We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2901 John Hawkins Parkway, Hoover, AL 35244
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover
Add Photo

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    92
    29
    13
    5
    9
See reviews for
31
16
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (148)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover
See the most recent reviews
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently had a training at the Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover and the arrangements were handled with efficiency and care. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The customer service, banquet and sales staff went out of their way to ensure that all of our needs were met and that we had a very successful training. Our trainer was from out of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The team at Holiday Inn Express on John Hawkins Parkway far exceeds any expectation I could ever ask for. They always greet me with a smile and use my name. Always asking how I am doing and if they can do anything else for me. The rooms are extremely clean and the beds are very comfortable. Steve the General Manager... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I thoroughly check reviews before booking a hotel and read that this hotel was rather new and everything sounded positive. After more than six hours of driving we were more than ready to stop for the night, relax, and enjoy our stay. Unfortunately, upon arriving, we were barely acknowledged at the front desk by Elle, she never smiled and wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review

I am sorry that we were not firing on all cylinders while you were here. Guest service is what keeps us apart from all the other hotels in the area. It looks like we missed it while you were here. We strive to be the best hotel around. I promise to take your comments and make some improvements so that... More 

Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I was here on business with 16 other people from all over the US. This hotel was chosen for the location to our lab and we also used the conference room. Check in was easy although became a little confusing when some people in our party needed to pay for the hotel on a company card (which wasnt with them)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review

Emily - thank you for the comments. I am glad we were able to handle your group. I also appreciate the feed back in regards to breakfast getting boring after all the time you were here. We will take your advise and we are now going to start switching items up to give guests a variety. Thanks again and I... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had a last minute business meeting in Hoover, AL and Holiday Inn welcomed me with open arms. I have had meetings in Birmingham before, and my hotel experiences have been HORRIBLE. Thankfully, to my dismay, the staff really made me feel at home and showed me how a real hotel is run in this city. My room was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review

WOW - thank you for the wonderful review about your past meeting and stay. Please when you head back this way, or next time you meeting gets scheduled, I hope that we can host it again. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Hoover during the SEC baseball tournament, and it was the hotel experience. Not only did multiple people in our group have issues getting a room, the hotel refused to take responsibility for there mistakes and treated us poorly the entire time. For my room specifically, I, like others in our group, tried to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review

Leslie, I am very sorry that you did not have a good experience. However we are very fortunate that everyone else with in your company enjoyed their stay so much that they are already rebooking. I hope when you come back we will be able to show you the level of service we are known for. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn in Hoover during the SEC baseball tournament. The experience was overall one of the worst hotel customer service stories I have encountered in years of travel around the southeast. Two teams from the tournament stayed at the hotel and the facility overbooked on the assumption these teams would lose and vacate after the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review

Rupie, Thank you for giving us this feedback. I understand the frustration with 3rd party bookings, however we never should have made you feel any less important. After all the reason we use sites like Priceline is to be able to fill every room in the hotel. Next time you are heading to this area please let me know, I... More 

Florida City, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were greeted with a comment that since we booked 'third party' they could not offer us the king room we paid for and the free breakfast that was guaranteed by Priceline is a total myth. It did not feel good to be dismissed as a real customer and get lectured about how we could have called them directly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review

Dear Rupie6, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is unfortunate service issues prevented you from fully enjoying your time at our hotel. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that we did not meet your... More 

Birmingh
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We checked in late (about 1AM) but we were met with a friendly manager at the front desk. Check in was a breeze. Hotel smelled fresh and was clean. The room was very nice. Breakfast was delicious and service staff was excellent. We even were able to use the guest laundry which worked great. We asked for a late checkout... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all of the great feedback during your stay here. We take a lot of pride in what we do here and we strive to make sure that everything is as expected. I hope that you were here on fun and got to experience all the things Hoover has to offer, as well as this hotel.... More 

Montgomery, AL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was also part of that family reunion. I know the area well and was quite happy it was by the Galleria mall (my pocketbook wasn't). The room was very well appointed with extras such as microwave and refrigerator. The areas I was not completely happy with were the bed and the bathroom. The bed is a bit too high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review

Thanks for the feed back during your most recent stay for your family reunion. Yes we believe our guests rooms are spacious and very well appointed. Microwaves, single serve coffee makers, refridgerators free Wi-Fi and more. We do have several rooms types available and while the full walk in shower tend to be our most perfered rooms, please remember that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay