We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2980 John Hawkins Pkwy, Hoover, AL 35244
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase. Save!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hyatt Place Birmingham\/Hoover
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    53
    33
    18
    11
See reviews for
65
27
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wi-Fi worked well; breakfast was adequate; great water pressure in shower.....but that's where the good stops. Upon entering our room Friday evening, we discovered the room filled with an "odor" that we could not place. Leak dripping from the ceiling above the shower, stains throughout the caulking in the bathroom, sheets that felt like sandpaper, and towels that had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carol S, Manager at Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Hyatt Place Birmingham Hoover. I am so sorry your room had issues with housekeeping and engineering. As well, when issues occur, they should be handled with professionalism and good guest service. I apologize for it not be handled that way. These problems will be followed up with all the appropriate departments. Again,... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked two nights here and was disappointed. The staff was very nice and friendly but the amenities need a lot of work. The shower was only cold water, our door entry lock broke, they had no coffee left on day 2 for breakfast and the bathroom ceiling was moldy. Loud air conditioner as well. We received a $92.00 rate but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carol S, Manager at Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Hyatt Place Birmingham Hoover. I am sorry your experience did not live up to your expectations. We did have a flood that had made a floor musty during the time you were here. As far as the other guestroom issues, we have followed up with housekeeping and engineering and have addressed the... More 

Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family of 5 stayed here one night during a Road Trip to Florida, location was conveniently right off I65 in a nice area, Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating even with our late arrival (11pm), quickly had a couple of tasty pizzas made and ready for a late night snack. Rooms were spacious, though there were some flaws... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol S, Manager at Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Hyatt Place Birmingham Hoover on your way down to Florida. Our rooms are perfect for families, as all our rooms have a pull out sofa. All Hyatt Place's have food available 24 hours a day so I am happy we were able to eat some good pizza. The next time you are... More 

Wichiat, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Floor had been flooded, 8 or so industrial fans going all night to dry the rooms. Guess room had an awful odor when entering and bathroom had hair from prior guess and shower curtain was very dirty and the rod was about to fall down.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol S, Manager at Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Hyatt Place Birmingham Hoover. I am so sorry you had a negative experience. We did have a flood that effected two of our floors. We did our best to keep the noise to a minimum but obviously still caused an inconvenience to our guests. As well, we take the condition of our rooms very... More 

St. Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this Hyatt on our way to Florida with 4 children. Everything about it was great. Large rooms - we had 2 but with children could have gotten by with one the room was so large. The pool was nice and clean. The breakfast was good and the kids enjoyed choosing their own items. Great place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol S, Manager at Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Hyatt Place Birmingham Hoover. Our rooms all have either 2 double beds or 1 King Size bed and all have a full pull out sofa. It makes it ideal for a family. As well, the rooms are larger so there is room to play, work, or relax. We are so... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love Hyatt properties, especially the Hyatt Place locations as I'm still a young professional on a budget. BUT, first the A/C in our second floor room wasn't working, so we were moved to a room on the third floor. BUT ALSO, the second and third floors had a water leak, so there were extremely loud fans blowing ALL NIGHT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol S, Manager at Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a negative experience at the Hyatt Place Birmingham. We did have an issue with a couple of floors being flooded, thus we had to do some work to fix them up. Unfortunately it took longer than we expected and were doing what we could to get the rooms dry. I am sorry you were effected... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose this hotel because I like staying at Hyatt Place. We arrived late on a Friday night. We were given two rooms right off of the elevator. Keys didn't work so we had to go back to the desk and have the person come back up with us to get into the rooms. The rooms were big and spacious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol S, Manager at Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, responded to this review

Thank you staying at various Hyatt Place's. It is a great brand, good for business travelers as well as families. Sorry about your keys not working but glad it was resolved quickly. At times we do get busy on weekends for breakfast so we open up our conference room so everyone has a place to sit and enjoy our complimentary... More 

beebe, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had stopped at a Holiday Inn on our way to Florida. Bad decision. The room wasnt cleaned and there was no one there to get it clean. i was ready to leave as soon as we got there but didnt have a choice. On the way back, I decided to stay at the hyatt which was a way better choice.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol S, Manager at Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, responded to this review

Thank you for making the decision to stay at the Hyatt Place Birmingham Hoover on your way back from Florida. We are so happy to know that your experience going back home was better than the other hotel you stayed at on the way down. I appreciate your comments about the hotel and our staff. The next time you come... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We arrived tired on Saturday Evening and just wanted a quite weekend. The hotel lobby was very active with families as was the pool area. We requested a quite room and was giving one on he top floor. The room was more of a mini suite and had everything we needed to allow us to stay in the room and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol S, Manager at Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Hyatt Place Birmingham Hoover. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay throughout your getaway weekend. Our 24/7 food options are so convenient for our guests because they can get food at any time. Our location is superb as you mentioned and I hope that the next time your travels bring you... More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

We recently stayed at the Hyatt Place while attending a sporting event. The room was right across from the elevator but it was well insulated from hall and elevator noise. The room was large and spacious. The king sized bed was comfortable. When we got in the room we noticed a smell. After investigating further we found several dirty dishes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol S, Manager at Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Hyatt Place Birmingham Hoover. I am sorry there were cleanliness issues with your room. I have followed up with the housekeeping department so we can make sure it does not happen again. Should your travels bring you back to our area we would love for you to give us another opportunity to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoover
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham-SW-Riverchase-Galleria
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Hoover-Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay