We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chesnut Bay Resort

Hotel website
4480 County Rd 44, Leesburg, AL 35983
Announcement
New Amenities
Chesnut Bay Resort
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    6
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
29
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently went for a 3 day family weekend. We had family members coming from Atlanta, GA 2 1/2 hours for them, Birmingham, Al 1 1/2 , Huntsville, Al 2 hours. So a pretty central location for us. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised at just how nice the resort was…clean, well maintained and managed . All the employees we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for that positive feed back we will not rest on our morals but continue to strive for a better customer experience each and every time. New Zip Line Opening soon.!!!!!! Thanks George Fox Resort Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a house for holidays. Rented house based on picture showing a fireplace. Upon arrival noticed no grate inside fireplace. Upon inquiry informed guests were not allowed use of fireplace in this house or ANY of the homes. Also had to dispose of dead bird laying on screened in back porch which had gotten in thru one of the many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

We try to do our best not to falsely advertise any of our properties at Chesnut Bay Resort. I am very sorry about her seeing the fire place on one of the pictures of the home. The details of the home on our web site did not mention a fire place in the amenities. Our office staff would have told... More 

Huntsville AL USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We have been to Chesnut Bay Resort several times. We have always had fun. The kids loved the new putt-putt 9 hole golf course. They always love the Friday night street party. The water slide does stay their favorite! Folks rented boats and fished all week. Our house was wonderful with lots of space. We can't wait to get back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

Tanks so much for that positive feed back we will continue to strive to do better!!! Thanks George Resort Manager More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We have already booked for next spring! Where can you find two floors with 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, 7 HD TV's and ultra modern in every way at a reasonable price with a lake view of Weiss Lake? The mattresses were perfect for a great nite worth of sleeping with ceiling fans in every bedroom! Lots of patio area and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for that great review the home owner have done a great job with that home and with positive feed back I'm sure they will continue. Thanks George Fox Resort Manager More 

TUCKER
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Our family rented #6 . Once we got in found lots of light bulbs out, tv remotes missing and ice maker not working Many of the TV s are very outdated. Only in the home a few minutes before we saw the first rat. Contacted the office and within minutes had someone with a mice trap, ice and bulbs... that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

I would like to say this was the first time in the six years I have managed the resort that we had a mice issue. We did trap the 2 mice and have not had a incident at any of the homes since. The refrigerator was brand new and should not have had a issue but it did. The light... More 

Atmore, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed at the Lighthouse at the end of July. It was very relaxing, the house was very nice and clean, had everything we needed to cook with and all the linens seem to be new. We will be going back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for that positive review we will continue to try to do even better going forward!!! Thanks George Fox Resort manager More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband had been several times before for spring fishing and enjoyed it so we decided to do a family trip in June. We really loved it. The home was really nice had everything u needed to cook for a big family. Everyone was very friendly, the pools were nice and the home was kept really clean. I really loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are very grateful for your positive feed back and glad that you guys had a good time. The resort has added more attractions sense your stay like putt putt and zip line hope to see you soon. Thanks George Fox Resort manager More 

Locust Grove, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Let me start with the positives first. The resort grounds was well maintained and pretty clean. We liked and used both pools available. We rented a boat one day for a day of fun on the lake, but it was quite pricey. We looked at renting a couple of jet skis, but we felt that they were to expensive at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave feed back for the resort. We are taking everything you have said to heart. First the life vests are now included in your stay and kayaks are also included. The home you stayed in has just been updated with new stainless steel appliances and new deck furniture and... More 

Pelham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Terrific time with our family at Chesnut Bay Resort. Tons to do, never felt anything was crowded. Godfathers Pizza on the premises, two pools, huge slide into the Lake, jet skis, boats, paddle boards to rent. CLEAN! SUPER FUN. If you are close to Weiss Lake this is a vacation spot you do not want to miss.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed in house #32. It is a great home but it does have 3 levels and you must go up a whole flight of stairs to get to the first level. This level has 2 bedrooms and kitchen and living area. Then another level up has two more bedrooms and another living room area. Everything was great except the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feed back it the best way to see what we are doing good and bad. I hate the air wasn't working properly for you guys, if we had known we could have called and had it checked out. We have put the kayaks back in as part of your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Of Centre
Days Inn Of Centre
#2 of 2 in Centre
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
#2 of 8 in Fort Payne
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
16.2 mi away
Days Inn Fort Payne
Days Inn Fort Payne
#3 of 8 in Fort Payne
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities