We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amberley Suite Hotel

807 Bank Street Northeast, Decatur, AL 35601 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Decatur)
Hotel amenities
Amberley Suite Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Decatur
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014
Tabatha S Haleyville, Alabama, United States
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    5
    9
    10
See reviews for
17
5
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I have stayed all over the world in many different hotels. This one is in my top ten worst! Lobby loos great but that is where it stops. Carpet in the room was worn out, toilet was coming off the base and had to be held down to flush...the mini refigerator was broken down and buzzed all night...water spots all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haleyville, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel had great customer service. The rooms were clean and comfy. I gave it a 4 because we were not informed that they had recently reopened and would not be serving the complimentary breakfast as offered. They did give us gift cards to offset the cost of breakfast at a local restaurant. Also, the pool water was clear but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
birmingham
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

this is our second year to stay here due to our basketball team staying here for a tournament at DHS- so while the proximity to the school is good and there isn't another hotel any better closer- this is why we stay here with the team. but we won't be back- while i agree with the other comments- the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Decatur hotels

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Everything at this hotel was excellant; the service, the rooms, and the breakfast to name a few. The htel is located in dowtown Decatur, near shopping and restaurants. It is a lovely hotel with lots of character and ambience. The place is very clean and the service is first rate. We had a conference group stay there and they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbia, TN
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay in this hotel for a whole week while on business in Decatur. Upon entering the lobby, the interior is very clean and pretty. The front desk ladies I dealt with, Danielle and Tiffany, were very friendly and accommodating to my needs. I asked for a suite in the back and was very pleased with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting Amberley Suite Hotel while staying in the Decatur area. As General Manager, I want to personally let you know that we appreciate your business. I am very pleased to hear about your enjoyable stay at our property. I am also pleased to know that Danielle and I helped in making your stay as pleasant as it... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Where to start???? This was by far the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. I have never felt more disgusted and dirty than I did for the 4 hours I was here. I ended up leaving to go to another hotel at 11:30pm because of how bad this place is. I was moved to a total of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Adam, I want to start by apologizing for the state of the hotel during your brief stay. We are working very hard to make the necessary changes here so that your experience is not repeated. Please accept my apology and let me know what I can do to make the situation better for you. We want to make sure you... More 

Mobile, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family spent the weekend here for my family reunion and enjoyed every minute of it. We had our family dinner reception in a banquet room located at the hotel on Saturday evening. The hotel staff was wonderful and treated everyone so kind the entire weekend. The suite room I stayed in on Friday and Saturday was very large and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Scott, I am pleased to hear about your enjoyable stay at our property. We appreciate your feedback. I'm glad that you were able to find our staff friendly and helpful. If we can ever assist in the future, please do not hesitate to call. Thank you, Tiffany L. Garth General Manager More 

Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

On our way to New Orleans one of the overnight stops we made was in Decatur Alabama. We stopped at the welcome center off of I65S and asked about any places near or on the river and economical and comfortable are always on the top of our list. She recommended The Amberly Suite Hotel. With a coupon from the brochure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ocala, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
482 reviews 482 reviews
15 hotel reviews
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent four nights here, and while our room was okay, others in our party was not. Our son's room had mold, and signs of leaking water in it. Front desk kept promising the "Guest Cookies" but they never showed up. Noticed that the cleaning crew failed to sweep the floors, as a napkin stayed under a table in the lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your issues with the hotel and bringing thses matters to our hotel. Your comments will help us serve you and all our future guests. We apologize for the inconvenience it caused you and your family. We are working diligently to improve the hotel. We know you have many choices for your hotel accommodations and hope you... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We got reservations for 2 nights. We only stayed 1 night. The first room we got was a smoking room. (We had requested a non smoking room). The new room did smell better but we didn't have a peephole in the new room. The pool was unuseable. The commode "rocked" when used. You need to get your ducks in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your concerns about your recent stay with us. It is always welcomed and appreciated. Please accept our sincere apology for the service you experienced. Your comments have assisted us in identifying the areas in which we need to improve. If we can ever be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to call... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
0:42
Videos (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay