We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chesnut Bay Resort

Hotel website
4480 County Rd 44, Leesburg, AL 35983
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Chesnut Bay Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
birmingham al
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

If you've never been or haven't been lately to Chesnut Bay Resort on Weiss Lake in northeast Alabama, you'll be amazed at what a hidden gem this place is. It has rental homes (my fav is House 29 - Capricho) ranging from 2-6 bedrooms, and lots of family friendly amenities; most are free. Two pools, water slides, water falls, kayaks,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bethjmyers
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

We live in Montgomery, AL and had never heard of this little resort just 2.5 hours north of us until my aunt discovered it and sent us a link. The pictures don't do it justice! The 50 or so homes on the property are all of a similar craftsman style construction, ranging from little 1-story bungalows to 5-6 bedroom 3-story... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank slhartzog
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

First I want to say thanks for your response and for giving Chesnut Bay Resort a chance to fill your family vacation needs. We have brought the cleaning department in house so that we will be able to manage it directly without going thru an outside party. We also are now stoking all homes with coffee filters and hand soap... More 

Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

I'm giving this place 2 stars only because of our experience at the Lighthouse. We originally planned to rent one of the cheaper houses, but decided to pay extra to get one right on the lake, and also because we thought our kids would enjoy staying in a "fun" house. The Lighthouse is dirty and dilapidated. There were cobwebs, dead... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pjmommy76
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review, even with it being a negative one. They are all welcomed and appreciated. I would like you to know that even though we "The Management" don't own the homes I will be sending a copy of this review to the home owner. We will stay... More 

Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We recently went for a 3 day family weekend. We had family members coming from Atlanta, GA 2 1/2 hours for them, Birmingham, Al 1 1/2 , Huntsville, Al 2 hours. So a pretty central location for us. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised at just how nice the resort was…clean, well maintained and managed . All the employees we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma472010
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for that positive feed back we will not rest on our morals but continue to strive for a better customer experience each and every time. New Zip Line Opening soon.!!!!!! Thanks George Fox Resort Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

Booked a house for holidays. Rented house based on picture showing a fireplace. Upon arrival noticed no grate inside fireplace. Upon inquiry informed guests were not allowed use of fireplace in this house or ANY of the homes. Also had to dispose of dead bird laying on screened in back porch which had gotten in thru one of the many... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fauburn
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

We try to do our best not to falsely advertise any of our properties at Chesnut Bay Resort. I am very sorry about her seeing the fire place on one of the pictures of the home. The details of the home on our web site did not mention a fire place in the amenities. Our office staff would have told... More 

Huntsville AL USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We have been to Chesnut Bay Resort several times. We have always had fun. The kids loved the new putt-putt 9 hole golf course. They always love the Friday night street party. The water slide does stay their favorite! Folks rented boats and fished all week. Our house was wonderful with lots of space. We can't wait to get back!

Helpful?
4 Thank geodan99
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

Tanks so much for that positive feed back we will continue to strive to do better!!! Thanks George Resort Manager More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We have already booked for next spring! Where can you find two floors with 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, 7 HD TV's and ultra modern in every way at a reasonable price with a lake view of Weiss Lake? The mattresses were perfect for a great nite worth of sleeping with ceiling fans in every bedroom! Lots of patio area and... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank worldtravelers2
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for that great review the home owner have done a great job with that home and with positive feed back I'm sure they will continue. Thanks George Fox Resort Manager More 

TUCKER
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

Our family rented #6 . Once we got in found lots of light bulbs out, tv remotes missing and ice maker not working Many of the TV s are very outdated. Only in the home a few minutes before we saw the first rat. Contacted the office and within minutes had someone with a mice trap, ice and bulbs... that... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank fastride03
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

I would like to say this was the first time in the six years I have managed the resort that we had a mice issue. We did trap the 2 mice and have not had a incident at any of the homes since. The refrigerator was brand new and should not have had a issue but it did. The light... More 

Atmore, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed at the Lighthouse at the end of July. It was very relaxing, the house was very nice and clean, had everything we needed to cook with and all the linens seem to be new. We will be going back again.

Helpful?
3 Thank SandraB254
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for that positive review we will continue to try to do even better going forward!!! Thanks George Fox Resort manager More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband had been several times before for spring fishing and enjoyed it so we decided to do a family trip in June. We really loved it. The home was really nice had everything u needed to cook for a big family. Everyone was very friendly, the pools were nice and the home was kept really clean. I really loved... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank shannoncatron99
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are very grateful for your positive feed back and glad that you guys had a good time. The resort has added more attractions sense your stay like putt putt and zip line hope to see you soon. Thanks George Fox Resort manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Of Centre
Days Inn Of Centre
#2 of 2 in Centre
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
#2 of 7 in Fort Payne
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay