We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Relax Inn

52/1 Hazra Road | Ballygunge Phari, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700019, India
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relax Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Relax Inn
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
9
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel well furnished and well maintained. Located in posh area of ballygunge. Rates are also normal. Mobile network is a bog problem for Tata docomo customers wid no netwrk most of d time. Food is decent n brkfast is avg.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Protaras, Cyprus
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First impressions were good - spacious room, big comfortable bed, modern decor, good location. But, unfortunately, a few issues let Relax Inn down. The bathroom in our room needed a thorough clean and the shower curtain was mouldy which made the whole room smell awful. The 'white' towels were in dreadful condition and desperately needed replacing. Staff had a tendency... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABHISHEKBHALOTIA, Public Relations Manager at Relax Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing your review and bringing it in to our knowledge about few things. The bathrooms have been cleaned thoroughly including the shower curtains The 'white' towels in dreadful condition have been replaced. I have scolded staffs to enter the room after taking permission only. I have trained staff to take the food orders properly. I... More 

Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I paid Rs. 3500/- for a so called Delux room. What I experienced was anything but DELUX!?*!*?*!**** Towels were downright dirty. Uploading the actual photo of the hand towel provided. The manager changed it after I created a serious ruckus. One of the bellboys was downright ill mannered. He was shouting the other bell boy to tell me that no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABHISHEKBHALOTIA, Public Relations Manager at Relax Inn, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry for the hand towel. I am thankful to you to bring it our notice. We have brought new sets of hand towels and bath towels. For The telephone we had complained to reliance but they failed to repair on time. We are planning to withdraw our service from reliance and take new connections from other service... More 

Greater Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We came upon this hotel by accident as we wanted to stay near family. It was perfectly located and lovely and clean. It had crisp white sheets, no mosquitoes and a clean shower. It had wi fi and cable TV which was great for our two children. When we could not find our adapter the staff gave us one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Clean room and bathroom. Excellent wifi and Premiership football on tv much to my partners delight! Mr Khan organised a taxi to collect us from airport also he organised a tour of Kolkata. The tour was not hugely successful as there were massive queues everywhere for tickets. It would be better if they could buy tickets in advance to save... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimbe, West New Britain, Papua New Guinea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Management and staff were very friendly. Room was clean, crisp linen, and supplies replenished daily. WiFi was fast and stable. I have recommended the place to my family and friends who visit Kolkata.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cachan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Relax in was my first stop in my first travel in India! It was a very good experience for me. The hotel is located in a quiet place that is an important thing when you know that Kolkata is a crowded and very noisy city! We had a spacious and clean room with all we need. The hotel is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pune, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

For me the location close to Ballygunge Phari was very nostalgic as we lived for 5 years at Ballygunge Place 2008-2013. The guest house is tidy with limited rooms. The rooms are small but clean linen, toilet. The condition of the towels should improve, though clean, were worn out. Four basic things are important for most guests. Good firm bed/mattress,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ghatsila
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Whenever I am in Kolkata, I stay at Relax Inn. I first stayed here in November 2012, when I had gone to Kolkata with my mother. We needed a hotel urgently the very next day. I looked up on the internet and found Relax Inn. I sent an email to Mr. Tapash Dutta, who mans the reception, and he promptly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed in this property for a good ten nights with my family and had booked two rooms side by side. The rooms appointed to us were really very good, sophisticated and comfortable. PLUS POINTS : 1) Mr Khan the manager a really good and helpful person. 2) The interior decor of this property do give you a sophisticated feel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities