvious and for some unknown reason, there was a lot of sand in the bed. The location is good, but management appears to be in the wrong business. Terrible best describes our experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
qualityinndowntown, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

I apologize that you were unhappy with your stay. We did make an immediate housekeeping staff change this week. More

New Smyrna Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location near Dauphin Street, which is where most of the downtown restaurants seem to be located. The price was good, but the hotel is showing its age. Comfy beds, but dated A/C (wall-mounted and loud) and bathroom. Free parking was a plus. Would probably pick a different hotel if we were to come back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
qualityinndowntown, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. we appreciate our guests feedback and hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip More

Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The only thing historic is the shower curtain. The positive rating is for the friendly staff. The sheets and towels are clean, but I don't think the floors have been clean since Reagan was in office. This was my first "inexpensive hotel" & my last.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
qualityinndowntown, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize that your room was not properly cared for by housekeeping but I can assure you we are correcting those problems! More

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I chose to stay at this location for a conference at the History Museum of Mobile which was a five minute drive down the street from this place. There were no problems with check-in (aside from the individual who looked like a supervisor telling my clerk her personal business while she was trying to take care of me) but my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
qualityinndowntown, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

I can assure you that I the only manager of this hotel was not here during your stay so I am not sure what or who you witnessed and I apologize for such inappropriate behavior, I have also made a huge staff change this week and will be working with all of my staff to give our guest the very... More

Evansville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our visit was a last minute decision,, We left our home town late, got to the hotel next day late,, The front desk employee was RUDE!!! She had an attitude from get go!!!!!!!!!! I have worked in hotels and Retail before-- She has them all beat!!!!! Our tub wouldn't drain,, But THANK you TO THE NICE GENTLEMEN WHO HELPED DRAIN... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
qualityinndowntown, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

I have made an immediate staff change and I sincerely apologize for the awful experience you had. Thank you for letting us know because with out our guests feedback , sometimes we have no clue what goes on when management is not present. I hope that you give us another chance on your next visit to make this right! Please... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We arrived really early around 12 midday but no problem checking in given our keys immediately We'll kept, clean property in the heart of old town Mobile Room spacious with all usual amenities. Having stayed in a few Quality Inns, this was one of a higher standard with breakfast included. Given info about the area at check in by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
qualityinndowntown, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We hope you will stay with us again soon. More

Mobile, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Your new and we expect snags and we had one but the employee went out of her way to assist us. Heater did not work so she moved us to another room. SHE helped move us. Then we had no refridgerator in the new room so SHE moved it into our new room. The morning breakfast was so much more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
qualityinndowntown, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words! We hope you all will stay with us again soon! More

AL, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I knew that the Quality Inn was not going to compare to the Hampton Inn, Hyatt, Embassy Suites, etc, so I kind of knew what I was getting myself into. Every hotel was sold out due to the Senior Bowl, so this Inn was my only choice. I always question a hotel that has rooms available, when no other hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
qualityinndowntown, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

We thank you for your input and with out our guest feedback we would not necessarily know where to make improvements as we do strive to make each guests stay memorable in a good way. We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip and we will do our best to correct these issues. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Quality Inn Downtown Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Historic District

Address: 255 Church Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Mobile Bay Adventure Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Downtown Historic District 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mobile Bay Adventure Hotel Mobile
Ramada Inn Mobile
Ramada Mobile Downtown

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
0:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Quality Inn in Historic Downtown Mobile, AL. is newly remodeled and offers 131 rooms with balconies on each upper level. The hotel was originally built in 1962 and in July of 2013 remodeling was completed and re-opened as a Quality Inn with Choice Hotels. The hotel offers rooms with one King Bed, Two Double size beds and has Suites available as well. The hotel rooms are up to Choice standards with Flat Screen Televisions, in room iron and ironing board, coffee maker, free Wi-Fi, complimentary breakfast for our guests, free parking, in walking distance to all of downtowns museums, restaurants, bars and shops. We are located right off of interstate 10. There is always a friendly staff member on hand 24 hours a day. Rooms with microwave and fridge are available upon request. We also have meeting space available, business center and gated well lit parking lot and a beautiful swimming pool. Guest laundry is also available.Past reviews are still posted but are not associated with this hotel. We hope you will come check us out and enjoy a wonderful stay in our newly furnished rooms. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
131

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer