We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Hamilton hotels

Key West Inn

224 River Road, Hamilton, AL 35570
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Key West Inn to your Saves list
Key West Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Hamilton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014
Bob R Lake City, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (46)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
16
8
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was traveling with my family and a large group of my husbands family. I booked my room online. It was my fault for not verifying, but I thought that the hotel was pet friendly. My family arrived at the hotel early May. The lady at the front desk never welcomed us, said hello, nothing. I was the first one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review

Many people don't want to stay in a hotel that has had animals in the rooms nor pass such a large unknown dog in the hallway, especially with children. 1) You signed an agreement in very-large font that you wouldn't bring any dogs into the hotel. 2) You then went around back (on video) and snuck your dog in through... More

Lake City, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a nice motel but over priced for what you receive. The front desk clerk started offering us a room for $100.00 per night when I was walking away she dropped the price to $80.00 I thanked her and was walking away she said our lowest rate is $67.50 I said ok. The breakfast amenities are bagels or a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review

Frankly, Bob, we're puzzled. After the raving review you gave us at the front desk as you were leaving ( http://youtu.be/l67hpRLQSLw - or search youtube.com: Praise for Key West Inn ), we are not sure what could have changed after you left ... "I would stay here again in a heartbeat." ... "You've got a very nice hotel here." ...... More

Columbus, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We travel extensively, so when I say this was the worst experience ever, I'm not exaggerating. On previous visits to Hamilton, before we knew about Key West, we stayed at two other hotels. They were priced considerably cheaper, but they were run down and smelled of smoke. If I had it all to do over again, I'd go back to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here in Jan. 2014 for 5 nights. We were visiting relatives. The room was 2 queen beds, TV, coffee maker and refrigerator. There are no blackout type curtains. The curtains are light in color and they let in all the light. Just something to be aware of. This is the first hotel I have stayed in that does... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the "Nice Hotel" review. Probably the apple juice machine had temporarily run low or run out. If you ever have an issue like this, please let us know and we will fix it immediately. Both our supplier (Red Diamond) and the owner are very careful to supply the best juice and coffee that can be... More

Lamar, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Cannot even think of anything positive to say about this property n I always try to find something positive to say ! Place is to expensive for what u get n what u get is absolutely nothing! There isn't even coffee or tea in lobby ! Front desk help is indifference u can stand at front desk and no one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review

   We've looked up your account to investigate your concern.    We invite readers at this website to compare our rates to the lesser hotels in town. The readers will find our rates extremely competitive.    All of our rooms have coffee makers. We start everyday early with fresh coffee in the lobby.    Our front desk is staffed 24 hours. Although we are... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very clean, up to date. Very friendly staff. Smoking rooms available. Wonderful smelling shampoo. If paying cash expect to pay cash deposit. Paid $89 for a king smoking. Worth it for the comfortable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review

We are very happy that you had a great experience with us. Thank you for letting others know what to expect. When we opened this property, our goal was to provide a comfortable, care-free experience that a family would find reasonable. Please stop in again. More

Yukon, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stopped here on our trip from SC to OK. We were tired from our drive and wanted to find a place for the night. Not a big chain but it was right off the freeway. The price was excellent and the lady on that answered their phone was very friendly and helpful. She told us that the rooms were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting other travelers know what to expect with our hotel. You were right. We got you the toaster you wanted. The blueberry bagels are great toasted with butter. I tried it myself this morning. More

Carthage, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This was a stopover on our way to Atlanta. Very clean, nice hotel. We booked at the hotel without asking the rate, but after questioning the discrepancy ($89 vs $58) between online & their rate they honored the online without hesitation. It is well worth $65 (with tax). Breakfast buffet was limited - bagels, danishes, coffee & juice - but,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying. ... and thank you for commenting of our lesser-known franchise property. The better known franchises are assumed to be accountable to their guests. We have to prove ourselves everyday. All rooms are triple-inspected to be as clean as you would want for your family. More

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was a great place to stop for the night. It's located right next to the interstate (I-22), a gas station, and a restaurant. Lots of beach themed decorations everywhere. They even had a boat outside that looked like it was ship wrecked for some time. The front desk staff was nice and made me feel like I was at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Ethan, for letting other travelers know what to expect before they reserve a room. We appreciate your "soft, but firm" pillow comment. We have discussed the fine-balance between a pillow that looks good on a billboard and a pillow that "sleeps" good many times. We have what most agree to be a great "starter" breakfast of bagels &... More

Augusta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I searched Trip Advisor to make a decision on where to stay and also looked at pricing. The price stated $58.45 so I called the Key West directly at Hamilton, AL to make the reservation. I talked to Debra and she said the cost of the room was $89.95 plus tax or close to that price... I then stated that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review

     Thank you for letting other travelers know what you expect when staying with us in Hamilton. Yes, sometimes a better rate can be found online. -  Your concern about the debit card usage is a well-discussed issue within the lodging industry. Debit cards are pre-authorized at almost all hotels, whether you know it or not. "Insiders" always use credit cards... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Key West Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Key West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn

Address: 224 River Road, Hamilton, AL 35570
Location: United States > Alabama > Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Key West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)

Amenities

Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Key West Inn of Hamilton is a new 2008 property, nicest hotel for 100 miles at the same rate as the run-downs. We re the only hotel on US 78 / I-22 in a 150 miles span. Family owned by local folks with a good standing in the community. We offer spacious, clean rooms & wide parking. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
48

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer