We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peerless Inn

12, J. L. Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peerless Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Peerless Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    87
    198
    84
    31
    11
See reviews for
57
51
55
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (411)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I liked: Location. I disliked: Limited and poor WiFi. The hotel is situated in the heart of the city. Esplanade metro station is <100mts from the hotel. Auto rickshaw, cabs and buses are very easily available. Huge numbers of low to mid range shops around. My check in was a little messed up, they gave me a wrong reservation sheet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
delhi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Peerless is a hotel set up over 20 years back but has managed to stay relevant with necessary refurbishing. Located centrally and priced at less than the luxury hotels,it is an option worth considering for both business travellers and tourists. The staff were courteous; the rooms not big but adequate and a good Bengali restaurant. .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

hotel is located in central new market area. lots of shop, dining places with in 10-15 minutes of walking distance. the rooms are nice. i was during ramadan and the hotel staff were extra caring. they even provided sufficient food for sehri. some of the channels were blocked; also housekeeping had to be constantly reminded to replenish amenities regularly. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments regarding the internet and replenishment of amenities by Housekeeping. We have addressed the issues with respective Process Head for rectification and assure that you will find a definite change in... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The most paethetic front office I have ever come across..doesn't seem like sarovar hospitality.The UNCOURTEOUS and Rude behaviour of Mr John at the front desk was absolutely shocking for me.I was told that I have come in late (8 pm) and the reservation office is shut but I am helping you in reservation whereas I can charge you full tariff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review

At the onset please accept my apologies for the behaviour of my colleague at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Necessary lessons have been drawn from the incident and the concerned have been briefed and counselled on the same. Assure that you will find a definite change in staff attitude and behaviour in your next visit. Apologize once again. Warm regards, Subhomoy... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here in August 2013. But since I am reviewing all the hotels I have stayed, I would like to add one for this one too. I came in for my friend's wedding and just needed to stay for a day, hence I booked this place up. Not knowing the location and reviews. Well when I reached the local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay. We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and hope to serve you again soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager More 

Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was surprisingly very pleasant. I was given a room on the newer wing and felt like i got my money's worth and then some. The rooms were new, clean, with a comfortable bed and very nice bathroom.This hotel is well located, just a stone's throw away from the famous New Market and next to the fabled Oberoi Grand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager More 

Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First experience with a landmark Hotel of Kolkata. May be the last one. Among worst Sarovar Group managed Hotels. Old, shabby Rooms. Too pricey. Menu competes with the much superior & bigger 'The Oberoi Grand' on the other side of the Road. Reason why this Hotel sells at a Discount of 60%-70% on the Rack Rate. Which decent Hotel charges... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review

At the onset please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We have taken a note of your feedbacks regarding room, menu pricing and Wifi. Sir, we will be renovating our old rooms shortly. However, for your future reservation we will provide you the rooms on the new wing. We offer a... More 

Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited Kolkata for 2 days Business Trip. The entrance looked grand in the hustling bustling area of Esplanade. The breakfast was complimentary. The breakfast buffet spread was nice and taste was not bad too. The staff were courteous and asked to fill a feedback form every now and then. I filled at least 3 feedback forms in my 2 days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments at the Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of the service provided by the team. We have also noted your concerns regarding air circulation and bathtub. Sir, our rooms are fitted with individual FCU and one fresh air... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel I stay whenever I am Kolkata bcs it is very near to my office and most of the commercial places. Also it is very near to good eating joints in Kal. Very good place with spacious rooms, hospitality is also fine. Ladies at reception should be more courteous. Most of hotels now days provide free wifi but this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless In, Kolkata. We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

It was family trip after a very long time to Kolkata. Choosing this hotel to stay was a best part that we have experienced. Staffs especially front desk stands out. A heart felt thanks to Mr Brojo Dutta a Jenuine good man and thorough professional.very good room and food at the bengali restaurant was just awesome. We look forward to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay. We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#45 of 199 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#16 of 199 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#20 of 199 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park Prime Kolkata
Park Prime Kolkata
#47 of 199 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Fortuna
Hotel Casa Fortuna
#14 of 199 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
#21 of 199 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay