We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

hangout@jonker

No 19 & 21 Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
hangout@jonker
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #39 of 185 Melaka B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014
LeeSummer Singapore, Singapore
Add Photo

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    42
    40
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
27
25
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
There are newer reviews for hangout@jonker
See the most recent reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The location is good, at the end of Jonker Street where is near to the Hard Rock cafe. The staffs are as friendly and helpful. We got the connecting rooms on 3rd floor which is great!!! As one of the room is near to the road, in the night can be quite nosiy due to the trishaw with loud song... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The location of the Hangout@Jonker is well located and this make us feel very convenience to hangout around the Jonker Street! The security of the Hangout@Jonker is good because the outsiders can't go in without the card. The important thing we need to admit is the hotel stuffs are very friendly and helpful. The room that we booked is Quad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have been to Malacca many times and this is my first time staying at Hangout@Jonker. I must really say that the place is well located. Going to places has never been so convenient. And most importantly because of the location, it make u feel safe even when you go back to the hotel late at night. The security there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review

“Hi! Alvin, we are very much delighted to have you back here again in hangout@jonker. Please accept our apology for the challenge you encountered with our Wifi, rest assured that your feedback have been looked into and we will definitely draw on your comments to make improvements to our standards. Other than that, we certainly hope that your stay was... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very uncomfortable stay on this so call 2 stars hotels , not really friendly stay . Since i was check in on 2013, the room cleanness & hygienic is not up to my expectation as 2 stars or even compare my home bath room. The mores stick all around the inside the bathrooms , small & toilet seat was unpleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review

Hi! Mr twklwec, 1ft and foremost I would like to thank you for your stay and support at our hotel as well as your constructive criticism. We are consistently improving ourselves in order to meet with our guests expectation. At times, we might have overlooked in some areas but I assure you that we are consistantly on our toes in... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

this is my 1st time here, good location and easy access to several famous spots like capitol satay celup, jonker street, shopping mall and etc. welcome by friendly staff, able to answer our questions. served light continental breakfast but we prefer to explore local delights, no comment on it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, JerrickT. We are delighted to learn about your your compliments on our hotel and service experience. We agree with you that Malacca is a foodie paradise with plenty of local delights, that's why we only service simple continental breakfast so that you could go out and eat more! It was our pleasure to have you... More 

Ipoh, Malaysia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Don't expect luxury, but for the location (heart of tourist area) one does get a basic, clean, comfortable room with a helpful, friendly staff. Complementary toast and coffee in a.m. Prices quite reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Jason C. Our mission is to provide a clean and safe, yet fun and affordable accomodation experience without compromising the quality of service. Hence, we are delighted that we have met your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you hangout with us again at hangout@jonker soon. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

It mine 2nd time staying in this hotel , a very small hotel but very good location . It just a min walk to the jonker night market and there are lots of nice food around . If you are a light pls adviod the room near the road as it will be a bit noisy during night time ,overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, selenetay. We are glad that you have selected hangout@jonker as your preferred accomodation again for your stay in Malacca. We really appreciate the positive affirmation and we look forward to have you hangout with us again when your travels bring you back to Malacca! More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is the 2nd time I booking this hotel, when i check-in, the door cannot open even use correct door card. Another thing is, there is no air cond, the air cond is broken down for Triple Plus Room!!!.. i and my friends have to use stand fan & we Cannot sleep whole night as well!! This is worst hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Madzy1101. First and foremost, we apologise for the challenge you faced with the aircon breakdown in your room. As we were running full house that night, we weren't able to move you to another room but to salvage the situation and placed a fan in your room. We also apologise for the electronic key card... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Back in 2010, there were not many budget boutique style hotels in Malacca. To my knowledge, Hangout @ Jonker was one of the very first to start this trend and I must say credit has to be given to them. Then came along many other entrants which tried to give Hangout a run for their money. Fast forward to 2013... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Jackchee11. First of all, thank you for choosing hangout@jonker as your preferred accomodation choice in Malacca once again! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are delighted to learn of the positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us again in the not too distant... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very noisy and no privacy at all!!! I got an attachment room with price of Rm 168 ! Worse part, in Middle of night there is knocking on the attachment door next room and we can hear people talking next door!!! And can't sleep at all it's so noisy inside and outside!! We even have to whisper worrying next door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Icylly. We regret to learn that you did not enjoy your recent stay at hangout@jonker. We apologise that the room configuration of your room (connecting room) did not suit your needs and hope to welcome you back and try our other room categories where the room configurations are different which may better suit you need(s).... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay