We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN River City Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1305 Front Ave., Decatur, AL 35603
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River City Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN River City Hotel
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    37
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
17
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place!! On my short list to always stay at when I am in the area. Great staff and service hotel has comfy beds too! Beautiful property, clean and kept up very well. Logan's is so close you can walk to get a nice meal. Breakfast area is nice and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write a review on our hotel following your recent stay. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We thank you for your positive comments and hope you will come back and see us again soon. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and realize you have... More 

Fort Wayne, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my second stay at this motel in the last year and I will return. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Recent refurb of the interior has been completed with fresh paint and new carpet. The breakfast starts early which is a plus if you are working. If you plan to sleep late I would suggest a room... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We're glad you liked our hotel and telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the... More 

Saint Joseph, Missouri
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After finding "no room at the inn" at two other motels, we got very nearly the last room available here when we were wanting to get off the road before the snow/ice storm hit. Just to be sure, when we checked in, I reserved the room for 2 nights, and I was really glad I did, 'cause the ice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at the River City Best Western in Decatur Alabama. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We appreciate the positive comments regarding our staff, product and service and we hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance... More 

Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

My daughter and I stayed at the Best Western the night of a miserable ice storm. She was swamped with calls and customers but always was kind and helpful. April made a tough night pleasant--Thank you, April. Now to the motel. The room was big and spotless--they even had a germ-free remote. The breakfast was delicous. Many thanks for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

It was our privilege to have served you and we appreciate your comments and praise. April always takes pride in serving our guests and we'll be sure that she's aware of your comments commending her performance. We look forward to serving you again at some time in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

They have the best complimentary hot breakfast and a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were nice and clean. My family was very well taken care of on our visit. Would recommend to anyone that is looking to stay close or in Decatur Alabama.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is important to us in our effort to deliver the type of service and product you expect from your lodging provider. We strive to be your preferred hotel and take your comments seriously. We appreciate the positive comments and hope we can serve you again in the future. More 

Lawrenceville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Reserved one noght. Over the net. Hotel is in a great location. Staff competent & friendly. Comfortable rooms are well maintained & clean. Internet connections exemplary. Next time when in the area will definitely stay here!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our staff I thank you for the kind praise. I'm glad we were able to exceed your expectations and will look forward to your next return visit. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I am very picky about where I stay honestly and was completely satisfied. Everything was clean and updated . We stayed in a room with a jacuzzi and it was so nice and relaxing. I woke up late and went to see if there was any breakfast left even though it had ended and the lady was super sweet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the positive comments and thank you for your business. We hope to be able to serve you again on your next visit to Decatur. More 

United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We had an Excellent experience. We couldn't say enough good things about - staff, rooms, breakfast, etc. Our overall experience would be to highly recommend this to anyone - pleasure, business or otherwise. Enjoy your stay!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel exceeding your expectations. Our staff will be proud to know that their efforts were acknowledged. We hope we can serve you again. More 

Bloomington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. The decor was somewhat dated, but this doesn't present any real problems for us. We were traveling with a pet, so we found their pet policy to be quite accommodating. Breakfast was excellent. We will use this hotel again when we visit family in the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you business and thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit at our hotel. We're happy that we met your expectations and that you would consider us on your next trip to Decatur as we would love to have you back. Because you mentioned that the décor was a little dated you might... More 

Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Was sent to this hotel when Marriott was overbooked. Would not stay. Was being repainted (needed it) so hall to room was a construction zone. Hall carpet was filthy. Room carpet was filthy and room smelled bad. Could not find light switch. Creepy dirty

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Obviously you were placed in an area where the hallways were being painted and the guest rooms should have been put out of order. Due to a breakdown in our internal communication some rooms were released back into service prematurely. This may have been done inadvertently or perhaps in an effort to assist... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question