We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malaga Inn

#10 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
359 Church St., Mobile, AL 36602
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malaga Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    55
    14
    14
    16
See reviews for
24
90
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
There are newer reviews for Malaga Inn
See the most recent reviews
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Malaga for our trip to Mobile's Southsounds Festival. It was a great location, just a couple short blocks from everywhere we wanted to be and the hotel was great...very nice rooms, beautiful courtyard/fountain...rooms were all very different and unique....not the cookie-cutter rooms that you get at most places. The Malaga also had a great staff with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malagainn, Innkeeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed our accommodations during South Sounds Music Festival this year. Thank you for mentioning that we are a very close walk to everything downtown. We take pride in our growing Jazz record collection. We hope our guest will play a record in the lobby while they are sitting. We hope we will see you next... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Malaga for a wedding and were disappointed with several aspects of our visit. For one, the only housekeeping we received was our one tiny trash can being emptied on the first day and all of our towels being taken for cleaning. Our towels were never returned and we had to go get new ones ourselves. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malagainn, Innkeeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that your experience with us was sub-par. I would like to address some of the issues you mentioned in your review; There is no reason for your room to not have been serviced during your stay. I have had a meeting with our housekeepers and the problem has been addressed. I assure you this will not... More 

Saint Georges, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We tried this hotel to make a change from the ordinary and it's been a good décision. Fancy free, very nice staff, good location and clean room. Not the usual without personnality and history. At arrival, the room was ready but we asked to change and it did not seem to be a problem at all. Shure the furniture and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Malagainn, Innkeeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all of the feedback that we receive from our guests. We do try to let our guest choose the room that they prefer upon checkin as each room is decorated a little differently. Our staff is happy to assist you at all times. Thank you for your patronage.... More 

New Bern
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was a nice hotel in a great location in downtown Mobile. Some members of the service staff were nice - Eleanor in particular. The hotel is showing its age and the elevator was scary. My wife and I and perhaps only one other couple were there the two nights we stayed. Breakfast was pitiful - really bad. One thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malagainn, Innkeeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for addressing the phone call. Our policy is to ask for the last name that the reservation is under before we connect. I do not know why this was not done but I will find out. Our elevators, while they may look a little a "scary" on the inside, are perfectly safe and are checked once a month... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at the Malaga Inn this past weekend to attend a wedding. It took me a week to book my room. When I first called the woman speaking said she couldnt hear me and would call back. no call. i called a few days later and a woman took my name and credit card number and said she would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Malagainn, Front Office Manager at Malaga Inn, responded to this review

While we hope everyone that stays with us has an experience that exceeds their expectations, this is not always the case. Feedback, of all kinds, is a valuable tool that we take very seriously. While we certainly appreciate positive feedback, negative comments can be a more effective tool in affecting change. It is our policy to thoroughly investigate all complaints... More 

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've always wanted to stay here and now that I've moved away from Mobile I finally spent four days here in May 2011. The hotel is actually two ante-bellum town houses joined with a newer lobby (ca. 1970s from the decor) and a modern multi-story annex at the rear surrounding an open courtyard. The only recommendations/warnings I can offer: *If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I prefer local places with character, and this hotel has it. Probably 5 coats of paint in the owners' efforts to brighten up the place, but I still prefer that to stainless and glass. 37 rooms on 3 floors surrounding a Spanish style open courtyard with fountain. A local wedding was preparing the Friday night my wife and stayed (rm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Comfortable room, loads of classic southern style and culture, and a great walkable neighborhood make this a wonderful place to stay. Excellent staff provide friendly local advice. Great quality and variety of local food all walkable. Will return here often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zürich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found that the hotel had a great amount of charm and character. We stayed in one of the 'historic' rooms and although the beds weren't quite as comfy as one could have hoped for, the hotel made up for it in just being quaint and charming. We'd stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a perfect location for access to historical downtown Mobile. We could walk or trolley everywhere. The people at the front desk were more than helpful. We loved the quaint courtyard with the fountain. The room was large and very clean. We enjoyed our stay much more than a large, sterile cahin hotel stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question