We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN River City Hotel

2.5 of 5 1305 Front Ave., Decatur, AL 35603
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN River City Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN River City Hotel
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
16
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My daughter and I stayed at the Best Western the night of a miserable ice storm. She was swamped with calls and customers but always was kind and helpful. April made a tough night pleasant--Thank you, April. Now to the motel. The room was big and spotless--they even had a germ-free remote. The breakfast was delicous. Many thanks for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

It was our privilege to have served you and we appreciate your comments and praise. April always takes pride in serving our guests and we'll be sure that she's aware of your comments commending her performance. We look forward to serving you again at some time in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

They have the best complimentary hot breakfast and a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were nice and clean. My family was very well taken care of on our visit. Would recommend to anyone that is looking to stay close or in Decatur Alabama.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is important to us in our effort to deliver the type of service and product you expect from your lodging provider. We strive to be your preferred hotel and take your comments seriously. We appreciate the positive comments and hope we can serve you again in the future. More 

Lawrenceville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reserved one noght. Over the net. Hotel is in a great location. Staff competent & friendly. Comfortable rooms are well maintained & clean. Internet connections exemplary. Next time when in the area will definitely stay here!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our staff I thank you for the kind praise. I'm glad we were able to exceed your expectations and will look forward to your next return visit. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am very picky about where I stay honestly and was completely satisfied. Everything was clean and updated . We stayed in a room with a jacuzzi and it was so nice and relaxing. I woke up late and went to see if there was any breakfast left even though it had ended and the lady was super sweet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the positive comments and thank you for your business. We hope to be able to serve you again on your next visit to Decatur. More 

United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We had an Excellent experience. We couldn't say enough good things about - staff, rooms, breakfast, etc. Our overall experience would be to highly recommend this to anyone - pleasure, business or otherwise. Enjoy your stay!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel exceeding your expectations. Our staff will be proud to know that their efforts were acknowledged. We hope we can serve you again. More 

Bloomington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. The decor was somewhat dated, but this doesn't present any real problems for us. We were traveling with a pet, so we found their pet policy to be quite accommodating. Breakfast was excellent. We will use this hotel again when we visit family in the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you business and thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit at our hotel. We're happy that we met your expectations and that you would consider us on your next trip to Decatur as we would love to have you back. Because you mentioned that the décor was a little dated you might... More 

Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Was sent to this hotel when Marriott was overbooked. Would not stay. Was being repainted (needed it) so hall to room was a construction zone. Hall carpet was filthy. Room carpet was filthy and room smelled bad. Could not find light switch. Creepy dirty

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Obviously you were placed in an area where the hallways were being painted and the guest rooms should have been put out of order. Due to a breakdown in our internal communication some rooms were released back into service prematurely. This may have been done inadvertently or perhaps in an effort to assist... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We have no complaints with our stay at all. Everyone was super friendly and very accomodating! You will not find a more friendly staff anywhere. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if we are in the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased that we met your expectations, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, that you intend to return on your next trip to Decatur and that you took the time to share your feelings by writing a review. An unsolicited testimonial from a satisfied guest is the best advertising any hotel could ask for. Thank you... More 

Camden, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I recently stayed in November 2014 and was pleased with my experience. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were a little dated but very clean. I would definitely stay again. This is a nice place to stay if your on business or pleasure.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the positive feedback and are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is essential as we evaluate areas that need improvement. As you did mention that while the hotel was well kept and clean you notice furnishings were a little dated. You may be interested in knowing that we will be renovating this winter which... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The hotel was sold out when we arrived and we had a confirmation and had requested 1st floor, room # 109. My mom and I knew that our request were seen as request and no guarantee. Everything is based on first come/ first serve. Well Heather-CSR at Front Desk, stated that they only had 3rd floor rooms available. I explained... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and thank you for the high praise. Heather is a valued associate who takes pride in serving our customers. She will be thrilled to know you went out of your way to commend her efforts. We appreciate your business and your feedback and hope we can serve... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN River City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River City Hotel

Address: 1305 Front Ave., Decatur, AL 35603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN River City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN River City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Decatur
Decatur Best Western

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay