We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Decatur hotels

BEST WESTERN River City Hotel

1305 Front Ave., Decatur, AL 35603
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
BEST WESTERN River City Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN River City Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
14
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was sent to this hotel when Marriott was overbooked. Would not stay. Was being repainted (needed it) so hall to room was a construction zone. Hall carpet was filthy. Room carpet was filthy and room smelled bad. Could not find light switch. Creepy dirty

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have no complaints with our stay at all. Everyone was super friendly and very accomodating! You will not find a more friendly staff anywhere. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if we are in the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased that we met your expectations, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, that you intend to return on your next trip to Decatur and that you took the time to share your feelings by writing a review. An unsolicited testimonial from a satisfied guest is the best advertising any hotel could ask for. Thank you... More

Camden, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently stayed in November 2014 and was pleased with my experience. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were a little dated but very clean. I would definitely stay again. This is a nice place to stay if your on business or pleasure.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the positive feedback and are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is essential as we evaluate areas that need improvement. As you did mention that while the hotel was well kept and clean you notice furnishings were a little dated. You may be interested in knowing that we will be renovating this winter which... More

Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was sold out when we arrived and we had a confirmation and had requested 1st floor, room # 109. My mom and I knew that our request were seen as request and no guarantee. Everything is based on first come/ first serve. Well Heather-CSR at Front Desk, stated that they only had 3rd floor rooms available. I explained... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and thank you for the high praise. Heather is a valued associate who takes pride in serving our customers. She will be thrilled to know you went out of your way to commend her efforts. We appreciate your business and your feedback and hope we can serve... More

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room had a bad odor, the sink dripped all night long, the air jets in the bath tub was broken & the compressor running the air conditioning & heating system had a terrible noise when it shut down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

I regret that you found our accommodations lacking and I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered due our failure to meet your reasonable expectations. I would find anyone of the issues you encountered unacceptable and you have every right to be dissatisfied. Your experience was not indicative of the level of service we consistently strive to provide and when we... More

Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Would recommend this hotel for several reasons. First of all it was very budget friendly and because of this was I not expecting much. But to my surprise the rooms were nicely appointed, clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. My room had a small separate seating area which was very nice. I did have the complementary breakfast and... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, Owner at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive comments. We appreciate your business and the fact that you took the time to critique our hotel. We really do use your feedback to determine areas where improvements are needed. We hope we can serve you again in the future. More

Greenwood, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I selected this property based on the great rate received on the BW website and their pet policy. Upon check-in I was greeted by a very friendly desk clerk who gave me an upgrade - nice touch but not necessary. My upgraded room was a king bed room with a huge hot tub in one corner. LOL. I didn't know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate the fact that you took the time to detail your experience at our hotel. We also appreciate your business and the positive comments you extended regarding your stay. Your feedback will help us make determinations as to where we can improve our operation for the benefit of our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to serve... More

Hoover, Alabama
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has a very friendly and a welcoming staff. My hotel room was very nice, had a shower with good water pressur, large flat screen tv, and a comfortable bed. Unfortunately, I had runins with two roaches and one large carpenter ant while in the room for less than an hour. After this, I saw no more. I will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. Your business is important to us and your feedback will help us identify areas that need attention. We appreciate your positive comments and we take any notification of insect activity extremely seriously. While we have not experienced any infestation of bugs and while I'm sure the bugs... More

Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a last minute business trip without a hotel being booked. When checking if they had a room for the night, I was greeted by two very nice front desk staff and the hotel manager, all three made me feel like I was spending the night with family (that I like :). The manager made sure that I came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to fill out a review of our hotel. We appreciate the compliments as well as the business. Travelers have more options in lodging choices today than ever before and while technology has enhanced the process it often takes the personal side out of the equation. We feel if we make you feel welcome we'll win... More

Mongomery, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I usually stay at a Holiday Inn when I travel but on this trip I decided to check out the Best Western in Decatur. I was pleasantly surprised. my room was bigger, more comfortable and cleaner. All of the staff were exceptional and went above and beyond.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you were pleasantly surprised. We strive to present an experience that is a pleasant surprise for every guest and thank you for letting us know we are succeeding. Please visit us again on your next trip to Decatur. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN River City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River City Hotel

Address: 1305 Front Ave., Decatur, AL 35603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Best Western and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN River City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Decatur
Decatur Best Western

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay